We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous hotel in a fabulous city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

san sebastian isn't on most spanish itineraries, but it's a gem of a city up north in basque country, close to the french border. you can't go wrong staying the hotel maria cristina, another century-old grande dame, but completely modernized. the rooms and bathrooms are spacious and very comfortable, and the free wifi throughout the hotel is a gracious bonus. the view of the urumea river and the gros district across it is spectacular; our room had a small balcony. no coffeemaker, no ironing board. very courteous and friendly staff. the best tapas or "pintxos" bars in the old quarter are just about 10-15 minutes' walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony facing the river--stunning view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qwertyman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Qwertyman54,

Thank you for having taken the time to write your comments about your stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure to note how much you enjoyed your visit to San Sebastian, a very unique city with a charming atmosphere.

We remain at your entire disposal at the Maria Cristina and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to San Sebastian.

Best regards,

Stijn Oyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 1,760 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a beautifully refurbished hotel in a central part of San Sabastian.

Location
Excellent - within walking distance to the beach and to many excellent pintxos bars.
Also easily walkable to nearby shops.

Rooms:
Beautifully furnished with comfortable beds, large bathrooms and excellent amenities.
Clean and amenities regularly replenished.
Love how they have tried to keep the regal classic style of the hotel yet upgraded the facilities so it appears timeless.
The rooms are reasonably quiet but not entirely soundproof. I slept comfortably so this wasn't an issue for me.

Breakfast:
Ample variety and delicious.

Service:
Very smooth and well executed concierge service.
I like how they email you prior to ensure that any requests are looked after eg. recommendations for pintxos bars (including the best pintxos to have at the place), arranging restaurant reservations, additional amenities that you want in the room etc.
Friendly and extremely helpful. Highly commendable.


The only thing of note that I thought could be improved was that the hotel kindly gave me a room upgrade. However, as I was travelling solo, the room upgrade ended up being two double beds stuck together so I ended up having a smaller bed compared to the original queen.
This stuck out as slightly out of character for such a great hotel.

I would definitely stay at the Hotel Maria Cristina if I return to San Sebastian.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, General Manager at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear yees,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing down your experience as well as describing very positively our facilities. We do appreciate your wise comments. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us but we were sorry to learn of your concerns regarding the type of bed we offered you, please do not hesitate to contact me before arriving the next time you visit San Sebastian and we would be more than happy to offer you a queen bed in order to fulfill your expectations.

On a more positive note, it was a pleasure to read how much you appreciated our Concierge services, the pillar of The Luxury Collection. We love providing our guests a memorable experience enriching their knowledge about The Basque Country, the history of the city as well as its enchanting culture. Thank you for letting us know how impressed you were. It is always gratifying to receive such praise. We have brought your comments to the attention of those concerned.

We hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to the Maria Cristina in the future.

Best regards,

Stijn Oyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

San Sebastian is a wonderful place to visit, with a beautiful sea front and the truly exuberant old town packed with lively tapas bars. This is an old fashioned hotel, superbly placed for both sea and nightlife. Very comfortable, views over the sea and an exceptionally welcoming lounge area. Not cheap but hey! Our deal seemed very reasonable for what we got. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: great sea views in some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, General Manager at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear John r,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the social community and for highly recommending San Sebastian and the Hotel Maria Cristina.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best regards,

Stijn Oyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was our second stay at the Hotel Maria Cristina. The renovations were impressive. After a long journey from New York (JFK to Madrid, connecting flight to Bilbao, Pesa bus to San Sebastián )we were warmly welcomed as soon as the taxi reached the hotel. We were given a room upgrade & complimentary breakfast courtesy of Starwood. The room was large, with a high ceiling, and a small balcony overlooking the river. The renovated bathroom was beautiful, especially the shower! We had dinner at the hotel and drinks at the bar several times. The service was first rate and the friendliness of the entire staff was memorable. Every request was graciously accommodated. The concierge was extremely helpful in planning day trips from the hotel. The location is ideal for exploring San Sebastián. This a true five star hotel!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 2nyctravelers_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, General Manager at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear 2nyctravelers,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing down your experience. We really appreciate your nice words. It was a pleasure to note how much you enjoyed our cocktails in the Dry Bar and how much you appreciated the service you received during your stay. We are very pleased for having fulfilled your expectations after the renovation. We are grateful for your support, the loyalty of our guests is a matter of pride for us.

Looking forward to welcome you again in San Sebastian in the near future.

Best regards,

Stijn Oyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Maria Cristina has always been a fantastic choice, but after the renovations done, there is simply no better hotel in the north of Spain.

Beautiful property, great rooms, great bathrooms, ideal location and top service. We had some unusual requests because we wanted to sleep during the day and watch the Oscar Awards at night. They were able to accomodate every single one of them. We felt they were interested in our well-being, so we could not ask for more.

We will definitely come back here next time we are in SS.

Room Tip: If you can, go for one of the suites. They are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarisita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, General Manager at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Clarisita,

Thank you for taking the time to write your nice comments. We are very glad to know how much you have appreciated the attention and service provided to you by our associates. It is indeed rewarding to read that we fulfilled your expectation and that we've created good memories for you to bring back home.

We remain at your entire disposal at the Maria Cristina and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to San Sebastian.


Best regards,

Stijn Oyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I have stayed in hotels all over the world, some modest, some luxury, but this hotel beats them all. Outstanding rooms, over-the-top friendly and helpful staff, amenities galore, this is a find! If there is any downside, it's the price of breakfast, but there are dozens of bars and restaurants outside the hotel, so a five minute walk solves that problem.

Special kudos to the concierges. Friendly, smiling, eager to help as well as informed and smart, these folks are as good as it gets.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, General Manager at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Bill H,

It was a pleasure to note how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the rooms and our friendly and professional staff. It is always gratifying to receive such praise.
We have noted your comments regarding the pricing of our breakfast, and we would like to advise you that our rates are very competitive with the same category hotels in the region. Our breakfast it's an exceptional culinary experience considered “The Best Breakfast in San Sebastian”.
On a more positive note, we are delighted to be one of your favorite hotel in Spain and we were pleased to learn that you enjoyed every other aspect of your stay with us. We hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to the Maria Cristina in the future.


Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

An elegant hotel that is simply beautiful and extremely comfortable. The staff are professional but still warm and welcoming. San Sebastian is a small town, still, the great location makes visiting easier. The concierge, Raul, knew his town inside out, but it was his enthusiasm that was infectious. You can't stay here, get guidance from Raul, see this town and leave without swearing you will return.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a bad room here. The hotel us "U" shaped and we were inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heynoni13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,867 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,587 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
839 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,786 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian

Address: Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, 20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £196 - £776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Century of Elegance in San Sebastian - Since opening in 1912 the restored Hotel Maria Cristina has been closely linked to the history and cultural life of San Sebastian. The lavish Belle Epoque interior is filled with soaring columns, 19th-century portraits, rich silk brocades and glorious chandeliers making for a truly opulent experience.Experience gracious hospitality on a grand scale in the hotel's rooms and suites. Decorated in a sophisticated palette of greys and white, the rooms are a quiet haven of luxury. Style, technology and a dazzling range of services which combined make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing