We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Great hotel, convenient location, 20 minute stroll to town, comfortable bed, large patio with great views, breakfast OK, bistro and bar very good and value for money, friendly staff. Very Spanish and no English bars, lots of tapas bars plus some good local restaurants. Looking forward to my next stay.....

Room Tip: 8 floor for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules_sydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Amara Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Jules,
Thank you very much for your stay at Silken Amara Plaza. It is a great pleasure to read that you had a wonderful and relaxing holiday and that you liked our facilities and our staff has been attentive to all your needs. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Silken Amara Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 973 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in January. We arrived late on a Friday night, having flown into Bilbao and taken the (very convenient) bus from the airport. The bus stops literally right outside the hotel, which was perfect for a late night arrival when you can't be bothered hailing a cab! Also, the reception is open 24 hours so we were able to check straight into our room with no problems, even with our late arrival.

The room itself was very well appointed - a lovely big bed (effectively two large singles put together though!), nice TV with some good channels (when the bad weather wasn't affecting reception), a reasonably priced mini-bar, big bathroom, etc. Not a particularly exciting view, but it was nice and light. The rooms were cleaned at convenient times for us (we never saw the cleaning staff yet each time we left the hotel our rooms were made up) and the staff were helpful and friendly.

Location wise, yes, it is a bit of a walk into the old town, but it's a perfectly nice one, even when we found ourselves in pretty heavy rain. Had we been so inclined there were convenient buses, too. If you're wanting to stay right in the middle of the action all the time this probably isn't the place for you but it worked well for us, even with my husband who is not the keenest walker!

If you can get a good price for this hotel (we got 3 nights for the price of 2 off a hotel website) you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MARSonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This Hotel was easy to find, immaculately clean and the room was lovely. However, as the most expensive accommodation I booked throughout my three week trip to several cities in Spain, some aspects need to be updated for travellers convenience. The Wifi system was archaic and difficult to access. When I enquired about improving the access I was told there was a cost involved which was quite expensive. I don't think it is unreasonable to expect that "free Wifi" status in a 4 star Hotel would enable travellers to access their emails, this was not the case. The staff were efficient, however, when queries were made I received monosyllabic replies and got the impression they were too busy to provide more friendly service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed here for five nights in the end of december, very nice and clean hotel, breakfast have a lots of choices, try twice dine in the hotel restaurant, excellent food and price, highly recommend.Location also good , it takes about 20-25 minutes to walk to the old town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fatfat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the eve of the San Sebastian Marathon. It is an impressive hotel with attentive staff. Excellently located for the start and finish of the marathon with it being a mere 800 metres away. Our room was spacious enough with a nice bathroom but it was infernally hot! We turned off the heating and opened the window yet the temperature of the room remained akin to a greenhouse. I didn't sleep well due to the heat sadly. We attended the marathon buffet on the Saturday night which was 20 euros per head and carbed up as necessary. Breakfast on the Sunday morning was well organised considering the amount of marathon runners in the restaurant - there was a excellent choice of foods both hot and cold.

Room Tip: I've marked down the 'sleep quality' as the room was just too hot but the bed was very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellisToulouseFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in November whilst visiting San Sebastián for the cities marathon. It is a modern hotel in a good location. If you're doing the marathon, it is 800m from the start and finish.
Rooms are well equipped and immaculately clean. Staff are friendly and helpful, and will go out of their way to help you.
It is a 20 minute walk to the old town and bay from the hotel , but it's a nice walk ( with plenty of refreshment options! )
If you get the bus from the airports to SS, they drop off outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runjonnyrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Amara Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to make your review about your stay with us.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests. We are very please to find out that we achieved the expectations you had on us.
It would be a pleasure to see you again in a near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here as part of an escorted tour. The hotel is modern, clean, quiet, and conveniently located along the river near the 5th bridge. A bit of a walk to the old town but pleasant. The double sinks in the bathroom made hand laundry a bit easier. The breakfast was delicious as well as the group dinner we had in the main dining room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabciH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,592 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,361 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,764 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Amara Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Amara Plaza Hotel

Address: Plaza Pio XII 7, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £60 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Amara Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silken Amara Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silken Amara Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing