We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Nearby Hotels
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra(San Sebastian - Donostia)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
NH San Sebastian Donosti(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Barcelo Costa Vasca(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Record(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel(San Sebastian - Donostia)
US$132
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Astoria 7(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Villa Soro(San Sebastian - Donostia)
US$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Monte Igueldo(San Sebastian - Donostia)
US$190
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,911)
Filter reviews
1,911 results
Traveller rating
1,572
235
59
28
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,572
235
59
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdry barbeautiful hotelconcierge staffupgraded to a suiteriver viewcooking schoolold townbasque regionbeautiful roomtapasbreakfast buffetpintxos barslobby barrooms are largefilm festivalold world charmthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
1,014 - 1,019 of 1,911 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I spend a couple of days in San Sebastian the last time in june 2012 at this wonderful hotel. It is a signiture or luxury collection hotel, where almost every celebrity visiting "Donostia" make their choice to saty at. This property domains the best view of the "La Concha" bay and beach, and overlooks the Urumea River and Cantabric Sea, really uncomparable location surrounded by gardens and promenades .

Recently the hotel has added a modern wellness center, featuring a swimming pool, gym and spa, but its historical charm and style remains intact. The rooms and suites are still decorated following the Empire and Reina Ana´s style.

It may be a bit expensive, but worthy to give it a try as its historical environment is cautivating.

Room Tip: "higher floors facing the Cantabric Sea have best views of la Concha"
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank idrovoviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, General Manager at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Idrovoviva,

We were very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the hotel and the surroundings.
We feel very proud for being qualified as “a classic jewel of all time”. We hope to keep the honor to be differentiated with these inspirational words after our reopening in July 2012. Our rooms have been redecorated in sophisticated grays and whites being distinguished by their style, elegance and for its new technology.

Unfortunately we do not have any spa or swimming pool in our property however we can highly recommend one Spa located ten minutes walking for the Hotel, and recognised as one of the best view of the “La Concha” bay and beach.

In closing, may I thank you, once again, for taking the time to write. We are grateful for your support and look forward to welcoming you at HOTEL in the future.

Best regards,

Michel Nader (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Conveniently located next to the old town and the port/marina. Everything was smooth at check in. There was (paid) parking available and with our starwood gold membership we could get free wifi.

We walked everywhere.
The bed was gigantic. Even bigger than a California king (more like the size of two doubles put together). Quiet room. Very comfortable and we slept soundly. Reception was efficient and the concierge, Joana, very friendly and helpful.
When we left I was impressed when the staff brought us a couple of bottles of water "for the road". The car windshields were even cleaned!
A bit more expensive than the average but very well worth it.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room away from the road. I am sure they will accomodate your request if they are available.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lilian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, General Manager at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear LilianCT,

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise. I have brought your comments to the attention of those concerned.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice comments. We are grateful for your support and look forward to welcoming you at HOTEL in the future.

Best regards,

Michel Nader (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The hotel is well appointed and well located, the staff helpful and the rooms are nice with new and spacious bathrooms. The bedrooms have balconies and many look over the river, and the beds were very, very confortable. The rates are high but this has to be the best hotel in San Sebastian.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ms_R33480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, General Manager at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Ms_R33480,

We are grateful for your support and do hope that we may have the pleasure of your company at HOTEL in the future.

Sincerely,

Michel Nader (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

There was just one glitch in our otherwise outstanding stay at this magnificent property. When the TV movies didn't work, which was not the hotel's fault but the result of a cable provider's malfunction, the staff bent over backward to make things right. They provided DVDs, sent cava to the room, and comped a splendid buffet breakfast. This is an ideally located hotel in a historic building, very tastefully updated. The staff is unerringly gracious. Every single aspect of the stay was outstanding. Fresh flowers everywhere, friendly staff, muted and luxurious colors and appointments. You can't be disappointed at this hotel.

Room Tip: If it's a weekend, stay away from the nearby theatre, which has a disco that lets out at 6 AM, so revelers may wake you up before you wish.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoWalther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, General Manager at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear GeoWalther,

We were very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received.
Thank you for taking the time to write. We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service.

Michel Nader (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This Hotel is just great. Great Location - really close to all the Pintxos Bars. Great Rooms - lovely and modern, beautifully designed and decorated. Great staff - they go out of their way to help and advise. If you decide to stay at the Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastián I am sure you will be making the right choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 275Sarah_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews