We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Costa Vasca(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Astoria 7(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Parma Hotel(San Sebastian - Donostia)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel(San Sebastian - Donostia)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Pension Edorta(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Mercure Monte Igueldo(San Sebastian - Donostia)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,887)
Filter reviews
1,887 results
Traveller rating
1,551
233
58
28
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,551
233
58
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdry barbeautiful hotelconcierge staffupgraded to a suiteriver viewcooking schoolold townbasque regionbeautiful roomtapasbreakfast buffetpintxos barslobby barrooms are largefilm festivalold world charmthree nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
843 - 848 of 1,887 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We loved our stay at the Maria Cristina! It is truly one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. This hotel is in the perfect location to everything in San Sebastian. The staff was so friendly and accomodating. The bed was so comforatable and the room was huge. The free WIFi was always fast and reliable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed at the hotel just for one night following a short tour along the coast from Bilbao through to San Sebastian . The style is elegant , the hotel was built in 1912 but was totally enhanced in the last 2 years . Total class , from the moment you walk into the impressive lobby .

Great location , just a few minutes walk to two spectacular beaches , the main shopping areas and the atmospheric old town .

Also have to add a comment on San Sebastian . What a fantastic city . Think of Cannes or Nice , but then add more glamour and modern relevance . Plus of course the food , sensational , so many top class options .

Room Tip: Go for the slightly more expensive deluxe rooms as they are larger and generally better positioned than the lead in classic rooms . And try to get a river view
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidkLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We went to San Sebastian to check out one of Spain's culinary centers - Hotel Maria Cristina is the ideal base for food trekkers - it is, at the most 15 minutes away by cab from the renowned Michelin restaurants in the area - Arzak (which is closed in November), Akelarre, Mario Berasategui and Mugaritz. There are more Michelin stars scattered in the area and they are pretty close by as well. Maria Christina is located right by the the Old Town (a 10 minute walk), the San Sebastian Film Center is just across the bridge and everything else of interest is a short pleasant walk away.
The concierege staff Joana and Gloria (?) are a wealth of information. They know that a lot of people go there for food and they were prepared. They provided us with a map of old town with the "go to" tapas bars already numbered. With the map is a list of about 24 tapas bars paired with the "must haves" and must go. We had an aggressive plan to visit 7 tapas plLa aces the first night but were very satisfied with Bernardo Etxea, Taberna Gandarias, a fuego Negro and Cuchara de San Telmo. Al these were made possible by the list provided by the concierge! It saved us tons of time.
The hotel brings you back to ages gone by architecturally, but with all the convenience of modern technology.
The room is big and comfortable, we did have a view of the river, the beach and the Film Center.
We did have free breakfast and free reliable internet. The breakfast includes prepared food as well as options to request other dishes to order (poached eggs, etc). The spread is impressive in it's balance and restraint - you have iberian ham, eggs, vegetables, a lot of dairy products and quality cheeses and wonderful desserts - creme catalan, creme brulee, flan, and that's for breakfast! the dining room is exquisitely classic in design, white and gold - the servers attentive and professional. A perfect way to start your day to explore the town.
We observed that the hallways had good lighting - not very bright and not dark - just right. They save energy by using motion activated lighting and if i am not mistaken - they use LED lights- so they don't emit heat - just light and that works perfectly.
They gym located in the basement has treadmills, free weights and some machines - sufficient for cardio and basic weight training - but then again - we were on vacation and did not intend to really us the gym - but they do have it and its functional, clean and well lit.
I can only imagine how busy this hotel is during the summer - being a short walk away from La Concha and the surf beaches. We will definitely come back to Maria Christina on our next visit to San Sebastian.
Thank you very much for making our first visit to San Sebastian an exceptionally enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank arthurhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very comfortable with great concierge service. Concierge had wonderful restaurant suggestions. Rooms and bathrooms very clean, big and comfortable. Our room had nice water view (not sure if all of the rooms have similar views). We would go back to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Zaitz,

It was a pleasure to note how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service provided by our Concierge team. We have brought your comments to the attention of those concerned.

Thank you for taking the time to write. We are looking forward to welcoming you at the Maria Cristina in the future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

What a beautiful place! Everything was as it should be for a 5 star hotel. From the magnificent building and its location, on the river near the old town, to the gracious and friendly staff it was an absolute pleasure to stay here. Our room was elegant and spacious with a river view, one of the most beautiful bathrooms we have ever had.

This hotel is fairly expensive by Spanish standards but compared to what you get in say London, Paris or even Perth its a bargain. I wish we had one of these at home!

Room Tip: Get a river view room if you can.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soosie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Soosie999,

How rewarding it's to read such nice comments, we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the hotel and the service you received.

Thank you for your time and hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to The Maria Cristina in the future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews