We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything about this hotel is first class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Certificate of Excellence
co.kerry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything about this hotel is first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

The rooms were super t the staff we so helpful and friendly. There were six of in the group and I know I can speak for all of us, we were a short walk to a lovely beach and the breakfast was to die for FULL MARKS FOR THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebellebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,241
    206
    50
    22
    12
See reviews for
229
900
42
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

5 stars! Will definitely go back. We stayed at MC for two nights and then extended our stay. We booked just outside the peak season so we didn't pay what looks like to be full price but the hotel is really exceptional. The staff were very accommodating and the rooms made you feel like royalty. My wife didn't want to get out of the bed because it was so comfortable. Very clean, amazing breakfasts and very close to the old and new town. Only negatives were the spa downstairs (associated but not the hotel's) and the fact that you had to pay for wifi in the rooms....oh and parking in San Sebastian is 24 euros for 24 hours with few options. But overall, highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

What a lovely, grand old hotel, restored inch-by-inch. A Starwood property, I think. Our room was huge, with lofty ceilings and a view of the river. Gigantic bed with crisp, white linens. The bathroom was just short of obscenely elegant. The bar was a great place for a quiet drink before hitting the streets for tapas and maybe dinner (ask the bartender to open the French doors and let the sea breeze in). The breakfast buffet was perfect, though most mornings we ended up taking juice and a croissant in a quiet square near the market. The hotel staff anticipates your every need. On our day of departure we left our baggage with the doorman, telling him that we were going for a stroll and would want a taxi at 1:00, please. When we returned, a private car and driver were waiting, and the doorman had our bags ready to go in the trunk.

If I had to dig up some criticisms, they would be these. First, if you want arctic-blast air conditioning, don't go to Europe. Neither this hotel nor any other will meet your needs. Second, security is weak.. Any credit card will operate the elevators, and there's a grand staircase that accesses every floor. But I don't think that matters: San Sebastian is just not a city where that would worry you, and there are always staff in the lobby keeping an eye on things.

I loved the hotel. And San Sebastian.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captainjackhays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Great 3 night stay, spacious room. Nice staff. Good location. This hotel has little competition in town therefore gets away with a few things it needs to improve. Shower needed re caulking and was molded. Bath shower combo was an obstacle in itself.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizmissfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in early May on an SPG cash and points award. Our room faced the Bay of Biscayne on the north side of the hotel which included an absolutely incredible view. The room and hotel were deserving of it's Luxury Collection designation. The staff were also very attentive/effective and also recommend some fantastic seafood paella at a restaurant named Barbarin and some excellect pinxtos. I would have to say that this is one of the most memorable hotels that we have stayed at in the last 20 years.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4fun_honolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
373 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 637 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed for four nights in a very comfortable room overlooking the river mouth and sea. It was extremely pleasant with a nice big bathroom. Buffet breakfasts were wonderful with helpful and friendly staff who were a complete contrast to the others described below. The location, adjacent to both city beaches and the "old town" bars and restaurants, is very good. The only down side was the miserable reception on arrival and the surly staff in the Bar/Cafe. An unfriendly woman took our details (we had booked a special package directly with Starwood, the hotels's owners. She swiped my Visa card for any possible extras and asked me if this was also the card we would use to pay the bill on checkout. We confirmed this was so and she said that it was fine. On check out four days later a miserable man took the Visa card and swiped it and declared that the card was "no good". he tried again and the hotel system declined to accept it again, this despite the fact the card was in use successfully everywhere else in San Sabastian, even that morning. Fortunately we always carry alternative cards and one of our good old Bank of Ireland cards worked. This receptionist treated us like criminals and left a very sour note with us about this hotel. Maybe he was suffering from the ignimony of the unfriendly female colleague trying to help him out and his machismo was getting the better of him - who knows? We did not even get a thank you for staying in the hotel despite spending nearly €1,500. I checked with my bank and there is still nothing wrong with my Visa card! DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU DO NOT LIKE UNFRIENDLY RECEPTION STAFF!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrandonDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

We used the Maria Cristina as a base to tour the Basque region (three nights). It exceeded my expectations-- usually I can find something amiss with 5 star hotels; not so with this one. Although our room faced a busy street, you could not hear a thing with those windows closed. The room was spacious, bed very comfortable, wonderful linens, great breakfast buffet. Service was amazing-- the front desk, concierge, doormen, all very polite and helpful. Things like internet and parking were expensive as in most urban hotels of this caliber. Oh, and my pet peeve when staying at a great hotel: UNOBTRUSIVE HOUSEEKEEPING! Nothing worse than paying top dollar for your rest and hearing the clanging and chatter of the housekeeping staff first thing in the morning. I rarely bother to post on TripAdvisor unless I have a horrendous experience but these people deserve a big thumbs up. Kudos to the management. I think we have to stay at Starwood hotels more often!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julesBocaRaton_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,551 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#10 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian

Property: Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Address: Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, 20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Century of Elegance in San Sebastian - Since opening in 1912 the restored Hotel Maria Cristina has been closely linked to the history and cultural life of San Sebastian. The lavish Belle Epoque interior is filled with soaring columns, 19th-century portraits, rich silk brocades and glorious chandeliers making for a truly opulent experience.Experience gracious hospitality on a grand scale in the hotel's rooms and suites. Decorated in a sophisticated palette of greys and white, the rooms are a quiet haven of luxury. Style, technology and a dazzling range of services which combined make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing