We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in san Sebastian”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Clean, well-appointed rooms and friendly staff made this a good choice. generous breakfast buffet.
Located twenty minute walk from old town, there is also a bus stop and taxi rank just outside hotel.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is small but cozy. Sadly I stayed just overnight.
I loved breakfast. Chorizo was the best.
Free wifi. Room was small but enough for 2 people. Restroom provided with hot water, shampoo and soap. Not much interaction with hotel staff except for the ones at breakfast who were very accommodating.
I would recommend this hotel if anybody asks.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dokie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel was more than I expected. The beds and pillows were very very nice. There was a lot of storage for our clothes and suitcases plus a fridge for our wine. The staff was exceptional. They were very nice, accommodating, and helpful. There was a bus stop outside the hotel which led to the old town in 10 minutes. The walk along the river to old town is also nice, but it's about a mile walk.

I don't think our air-conditioning worked in our room, and our side of the building faced the sun so it got a bit warm. The other side of the building has a bus depot. Our family who stayed on that side couldn't keep their window open at night from the noise. The busses run all night. There weren't restaurants around the hotel, but the hotel has a good one. They provided the most "American" service we found in Spain (they came by to check on us).

I would research another hotel the next time I go to San Sebastian, but only to find one closer to amenities at the same price, if possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side facing away from old town. One side has a bus depot which is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Hotel is a 20 minutes walk to nearest Beach. The staff is excellent at hotel, coffee shop, restaurant, bar, front desk, every where. It shouldn't advertise air condition, the common areas are ok, the rooms air condition is controlled by hotel, blows "out side air". Rooms are hot since temperature was already in the 20's Celsius. Hotel besides bus stop, you have to close windows due to noise, hotel needs a working airco.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The hotel is clean, people are courteous, that's it. The air conditioning is not working on May. There is no way to to open a window more than a few inches. The room is warm, really warm. So you don't get a good sleep.

Room Tip: If you don't have air conditioner, and have to open a windows the noise from the traffic will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nestor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hotel is reasonably situated around 20 minutes walk from the Old Town (a pleasant walk along the river or through the new town). The room was a decent size and was comfortable, but the noise of the workmen on the floor above was very intrusive. We hoped it was a temporary disturbance, but after two days we asked to move rooms. The new one was better, but the old room was quickly reallocated, and the work continued.
Parking next to the hotel was convenient (@18 euros a day), and relatively easy to access.

Room Tip: Check on work being done and avoid rooms near it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikePatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I really liked this hotel, breakfast was good, our room (facing the small park) was quiet, bed was quite comfortable, and it took us ( a pair of not fit over 50's) 15 mins to walk to the old town.
We wouldn't be ones for late nights so we really enjoyed that the bar in the hotel was 'buzzing' every evening when we went in for a night cap.
Staff were helpful and when we arrived on Saturday night quite late, having booked a tour for Sunday morning they showed us exactly where to go.
Cant think of a fault for this hotel. As the old town parties all night at weekends it suited us to have a bit of distance between us and it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park as opposed to the bus station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovemyholidays80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,635 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3,006 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Amara Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Amara Plaza Hotel

Address: Plaza Pio XII 7, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £56 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Amara Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Silken Amara Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silken Amara Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing