We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The only show in town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Although I gave the Maria Cristina just an average rating, it is the only luxury property I know of in San Sebastian. My concerns with the hotel are that there is little to no information provided by the hotel about the hotel and the surrounding areas. Also, while sitting in the lounge, having a late afternoon glass of champagne, the manager (I think that's who it was) began to vacuum a shade (over a light fixture) or something. That didn't do a whole lot for the atmosphere. Housekeeping left a welcome card for another guest in the room and didn't make up the room until approximately 4PM. Then, they never did the turn down service.
The good aspects of the hotel are that it is conveniently located. The rooms are large and well decorated and the baths are spacious and well appointed. Room service breakfast is quite good, but downstairs in the breakfast room is a very mediocre buffet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear scdm,

Thank you for having taken the time to write your comments about your last stay at our property. We were sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations and at the outset, would like to offer our sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed.

We trust you will accept that the difficulties you experienced are certainly not reflective of our normal standards. Please be assured that the issues raised have been investigated and appropriate action has been taken to prevent any guests being similarly inconvenienced in the future.

We do pride ourselves on our exceptionally high standard of service and we do sincerely hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience.

In closing, may we thank you, once again, for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. We are grateful for your support and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to The Maria Cristina in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,273
    210
    50
    22
    13
See reviews for
239
921
42
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
monein
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel right in the centre of town but you really pay for it. Service is good staff very friendly. Breakfast is extra and at 30 euros per person good but expensive. Tip leave the hotel by the garden side and enjoy an excellent breakfast at less than half the price in the beautiful plaza guipuzcoa and watch the world go by?the hotels cocktail bar is beautiful but staff are slow. We had to go looking for them. Cocktails are wonderful and they have an extensive list. The rooms are large with very comfortable beds and a beautiful bathroom. We shall stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosie62Monein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Rosie62Monein,

Thank you for having taken the time to write your comments about your stay at our hotel. Your comments are of the utmost importance, as they provide the necessary information that allows us to address situations and maintain or improve the quality of services for which we are recognized.

Looking forward to be again elected as your residence in San Sebastian should you wish to visit our wonderful city.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Definitively the place to stay in San Sebastian, walking distance from the old town and La Concha, the architecture and room amenities are worth the price you'll have to pay to stay there. The only thing was not up to the expectations was the staff serving at the lobby bar, they should be better trained in how to fix cocktails and the likes, the guy attending our table was a rookie

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Ramon Z,

Thank you for having taken the time to write your comments about your stay at our hotel. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay despite of the small minuses mentioned. We want to apologize that your experience at the Dry Bar let you down. Please be assured, the issues raised have been addressed and appropriate action taken to prevent any guest being similarly inconvenienced in the future.

We remain at your entire disposal at the Maria Cristina and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to San Sebastian.


Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We spent two incredible nights at the Hotel Maria Christina, a jewel of a hotel, a place where service, quality, and style all come together harmoniously. We were upgraded (thank you Amex Fine Hotel Program) to one of the most beautiful suites in which we've ever stayed. If we had merely had our bedroom with its impeccable design, canopied bed, and luxurious bathroom (modern fittings, huge mirror, fluffy plentiful towels, great robes) it would have sufficed. But, then we opened the door to our oval sitting room with multiple balconies, ocean, river, and city views, B&O TV and Sound system, and incredible couches other furniture, and were completely blown away. The staff was very helpful with reservations and recommendations. Its map to the best pinxto bars was very helpful, too! From experience, not all pinxtos are created equal...the ones on the map were much better than the ones we found on our own. Our rate included the generous breakfast buffet, a food credit, and free wi-fi. You should know that the hotel is not right on the beach; it is a few blocks away. You can get beach towels from the front desk. Also, there is no outdoor pool. If you really need an outdoor pool you might check out the Hotel Mercure San Sebastian, up on the mountain, with its wonderful views, but it is in no way comparable in any other respect. By the way, the gourmet food store off the lobby had an excellent selection of gifts to take home. We only had a couple of small issues: the gigantic bed was (as is often the case in Europe) two beds put together. This meant a somewhat odd seam down the center of the bed that had to be negotiated. Trust me...we worked around it. The service in the Asian restaurant was slow and erratic. On the other hand, the soft shell crabs were among the best I've ever had. Neither of these will deter me from dreaming of returning to this stellar hotel in the future!

Room Tip: The corner suites that open on the plaza and river also have views of the ocean in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RiddleySkyWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear RiddleySkyWalker,

“¡Gracias!” or as we say in San Sebastian “Eskerrik asko”. Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We truly believe in our dedication to excellence in our day to day operation, and we are glad that our hosts like you, recognizes those efforts.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at the Maria Cristina in the future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel has been updated recently, and it shows. The bathrooms are beautiful, the plush room furniture and bedding is great. Their common areas are very classy, but what really sets this place apart is the level of service. The service is prompt, and happy.
The location is good for easy access to la concha beach, and the old town is steps away. So a pinxto crawl was a nightly affair for us. The only thing that is a downer is the cost of the breakfast here, superb but pricey.
They were kind enough to loan us their hotel stroller, when our 3 year old decided she had enough of walking! I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnytheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear SunnytheTraveller,

Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise. We would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received and our renovation.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your comment and hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to the Maria Cristina Hotel in the future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for three nights before heading to Madrid. Beautifully appointed suite room was very large and comfortable. Nice lobby bar with great service and a bartender who made an excellent Vesper martini (even carved a bowtie out of the lemon rind). Hotel is walking distance to everything including beach and great restaurants downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phoenixfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Phoenixfry,

We are glad to read that our refurbishment met your expectations and that you have enjoyed your stay in San Sebastian, in general and especially, your experience at our Dry Bar.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.


Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I don't want anyone to go to the Hotel Maria Cristina. I love it too much. Please leave it empty for me and Mr Lash. Don't stay there. But you can go to its Bette Davis bar for the perfect martini cocktail made by Alejandro. Bette Davis had her last drink there, before going home and dying. She probably thought she was in Heaven already, with the scent of frangipani and the sea wafting in the windows, a perfect cocktail and maybe a coconut ice cream chaser.

Room Tip: I prefer garden view so maybe it's best if you pick a river view. The cheery handyman covered m...
See more room tips
Green Features: One of the maids, probs a frustrated opera singer, used green policies as an excuse for not washing the glasses, or asking room service to collect and wash. To be fair, Mr Lash and I did get through a large number of glasses.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivLash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear VivLash,

It was a pleasure to note how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the Dry Bar and our martini cocktail. It is always gratifying to receive such praise. We have brought your comment to the attention of Alejandro.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write. We are looking forward to welcoming you at the Maria Cristina in the future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian

Property: Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Address: Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, 20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Century of Elegance in San Sebastian - Since opening in 1912 the restored Hotel Maria Cristina has been closely linked to the history and cultural life of San Sebastian. The lavish Belle Epoque interior is filled with soaring columns, 19th-century portraits, rich silk brocades and glorious chandeliers making for a truly opulent experience.Experience gracious hospitality on a grand scale in the hotel's rooms and suites. Decorated in a sophisticated palette of greys and white, the rooms are a quiet haven of luxury. Style, technology and a dazzling range of services which combined make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing