We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,013)
Filter reviews
2,013 results
Traveller rating
1,650
251
64
29
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,650
251
64
29
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdry barbeautiful hotelconcierge staffcooking schoolriver viewupgraded to a suiteold townrestaurant reservationsbasque regionbeautiful roomtapasbreakfast buffetpintxos barsrooms are largefilm festivalhotel barold world charm
Filter
Updating list...
1,109 - 1,114 of 2,013 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Arriving from Bilbao and an overnight from our cruise ship, we drove to San Sebastien. Thankfully this old world Hotel has "signs" throughout town guiding you right to the front door. Don't worry about just driving up on the sidewalk to the front door....my husband was guided up by Michael the doorman (against his better judgement). We were greeted warmly and were eventually upgraded to a top floor suite which had views to the river and ocean off the wrap around balcony. The entire Hotel was spotless even though the city had just witnessed a marathon of 30,000 runners the previous 2 days. We are Starwood members as well as paying with American Express Platinum which I think might have contributed to this awesome perk. At any rate, the Manager/Assistant were 2 of the most gracious people and I truly think they wanted my husband to have a nice Birthday celebration. They were kind enough to gift us a bottle of champagne delivered to the room that evening. The bartender in the bar poured us several "tastings" of Spanish wines before we selected a bottle, which was very kind. He also recommended a wonderful Tapas Bar/Restaurant in Old Town where we ate the catch of the day. This is truly a DESTINATION town and the Maria Cristina is a real gem!!!

Room Tip: The web site is a good representation of the rooms available. The higher floors would have nicer views.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viviendofeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

A Great hotel in a historical building, a palace! I had the opportunity to enjoy one more time the Westin's comforts! Situated in the center of San Sebastian, perfect place for the Jazzaldia, the jazz festival of July and also near the famous beaches of Donostia!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eleni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

you never go wrong with starwood luxury collection, Really amazing hotel in heart of San Sebestian some room has amazing view , its like 2-3 mins to the old town amazing stuff highly recommend it!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This grand old hotel has been recently renovated and the designers did a great job. Our room was very comfortable, spacious, with a great mattress and plenty of hot water/good water pressure. The renovations in the lobby & through to our room are very well done: grandma would recognize the furniture and be comfortable, while people who usually stay at the W will appreciate the boutique feel, muted but fun colors, library wall, etc.

The customer-facing staff, from check-in to concierge to breakfast room crew, were uniformly warm, gracious, and helpful. We felt well cared for, and appreciated it.

The upstairs staff, however, are less reliable. Over four nights our room was not quite made up the same any two nights. Some nights we had complimentary drinking water, others not. Somehow the towels in the bathroom were never in the same place twice, and washcloths and various soaps, etc., were restocked irregularly. A broken closet light was fixed so that it was even more broken--it wouldn't turn off and shined all night. In addition, a large wheeled supply cart (made up to look like a vintage traveling trunk) was permanently parked in the hallway, and usually left 20 or more cm out from the wall so that it obstructed the beautiful hallway. The cart never failed to feel out of place. By day 3 we were making a joke of it to ourselves, asking what we would or would not find when we returned from touring. For us, quirky is fun, but I don't know if other travelers would feel the same.

The hotel's location on the river and ocean is excellent for a few days stay, five minutes or so easy walk from the old town and shopping district. I suspect it is a quieter neighborhood than the more numerous hotels by Playa Concha.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be fine as it is on the edge of the neighborhood.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The hotel is perfectly suited for Donostia. It has an elegance and charm that matches the city. It is not the pompous, in your face kind of elegance, but a more refined and almost restrained elegance. The hotel is perfectly situated in the city - easy walking distance to the old town and near both beaches.

The rooms are large and ours had a massive bed. It was made of two double beds together, much larger than our california king at home. The bathroom was modern and clean. The staff was attentive, but not all over you.

It was the perfect stop for two nights on our road trip through the Basque country.

Room Tip: Ask for any room ending in 22.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgregb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews