We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Beautiful Luxury Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Maria Cristina in March 2014 as part of a holiday through Spain. This was one of the best hotel choices we have made.

Arriving by car, a short 1 hour or so drive from Bilbao, we entered the driveway of the Hotel at its impressive river front entrance and were greeted at the door by the porter, who assisted with parking our car at the public carpark just next to the hotel. The lobby and reception area was absolutely beautiful, decorated in beautiful classical style. Receiving a warm greeting and welcome by the receptionist, our check in was completed very swiftly, and we were assured a large room with a lovely view, which would be ready for us in under half an a hour. The concierge then took over seamlessly, handing us a map of the city, and then provided us with a map of must-try pintxo bars and a list of items that we should order at each place, which we found to be most useful.

2 hours later, after a short stroll through the old town and a quick but satisfying visit into some of the recommended pintxo bars, we returned to the hotel to check into our room and to freshen up. We were shown to a room on the third floor, an absolutely beautiful room overlooking the riverfront and the Kursaal. Spacious, HUGE king size bed, large bathroom and a little window alcove, we were more than happy with the size of the room. Generous wardrobe space hidden behind beautiful wood panelling, seating area by the window alcove, large wood carved desk and flat screen TV. Marble-top cabinet under the flat screen TV revealed an assortment of barware and glassware and mini bar. Bed was astoundingly large, it was wider than it was long, and soft plush pillow top mattress which afforded an incredibly good nights' rest.

Bathroom were sparkling clean, separate shower and bathtub, plenty of fluffy white towels and heated towel rack , amenities were generous and well thought out. Rain shower yielded even consistent pressure and temperature.

Housekeeping standards are high and consistent, turn down service at night is always done, complete with weather forecast, bottled water and chocolates.

Breakfast was included in our hotel rate, and the spread was above par. Plenty of choices for food, and fresh orange juice was served along with tea and coffee.

Location-wise, it cannot be beat. It is not directly in front of the playa la concha, which I feel keeps the crowd and noise level to a minimum and affords guests peace and quiet and a sense of exclusivity, yet the beach is but a short 5 minute walk away through the main street. Round the corner from the hotel is the old town with its maze of narrow streets and alleys, and tucked into them are the true jems of San Sebastian, some of the best pintxo bars I have ever visited.

Concierge was most helpful in providing directions, ideas on sightseeing, making reservations at top restaurants. Each day when we returned to the hotel, we were always approached by a member of the concierge team to enquire whether we enjoyed their recommendation. We truly appreciated their efforts in ensuring our visit to San Sebastian was an enjoyable one.

My one complaint would be the sound which somehow manages to permeate through the walls, we could occasionally hear music, muffled conversation and tv sounds from the next room.

Parking is expensive however, and the system with which the hotel charges parking is slightly complicated. In the end, we opted to park the car on our own rather than go through the hotel, which we understood attracted an additional valet charge and applicable taxes. While this did not detract from our enjoyment of our time to San Sebastian our or stay at the hotel, one recommendation I would make is perhaps the hotel can consider offering free parking, or at least parking at subsidized rates.

So are we going to return to this hotel and to this stunning magnificent city? It's a resounding YES!

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the river. Beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WYMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,242
    208
    50
    22
    12
See reviews for
230
900
42
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Not that I've stayed in them all but I can well understand why this hotel holds the number one slot as the best in San Sebastián!The hotel is ideally situated for the old town,the beaches,the main shopping thoroughfare of Avenida de la Libertad.
Enter by the impressive hotel entrance overlooking the river and you come to the reception,behind which is a sizeable portrait of Queen Maria Cristina.She was the hotel's first guest in 1912,for one day,apparently.She used to spend her summers in San Sebastián and gave her name to the hotel.Despite this illustrious past,there's nothing snooty or pompous about the hotel,on the contrary,the staff are charming,helpful and friendly.
The rooms are enormous, as are the beds.I'd hazard a guess that our bed was over 8 feet wide.The decor is very tasteful,the bathroom we had comprised bath,seperate shower and seperate room for toilet/bidet.
The cost is what you'd expect to pay for a hotel of this quality,around £200 per night,240 euros.It's worth it,it's a lovely experience.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beetleperson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Beetleperson1,

Thank you for taking the time to write your nice comments. We are very glad to know how much you have appreciated the attention and service provided to you by our associates and we feel really proud while reading the way you describe our property. It is indeed rewarding to read that we fulfilled your expectation and that we've created good memories for you to bring back home.

We remain at your entire disposal at the Maria Cristina and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to San Sebastian.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Sebastian de los Reyes, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

A wonderful place to stay. Amazing service. Breakfast was free with my room and was sooo fresh. The location is perfect for walking to the old city. The concierge was very helpful in planning excursions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Anne B,

It was a pleasure to note how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with our breakfast and the service received. It is always gratifying to receive such praise.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write. Looking forward to welcoming you at the Maria Cristina in the future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is one of the most beautifully decorated hotels that I have stayed at. The employees are very friendly and helpful and the location is good, just next to the old town of San Sebastian. I will definately chose this hotel when I go back to San Sebastian next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter7508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Globetrot...

It was a pleasure to note how much you have appreciated our renovation, being considered one of the most beautifully decorated hotels by our guests is a matter of proud. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the social community and for recommending us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I have had the great pleasure of staying at this wonderful property for the past 19 years. It was beautiful prior to the complete renovation 2 years ago, and amazing since. Large rooms, attentive staff, great breakfast, perfect location. Everything you would expect from a Gran hotel!

Looking forward to my 20th stay this July!

Room Tip: Make sure to visit Restaurante Cafe Oquendo across the street from the rear entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrJazz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear DrJazz99,

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. We are grateful for your support and would like to thank you,especially for sharing your recommendation of our unique property with the rest of the traveller’s community. The loyalty of our guests is a matter of pride for us.

Hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We visited San Sabestian during low season last year and the main reason we were there was for food. However, when we chose Maria Christina Hotel it turned out to be a nice surprise. It is located along the river bank, and just turned the corner of the street and you will reach the main boulevard. Within 15
Minutes' walk, we could reach all of the shops and bars for pintxos. The room was recently decorated to perfection, with all of the modern facilities you can imagine. Upon arrival, we even had a complimentary bottle of red wine! Breakfast in the morning was the usual buffet and the quality is second to none. It is not cheap by any standard; for what you get it is great value for money! Ask for a room with a river view, much nicer and brighter!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Thomas L,

Thank you for taking the time to write your nice comments. We are very glad to know how much you have appreciated the bottle of the red wine you received. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

We remain at your entire disposal at the Maria Cristina and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to San Sebastian.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisbon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great location. friendrly and helpfull staff. Great quality of architecture out side and inside hotel.
The rooms are excellent bog with confort, good bathrooms.
Excellent rfood and breakfast ( the orange juice could nbe better).
Excellent bar with good coctails and confort.
Excellent Hotel..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janiceLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear janiceLis,

It was a pleasure to note how much you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the social community and for recommending us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#10 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian

Property: Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Address: Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, 20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Century of Elegance in San Sebastian - Since opening in 1912 the restored Hotel Maria Cristina has been closely linked to the history and cultural life of San Sebastian. The lavish Belle Epoque interior is filled with soaring columns, 19th-century portraits, rich silk brocades and glorious chandeliers making for a truly opulent experience.Experience gracious hospitality on a grand scale in the hotel's rooms and suites. Decorated in a sophisticated palette of greys and white, the rooms are a quiet haven of luxury. Style, technology and a dazzling range of services which combined make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing