We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Nearby Hotels
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$295
US$208
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Arrizul Urumea(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Barcelo Costa Vasca(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$177
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Astoria 7(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$139
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Palacio de Aiete(San Sebastian - Donostia)
US$109
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel(San Sebastian - Donostia)
US$190
US$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Villa Soro(San Sebastian - Donostia)
US$358
US$322
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$144
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH San Sebastian Donosti(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
US$132
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,885)
Filter reviews
1,885 results
Traveller rating
1,549
233
58
28
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,549
233
58
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdry barbeautiful hotelconcierge staffupgraded to a suiteriver viewcooking schoolold townbasque regionbeautiful roomtapasbreakfast buffetpintxos barslobby barrooms are largefilm festivalold world charmthree nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,151 - 1,156 of 1,885 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Stayed in Hotel Maria Cristina for 5 nights/6 days,as part of a 34 nights/36 days Spain tour starting in Valencia.Came here by car from Pamplona.Easy to find the hotel,as it's the only 5 * GL in San Sebastian.Arrived in a Sunday afternoon.Check in fast and efficient. I had a fully prepaid rate,very good deal,less than 200 euros for a deluxe room with river view,but without breakfast.Room 315,deluxe with river view.Double insulated soundproof windows,nice bathroom with separated tub and shower.No free internet,but they have to PC's in the lobby that you can use for free(but there's always someone using it,so be polite and ask if he or she will stay for a long time-speaking some spanish always helps).San Sebastian has 3 Michelin's 3 stars restaurants,so you eat very well!!!!!!!!!The location of the hotel is very good,close to the historic area,where you can have "pintxos" or "tapas".The starting point of the "bus turistico" is right in front of the hotel,so it helps too.The hotel have umbrellas for the guests for the frequent rains.No special matters,except that they charge a fixed rate of almost 1 euro for toll free numbers,I said I wouldn't pay and the front desk person gave me 50% discount.Be careful:there's always a line about noon for the check out,so if you don't want to wait pay the bill the night before

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

This is a nice hotel in a fantastic location in San Sebastian. The hotel lobby is beautiful but the hotel room is starting to feel a little worn and dated, although the bed is very comfortable. The amenities were clean and the staff was helpful. Very close to the Old Quarter, everything within short walking distance. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria_M_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

María Cristina is, without a doubt, San Sebastián best hotel, by far, because of its history, charm, guests, location and rating (only *****GL hotel in the city).
The hotel was designed by Charles Mewes (author of Madrid and Paris Ritz hotels also) and opened in 1912. It represents the "belle epoque" of the city and it has been home of presidents, kings, politicians and cinema stars. Alfred Hitchock, Mata Hari, Leon Trotski, Audrey Hepburn, Steven Spielberg or Mick Jagger were some of its guests.
The location is very good, next to the Kursaal (home of the International Cinema Festival) and quite close to the Old Quarter (for pintxos) and La Concha beach.
Rooms are VERY spacious, bright and clean (see pictures), with lovely details of high class hotels, such as placing a small mat before the bed every evening and remove it every morning or complimentary umbrellas in the (frequent) event of rain/showers.
Bathrooms are huge and clean, although a little dated. Separate shower and bathtub, two sinks and bidet.
Staff are very helpful and skilled, as expected from a grand luxe hotels.
To sum up, still the best place to stay in San Sebastián, even if it's a little bit dated (especially if you get a good deal).

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Very professional hotel staff with excellent dining suggestions. The rooms here are enormous, as large as suites, bit dated funrnishings. Beds are so cozzzy, they're larger than a cal king. We enjoyed a very nice canal, ocean view room. You could do cart-wheels through the bathroom. The tub was so luxurious, we never took a shower, my 6'5 husband endulged daily. Be careful here..there is MAJOR construction on 3 sides of Maria Cristina. The spa is a dump...go to La Perla.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vsirvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We were visiting the Rioja and Basque areas and we adore San Sebastian. It has a fabulous beach - it's free and public and protected and fun and great. And we like to eat and drink and shop. The Maria Cristina is a great hotel. We got a fabulous rate online so it didn't cost a fortune. The location is great for everything. The staff are very helpful - what you expect from a five star. The room was huge and overlooked the garden and I could have stayed several weeks, and I just might next time. We walked through the old town at night sampling the pintxos and never felt unsafe. We did pay more than we like for the parking, but it was the public lots actual fee plus an 8 euro fee for the valet so it wasn't unreasonable for San Sebastian. Remember this is the playground of the rich and famous of Europe. The hotel charges for internet in the room but have 2 pcs in the lobby that you can use for free and access the internet. Sometimes it was a wait - children playing games and doing fb.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emgtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews