We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is one of the most beautifully decorated hotels that I have stayed at. The employees are very friendly and helpful and the location is good, just next to the old town of San Sebastian. I will definately chose this hotel when I go back to San Sebastian next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter7508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Globetrot...

It was a pleasure to note how much you have appreciated our renovation, being considered one of the most beautifully decorated hotels by our guests is a matter of proud. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the social community and for recommending us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,738)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

I have had the great pleasure of staying at this wonderful property for the past 19 years. It was beautiful prior to the complete renovation 2 years ago, and amazing since. Large rooms, attentive staff, great breakfast, perfect location. Everything you would expect from a Gran hotel!

Looking forward to my 20th stay this July!

Room Tip: Make sure to visit Restaurante Cafe Oquendo across the street from the rear entrance.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrJazz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear DrJazz99,

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. We are grateful for your support and would like to thank you,especially for sharing your recommendation of our unique property with the rest of the traveller’s community. The loyalty of our guests is a matter of pride for us.

Hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We visited San Sabestian during low season last year and the main reason we were there was for food. However, when we chose Maria Christina Hotel it turned out to be a nice surprise. It is located along the river bank, and just turned the corner of the street and you will reach the main boulevard. Within 15
Minutes' walk, we could reach all of the shops and bars for pintxos. The room was recently decorated to perfection, with all of the modern facilities you can imagine. Upon arrival, we even had a complimentary bottle of red wine! Breakfast in the morning was the usual buffet and the quality is second to none. It is not cheap by any standard; for what you get it is great value for money! Ask for a room with a river view, much nicer and brighter!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Thomas L,

Thank you for taking the time to write your nice comments. We are very glad to know how much you have appreciated the bottle of the red wine you received. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

We remain at your entire disposal at the Maria Cristina and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to San Sebastian.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great location. friendrly and helpfull staff. Great quality of architecture out side and inside hotel.
The rooms are excellent bog with confort, good bathrooms.
Excellent rfood and breakfast ( the orange juice could nbe better).
Excellent bar with good coctails and confort.
Excellent Hotel..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janiceLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear janiceLis,

It was a pleasure to note how much you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the social community and for recommending us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at this luxe hotel during a summer vacation, sans children. It's regal, historic, and very clean Situated in the heart of San Sebastian, it's just a short walk to many eateries, shops and the gorgeous beach.

When I became severely ill with food poisoning, they sent an excellent doctor (and interpreter) to my room, within an hour after my husband phoned for help. Aside from this hiccup, we had a fun and romantic experience.

I'd love to go back and would recommend this lovely enclave to anyone!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the river are spectacular!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvaWClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear EvaWClark,

Thank you for taking the time to write your nice comments. We are very glad to know how much you have appreciated the attention and service provided to you by our associates. It is indeed rewarding to read that we fulfilled your expectation and that we've created good memories for you to bring back home.

We remain at your entire disposal at the Maria Cristina and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to San Sebastian.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I have to say Hotel Maria Cristina was just wonderful. We spent two wonderful nights here. The weather was miserable during our stay but the staff and the room and the ambience of the hotel were top class. I have to say the room was one of the biggest we have had in Europe. It was also one of the quietest. The bed was huge and very very comfortable. Nothing was ever too difficult for the staff.If you are ever in San Sebastian and want to splurge on some accomodation, this is the place to do it in.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneymale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear sidneymal...,

It was a pleasure to note how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the room, our bed and our friendly and professional staff. It is always gratifying to receive such praise.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write. Looking forward to welcoming you at the Maria Cristina in the future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Cava served in a chipped flute glass isn't an experience I expected. Nearly received a cut and bloody lip - attention to detail is lacking.

Strives for opulence but a somewhat veneer experience.

Would I visit again, yes. Perhaps, a little jaded by my travel from Salamanca, and the wintry weather.

Puts me in mind of a recent illusory/sensual presentation by RSC punch drunk in London - if you have been you will know what I mean.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank DavidWels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear DavidWels,

We were sorry to learn of your concerns regarding your recent stay at our hotel and at the outset, would like to offer our sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed.

We trust you will accept that the difficulties you experienced are certainly not reflective of our normal standards. Please be assured that the issues raised have been investigated and appropriate action has been taken to prevent any guests being similarly inconvenienced in the future.

We do pride ourselves on our exceptionally high standard of service and we do sincerely hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience.

In closing, may I thank you, once again, for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. We are grateful for your support and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to San Sebastian in the future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,836 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,573 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
830 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,755 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Monte Igueldo
Mercure Monte Igueldo
#20 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian

Address: Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, 20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £258 - £1,436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Century of Elegance in San Sebastian - Since opening in 1912 the restored Hotel Maria Cristina has been closely linked to the history and cultural life of San Sebastian. The lavish Belle Epoque interior is filled with soaring columns, 19th-century portraits, rich silk brocades and glorious chandeliers making for a truly opulent experience.Experience gracious hospitality on a grand scale in the hotel's rooms and suites. Decorated in a sophisticated palette of greys and white, the rooms are a quiet haven of luxury. Style, technology and a dazzling range of services which combined make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing