We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a fabulous city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in November whilst visiting San Sebastián for the cities marathon. It is a modern hotel in a good location. If you're doing the marathon, it is 800m from the start and finish.
Rooms are well equipped and immaculately clean. Staff are friendly and helpful, and will go out of their way to help you.
It is a 20 minute walk to the old town and bay from the hotel , but it's a nice walk ( with plenty of refreshment options! )
If you get the bus from the airports to SS, they drop off outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runjonnyrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Amara Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make your review about your stay with us.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests. We are very please to find out that we achieved the expectations you had on us.
It would be a pleasure to see you again in a near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here as part of an escorted tour. The hotel is modern, clean, quiet, and conveniently located along the river near the 5th bridge. A bit of a walk to the old town but pleasant. The double sinks in the bathroom made hand laundry a bit easier. The breakfast was delicious as well as the group dinner we had in the main dining room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabciH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in October. This was a large, well equipped modern hotel (complete with tour buses parked outside overnight). The reception staff were very helpful. We didn't have any meals at the hotel but they seemed relatively expensive. Save money and room for the pintxos in town, which can be enjoyed throughout the day. It was a very pleasant walk to the old area of San Sebastian and the beach, about 30 min along the riverside walkway. There were plenty of hotels closer, but this hotel was good value and had very good rooms and sleep quality. We would definitely recommend the hotel, and San Sebastian itself shouldn't be missed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A very clean and modern hotel on the banks of the river. Our group ate dinner in the restaurant - very nice. The breakfast buffet was extensive. Particularly impressed with the art work throughout the hotel. Wifi free and easily available. Helpful and courteous staff.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andreas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

There is a nice 15-20 minutes walk along the river down to the beautiful beaches or old town.
The breakfast is great with good coffee.
The wifi solution is quite old fashion, you need a password for every device you bring.

Room Tip: Buses (station right outside) make a lot of noice but only if the window is open. If you stay at roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gogunonilollola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Good hotel stay. It was convenient and when you consider the price it was a good value. Staff was friendly, very clean rooms and parking was very easy. Very modern and clean rooms, the A/C worked great as it was unusually warm when we were there.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Randy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

pros: clean room, spacious (compared to other spain hotels we stayed at this trip), safe and great free breakfast. cons: noisy (we were on one of the top floors and could still hear traffic from the street), wireless reception is spotty at best, but at least it's free; location is not ideal -- most of the things i wanted to do were in the old town and this is about a 20 minute walk from there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,585 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,354 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
470 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Amara Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Amara Plaza Hotel

Address: Plaza Pio XII 7, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £59 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Amara Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silken Amara Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silken Amara Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing