We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The hotel is well appointed and well located, the staff helpful and the rooms are nice with new and spacious bathrooms. The bedrooms have balconies and many look over the river, and the beds were very, very confortable. The rates are high but this has to be the best hotel in San Sebastian.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ms_R33480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, General Manager at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Ms_R33480,

We are grateful for your support and do hope that we may have the pleasure of your company at HOTEL in the future.

Sincerely,

Michel Nader (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

931 - 937 of 1,763 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

There was just one glitch in our otherwise outstanding stay at this magnificent property. When the TV movies didn't work, which was not the hotel's fault but the result of a cable provider's malfunction, the staff bent over backward to make things right. They provided DVDs, sent cava to the room, and comped a splendid buffet breakfast. This is an ideally located hotel in a historic building, very tastefully updated. The staff is unerringly gracious. Every single aspect of the stay was outstanding. Fresh flowers everywhere, friendly staff, muted and luxurious colors and appointments. You can't be disappointed at this hotel.

Room Tip: If it's a weekend, stay away from the nearby theatre, which has a disco that lets out at 6 AM, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoWalther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, General Manager at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear GeoWalther,

We were very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received.
Thank you for taking the time to write. We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service.

Michel Nader (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This Hotel is just great. Great Location - really close to all the Pintxos Bars. Great Rooms - lovely and modern, beautifully designed and decorated. Great staff - they go out of their way to help and advise. If you decide to stay at the Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastián I am sure you will be making the right choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 275Sarah_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Everything about this hotel was fantastic.

The location: ideally placed right next to the 'Parte Vieja' where all the tapas bars are and close to new part, Playa de la Concha and the hills

The staff: incredibly friendly and helpful, not at all snobby or rude. Made us feel extremely welcome and went out of their way to help us, from giving us recommendations and advice on where to go, to ordering taxis for us and bringing up complimentary tea to our room every day upon our request. We also had a problem with our airline going on strike the day we were due to arrive so we missed the first night's stay. The hotel was extremely understanding and refunded us our money for the missed night. We were also given a complimentary box of chocolates and jellies and a bottle of champagne one day and every evening small chocolates and complimentary bottles of water were left by our beds.

The room: Three of us stayed in a deluxe double, which had an extremely comfortable king sized bed and one single. The room was huge, with it's own small entrance way and two separate doors off this - one leading to the bedroom and one to a huge bathroom with a big shower plus a separate bathtub with shower. The toilet was in a separate room attached to the bathroom, which I quite liked. There were comfy chairs in our bedroom and a large TV, plus a desk, safe, fridge, wardrobes and everything else you'd need such as complimentary bathrobes, slippers and standard toiletries. As the weather was not great, we spent more time than anticipated in our room and were grateful for how wonderful it was.

The amenities: The one thing that surprised and disappointed me was that the hotel didn't have its own swimming pool. However, there was a great gym with excellent cardio machines and weights, plus towels and complimentary snacks for before/after your workout. There are also lots of salons to while away the time in if the weather outside isn't great.

All in all, a fantastic hotel which I would recommend highly to anyone!

Room Tip: Double deluxe (number 126) - a fantastic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cakeexpectations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is a lovely hotel. Very central for exploring all San Sebastian has to offer. The staff are fantastic and very happy to help. Thank you Hotel Maria Cristina - you helped to make our short break a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAF1Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Was going to stay here either way but was able to use about to expire points and stay for "free." A great decision. Lovely old world hotel with great service and ambiance. Location is perfect. I look forward to returning in better weather to enjoy the city on it's best behavior weather wise. My only complaint is the price of the breakfast- but that's true of most 4 star hotels all over.
We had a great room and the bathroom was over the top. I'll be back.

Room Tip: In the summer I'd rather be on a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elsworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Hotel Maria Cristina is without a doubt the most beautiful Hotel of San Sebastian. Conveniently located within easy walking distance from the old town with its typical Tapas restaurants. The new town and the bay are close by as well.
Surprisingly the restaurant in the hotel is in Chinese style and serves an excellent and affordable choice of Chinese delicacies.
Both the hotel and the restaurant I can strongly recommend.
Our room was very comfortable with river view. Spacious well equipped bathroom with a bath and a seperate shower. There is some noise from the other rooms at night. We had to wear earplugs to get some sleep as in the room next door a couple expressed a surprising stamina in making love...

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Latresne-Bordeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,871 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,590 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
840 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,793 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian

Address: Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, 20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £195 - £702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Century of Elegance in San Sebastian - Since opening in 1912 the restored Hotel Maria Cristina has been closely linked to the history and cultural life of San Sebastian. The lavish Belle Epoque interior is filled with soaring columns, 19th-century portraits, rich silk brocades and glorious chandeliers making for a truly opulent experience.Experience gracious hospitality on a grand scale in the hotel's rooms and suites. Decorated in a sophisticated palette of greys and white, the rooms are a quiet haven of luxury. Style, technology and a dazzling range of services which combined make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing