We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drinking martini cocktails with God maybe.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Drinking martini cocktails with God maybe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I don't want anyone to go to the Hotel Maria Cristina. I love it too much. Please leave it empty for me and Mr Lash. Don't stay there. But you can go to its Bette Davis bar for the perfect martini cocktail made by Alejandro. Bette Davis had her last drink there, before going home and dying. She probably thought she was in Heaven already, with the scent of frangipani and the sea wafting in the windows, a perfect cocktail and maybe a coconut ice cream chaser.

Room Tip: I prefer garden view so maybe it's best if you pick a river view. The cheery handyman covered m...
See more room tips
Green Features: One of the maids, probs a frustrated opera singer, used green policies as an excuse for not washing the glasses, or asking room service to collect and wash. To be fair, Mr Lash and I did get through a large number of glasses.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VivLash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear VivLash,

It was a pleasure to note how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the Dry Bar and our martini cocktail. It is always gratifying to receive such praise. We have brought your comment to the attention of Alejandro.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write. We are looking forward to welcoming you at the Maria Cristina in the future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,244
    208
    50
    22
    12
See reviews for
230
901
42
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

A perfect situated luxury hotel in San Sebastian. Nice and large rooms, and the breakfast was perfect. Absolutely nothing to complaint on. Highly reccomended, and one of the top five hotels I have visited.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrondHanstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear TrondHanstad,

It is an honor for us to be considered as one of the top five hotels that you have visited. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the social community and for recommending us.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Maria Cristina has an impressive appearance and luxurious image, and you would have trouble finding a hotel in San Sebastian with a better location. For the staggering price of almost 400 Euros a night I ended up being a bit disappointed. Most of all by the service. Our room was not ready when we arrived, well after 2 p.m, so we were happy to discover they had put us in a junior suite instead. But - just as a matter of principles it seemed, they had locked off half of the of the space. The half we got was strangely configured, smallish and with only a narrow cell-like window in the bed-room, and a long, dark hallway leading to the bathroom. In comparison with other Luxury Collection hotels I have stayed at, this practice of giving an upgrade that was actually a down-grade seemed petty. Probably the result of an inexperienced staff, something we were able to confirm later, when we asked the concierge to recommend us and book a table at a good restaurant for the evening. Instead of a recommendation we got several pages worth of restaurants, few of which were open at all on a tuesday, it transpired, after a lot of phone calls and messages up to our room.
We ended up following the advise of one of the receptionists and went to a restaurant across town that ended up trying to cheat us on the check - twice!
So - in short - the staff´s lack of experience and service-mindedness was a disappointment and a surprise to us - especially in light of the costs per night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Misha B,

Thank you for having taken the time to write your comments about your stay at our hotel. We were sorry to learn of your concerns regarding the service and we want to apologize that our service let you down on this occasion. Your comments regarding the Concierge recomendation will be addressed within our front desk team. We are constantly upgrading our concierge department to make sure to fulfill all the expectations of our visitors.

Thanking you again for you the time taken and your contribution in making our hotel even better.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our 5 day stay unfortunately decided to bring the bad weather with us!
Thankfully the hotel staff, accommodation, bar, breakfast and ambience were all 10/10. Concierge Joanna was totally amazing and I must say made each day so much easier. Her suggestions in the very average weather we experienced, cold, wet and windy were fabulous.
The most comfortable, elegant spacious room and bathroom on our months journey in Spain.
Only downside was the partying and noise in the streets until dawn during the weekend :(

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diesy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear diesy8,
How rewarding it's to read such nice comments, we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received since the moment you arrived to our property. Making you feel welcome is amongst our highest priorities. We have brought your comments to the attention of Joanna. She is grateful to you on the given praise.

Thank you for your time and hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to The Maria Cristina in the future.

Best regards,

Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Had a most wonderful stay at the Maria Cristina in July.
We were there 4 nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay in this beautiful hotel.

I must make special mention of the great service we received from the staff at the front desk always ready to help and smiling.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyvoyager123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Happyvoyager123,

It was a pleasure to note how much you have enjoyed your stay with us and how impressed you were with the service you received from front-desk staff. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

We remain at your entire disposal at the Maria Cristina and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to San Sebastian.

Best regards,

Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a great experience at this wonderful hotel. Great attention to detail always asking how can they help. Location is excellent and San Sebastian is a very walkable city around the old city. Breakfast buffet is delicious with large variety of choices. Our suite was spacious and beautifully furnished.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TVMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear TVMD,

Thank you for taking the time to write your nice comments. It is an honor for us to read “Best Hotel in San Sebastian”.

Thank you again for your time and hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to The Maria Cristina in the future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newlondon, nh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and I have stayed in many luxury hotels all over the world; we both rate Maria Cristina as one of the best. The ambiance is terrific, from the portraits in the lobby and bar to the bullet holes from the civil war on the outside walls. We had a river view room that was well appointed and a totally up to date bathroom. The location is right next to the Old Town the headquarters for the pinxtos bars-very important as my mobility is limited. The hotel has a new restaurant serving Southeast Asian food which we found quite good. Will say, however, would not have dined there if we hadn't been staying for a week. Too many other good restaurants in San Sebastian.
The breakfast buffet was outstanding, I got spoiled by the fresh oj.
I particularly want to mention the concierge desk as above and beyond. Johanna helped us check in as there was a back up at the desk. I then wanted to mail a package home and she took charge. When the delivery was made she called me in France to verify that all was well. Kudos.
All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newlondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear newlondon1,

It was a pleasure to note how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with our concierge service. We truly believe in our dedication to excellence in our day to day operation, and I am glad that our hosts like you, recognizes those efforts. I have brought your comments to the attention of Johanna. She is grateful to you on the given praise.

Thank you again and best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,555 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#10 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian

Property: Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Address: Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, 20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Century of Elegance in San Sebastian - Since opening in 1912 the restored Hotel Maria Cristina has been closely linked to the history and cultural life of San Sebastian. The lavish Belle Epoque interior is filled with soaring columns, 19th-century portraits, rich silk brocades and glorious chandeliers making for a truly opulent experience.Experience gracious hospitality on a grand scale in the hotel's rooms and suites. Decorated in a sophisticated palette of greys and white, the rooms are a quiet haven of luxury. Style, technology and a dazzling range of services which combined make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing