We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

World class hotel, among the best we have been to. Highly impressive, yet not stuffy. Excellent service. Very attentive concierge who introduced us to some superb less well known restaurants. Ample breakfast in impressive setting. Slight negative: some of the first floor river view rooms allow smoking (we were upgraded to one without warning which had a strong impregnated smell, but were given the immediate option of moving or changing bed-linen and ventilating). There is a bit of traffic noise at the front so higher floors might be preferable. Within 5 minutes of La Concha beach, and even closer to the bars and tapas of Parte Vieja. Quality was excellent, and pricing reasonable. We looked at Londres Hotel when there and while also impressive, it falls a long way short. Top notch.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise, some first floor rooms allow smoking (so ask if that´s an iss...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, General Manager at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Dear Mr. Brian L,
Thank you very much for your comments where you described us the attention and service provided to you by our ambassadors, specially our concierge. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise. We have brought your comments to the attention of those concerned.
We remain at your entire disposal at the Maria Cristina and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to San Sebastian.
Sincererly,

Michel Nader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,734)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 1,734 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

I have come back this excellent hotel after its recent refurbishment and it has been a great experience. New rooms are fantastic, comfortable, modern furtinured, with enough space for a couple of armchairs in from the flat tv. Bathroom is enormous, with split tub and shower, also WC is an split space. You can find in it all amenities you need to make yourself as at home.
There is a Gym, free Wi-Fi, premises in general are luxurious and all modern and refurbished.
All staff, in reception and in the restaurant was absolutely kind and helpful.
Just a couple of small things that not are going to change my excellent opinion of this hotel: I think that the quality of the breakfast has been reduced since my last visit in 2010. Another issue, there was a dog in a room near to ours that barked time to time. I think that a hotel, and more a luxury hotel like this, cannot permit dogs. No just because can bother other guests, moreover because I would like not to stand in a room where has been a dog before us for healthiness reasons.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mistralksk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, General Manager at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Dear Mr. Mistralksk,

May I thank you for taking the time to write. We are grateful for your support and we really appreciated your present feelings. We have noted your comments regarding the quality of the breakfast, and we would like to inform you that we have forwarded your remarks to our Food & Beverage Manager.
We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service.

Regards,

Michel Nader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We spent 5 days in Donostia and chose the Maria Cristina based on our SPG loyalty. Not only was it just refurbished to perfection but it had a unique dining experience in the Chinese Restaurant on site. Architecturally spectacular. Massive room with a bath the size of some rooms I have stayed in other European cities. Staff went out of their way to do well without being noticed, that kind of service you notice by the absence of people doing the "Pretty Woman Thing" (Serious sucking up). So if you are from LA or NYC, skip it; if you know what constitutes perfection top to bottom, well, it's up to you. If you don't go it's that one more room available for my return - which we will do several times as San Sebastian (Donostia) is magnificent and close to Bilbao and Santander for easy day trips. Donostia is a very special place and this is one truly outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, General Manager at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Dear Mr. redanman,

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. We were very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how much you liked our city, Donostia. We want to take this opportunity to thank you for your continued support to Starwood through SPG and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Michel Nader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I have to write at least 200 characters in order for this review to be published. But this hotel can be described with just two words "absolutely perfect. One small thing is that the shower door was slightly hung wrong so water sprayed through the shower which made the floors wet. But I let them know and based on the quality of the staff I'm sure it was quickly fixed. I would not hesitate in staying here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spadonir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, General Manager at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Spadonir,
We are very pleased to read “this hotel can be described with just two words “absolutely perfect”, your kind comments are greatly appreciated. We are grateful for your support and would like to thank you, for taking the time to bring to our attention the problem you experience with the shower door. We are happy to inform you that the problem has been resolved. Once again, thank you for the comments and we hope to see you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Michel Nader (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Large elegant rooms, tasteful not over the top.
Elegant remodel done - every detail chosen harmonizes. Well done and hats off to the designer.
Concierge folks were helpful, exuding positive charm.
Breakfast was delightful with sunlight streaming into the great big room.
Great comfy bed and nice linens,
Huge bathroom....the size of it all made me wonder am i really in a European hotel?!
they help you out with a map of some of the leading pinxto bars and denote them from traditional to new cuisine.
Cleaner gal did a fine job as hotel is clean but our room could have been better vacuumed. If that is the worst thing i can say well then that says a lot.
Oh one other point, they dont give you a self park option but when you check out they charge you higher for valet. We would have been happy to park in their garage but they did not share any information about it with us. Don't like it when hotels are not up front. Oh yes, they also took my partially finished water bottle away when they replaced it with a new one. The problem here is that they only give two small complimentary ones, and i drink a lot of water. I took another one, the same brand as the complimentary one, in the mini bar, (most places the non descript hotel brand is comp) though i was not sure if they were comp or not. They charged me for it. Fine, but then they should not have taken my unfinished water bottle away! GM needs to examine this policy - don't take away someone's unfinished water and then charge them for using more than the 2 small complimentary ones. They kept doing this to us. It was frustrating.
Small grievances of course and otherwise a fantastic hotel. Fantastic location if you want to explore the old town and pinxtos bars.

Room Tip: nice if you have a view of the sea
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lajolla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, General Manager at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear lajolla1,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share feedback from your most recent stay. Our guest feedback is important to us as often times it may pinpoint an area of needed focus and attention.
Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. We have brought your comments to the attention of those concerned. Please, accept our apologies for the problem you experience with the complimentary bottles of water, during your time spent with us.
In closing, may I thank you, once again, for taking the time to bring your concerns to my attention. We are grateful for your support and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to HOTEL in the future.
Regards,

Michel Nader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I spend a couple of days in San Sebastian the last time in june 2012 at this wonderful hotel. It is a signiture or luxury collection hotel, where almost every celebrity visiting "Donostia" make their choice to saty at. This property domains the best view of the "La Concha" bay and beach, and overlooks the Urumea River and Cantabric Sea, really uncomparable location surrounded by gardens and promenades .

Recently the hotel has added a modern wellness center, featuring a swimming pool, gym and spa, but its historical charm and style remains intact. The rooms and suites are still decorated following the Empire and Reina Ana´s style.

It may be a bit expensive, but worthy to give it a try as its historical environment is cautivating.

Room Tip: "higher floors facing the Cantabric Sea have best views of la Concha"
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank idrovoviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, General Manager at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Idrovoviva,

We were very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the hotel and the surroundings.
We feel very proud for being qualified as “a classic jewel of all time”. We hope to keep the honor to be differentiated with these inspirational words after our reopening in July 2012. Our rooms have been redecorated in sophisticated grays and whites being distinguished by their style, elegance and for its new technology.

Unfortunately we do not have any spa or swimming pool in our property however we can highly recommend one Spa located ten minutes walking for the Hotel, and recognised as one of the best view of the “La Concha” bay and beach.

In closing, may I thank you, once again, for taking the time to write. We are grateful for your support and look forward to welcoming you at HOTEL in the future.

Best regards,

Michel Nader (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Conveniently located next to the old town and the port/marina. Everything was smooth at check in. There was (paid) parking available and with our starwood gold membership we could get free wifi.

We walked everywhere.
The bed was gigantic. Even bigger than a California king (more like the size of two doubles put together). Quiet room. Very comfortable and we slept soundly. Reception was efficient and the concierge, Joana, very friendly and helpful.
When we left I was impressed when the staff brought us a couple of bottles of water "for the road". The car windshields were even cleaned!
A bit more expensive than the average but very well worth it.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room away from the road. I am sure they will accomodate your request if they ar...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lilian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, General Manager at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear LilianCT,

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise. I have brought your comments to the attention of those concerned.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice comments. We are grateful for your support and look forward to welcoming you at HOTEL in the future.

Best regards,

Michel Nader (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,830 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,570 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
826 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,748 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Monte Igueldo
Mercure Monte Igueldo
#20 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian

Address: Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, 20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £259 - £1,450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Century of Elegance in San Sebastian - Since opening in 1912 the restored Hotel Maria Cristina has been closely linked to the history and cultural life of San Sebastian. The lavish Belle Epoque interior is filled with soaring columns, 19th-century portraits, rich silk brocades and glorious chandeliers making for a truly opulent experience.Experience gracious hospitality on a grand scale in the hotel's rooms and suites. Decorated in a sophisticated palette of greys and white, the rooms are a quiet haven of luxury. Style, technology and a dazzling range of services which combined make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing