We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POSH”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Quiet, clean and upscale. The bathroom supplies were the fanciest I've ever seen. You can hop right on the walking trail from this hotel and walk for hours along the river, by the ocean, near downtown, and along the beaches. What a great town and a sweet hotel. The floors and hallways are carpeted so it's not noisy at night.

Room Tip: I don't know how you could get a bad room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moreland01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed here on a three day break in San Sebastian. The hotel is well located for the bus station immediately next door and motorway access. It is about a 20 minute walk from the more touristy areas of San Sebastian (old town/port/beach/museums etc). Walk to town either along the river or through the cafe/shopping district around the Buen Pastor church, both are pleasant routes. It would be a handy location for attending matches at the football stadium. The hotel and rooms are well furnished, clean and comfortable with bar and cafe areas on the ground floor. Staff were friendly and helpful, reception will supply beach towels if you want to head to La Concha or the other beaches in the area.

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor away from the bus station may be quieter but the bus station isn't that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This hotel is well situated, particularly if travelling by car. It is easily accessed from the major motorways, has underground parking, only 15 minute walk into the city centre or a few minutes in the bus. The bus terminal next to the hotel is NOT where you catch the bus into town. This is more for regional buses. The correct bus stop is further across the road. Ask at reception for a map and directions. They speak fluent English. The underground parking is public, but the hotel has a reserved area on the second level. Make sure your parking ticket is endorsed by reception and have it added to your bill. This saves having to do battle with the public pay machines. The hotel décor is modern with some very interesting paintings by some famous painters. The rooms are large, comfortable and make for quiet and easy sleeping. We had lunch in the restaurant, which was not well attended, possibly because of the price (22 euros for a set meal - cheaper restaurants abound in town). The food was good, consistent with this standard of hotel, but not outstanding. However, we had one of the best bottles of wine (a chardonnay) of our whole trip in Spain. The menu and wine list is on their web site (http://www.hoteles-silken.com/hotel-amara-plaza-san-sebastian/en/). Breakfast was excellent with considerable choice. The free WiFi is very slow. You need to get a password from reception and there are two types of access, browser-based or full access. If you need to access your company email (e.g. Microsoft Outlook), make sure you ask for the full access password. The passwords only last for 24 hours, but you can get a few days passwords in advance, depending on the length of your stay. If you need to conduct significant business through WiFi, I would think twice about this hotel. Otherwise , it is a great choice for tourists. We will return.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms away from bus terminal are better. However, double glazing eliminates most noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank areness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

The room and bathroom were beautiful. There was an amazing variety of very nice toiletries, including, makeup removal products, facial toner, shaving and dental kits. It is about a 25 minute walk or 6 Euro cab ride to old town. The walk to the center is along the river and very pleasant. They also provided nice umbrellas, when it rained. The restaurant had an excellent 3 course meal for 22 Euros, which included a nice bottle of wine!

Room Tip: Our corner room on the sixth floor had a fabulous balcony! Too bad we couldn't use it due to ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 44LovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Silken Amara San Sebastian is a good hotel *not* to stay in. We booked three nights, several months in advance. When we arrived, the hotel seemed nice enough, but when we got to our room it was extremely warm (I'd estimate it somewhere between 28 and 30C). We turned on the A/C, which blew warm air no matter what we set the temperature to. I'd looked specifically for hotels that were air conditioned because I wanted a cool refuge if the weather was hot. I opened the window and discovered that right below was a grade school (noisy) and the traffic from the street that ran adjacent to the hotel was really loud. When I went down to talk to the desk, the clerk told me at this time of year (May) the A/C is turned off, so even though they have it, it doesn't work. For me, too hot=no sleep and too noisy=no sleep so they offered to move us to a room on a higher level floor. It was a little cooler but you still had to keep the window open to keep the temperature down to about 22C. Still loud, but I could live with this.

The next morning, after not much sleep due to noise, I was nearly scalded in the shower. I set the temperature to warm and found that it toggled itself between warm to scalding to cold and then back again. You had to wait for the water to not be too hot or too cold so you could get washed and rinsed. Here is where I draw the line. I got the two nights remaining cancelled and booked at the Barcelo Costa Vasco, which was about $100 cheaper for the two remaining nights and got a better room.

One added note--when packing up to leave, we were checking to make sure we had not lost anything from my husband's coat pockets when he tossed the coat on the back of the chair. We found a pair a pair of men's underwear behind the chair. No, they were not my husband's. Really makes me wonder about the quality of cleanliness...I always hope hotels would notice this stuff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaniceWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

very nice breakfast, lots of choices, very fresh. Location o.k., nice walk to town, ask for a room on floor 6 or up, then no problems of buses.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prins-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I travel on business often. The hotel is modern and comfortable. The staff at the front desk all speak fluent English and are eager to assist. My room was large by European standards, and daily maid service efficient, cordial and complete. Be cautious of low rooms adjacent to the bus terminal. Up to midnight, they can be a bit noisy. The breakfast was one of the best I have experienced, anywhere in France or Spain. The Wi-Fi is weak, certainly not up to the standards expected of a Silken property. It is an easy commute to the center of town. Perhaps a 12 to 15 minute walk, but much better is the bus which departs about every 15 minutes for 1€40. I will stay here again.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank Tug1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,585 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,354 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
470 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Amara Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Amara Plaza Hotel

Address: Plaza Pio XII 7, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £59 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Amara Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Silken Amara Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silken Amara Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing