We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
Crafers, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Good location 10 mins walk from train station clean rooms with great large bathroom. Staff at desk very friendly too. Free wifi in rooms breakfast extra at 10euros pp only let down no a TV in English not even BBC or CNN

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you very much Mark H.!
There is no better way to start the day reading these comments
Every comment we receive is invaluable for us and I would like to tell you that all the reviews are considered and studyed by our Guest Experience and Operations department
Thanks!!!

Luis Torrico
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    291
    187
    68
    40
See reviews for
123
398
22
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

A good value hotel in the heart of San Sebastian, less than a minute from the beach and a 5 minute walk into the old quarter of San Sebastian with its pintxos bars, restaurants, gothic buildings and traditional Spanish buildings.

The hotel is under refurbishment, however, we did not notice any noise nor were we inconvenienced by these works, the restaurant was open for breakfast, I don't believe there was a bar open during our stay, (there are plenty to chose from in the vicinity, so this was not a problem).

The rooms are fairly compact, but very clean and tidy, (no worn carpet as other reviewers have reported, laminated floor through out room) the bathroom also, not the largest but again spotlessly clean.

There is sufficient wardrobe space for a long weekend's worth of clothes and the room is equipped with tea/coffee/kettle and also a mini bar.

The staff we met were very friendly and helpful, directing us to the best restaurants/bars and also booking taxi's for us when we needed them.

I will be coming back next year to San Sebastian again to watch Real Sociedad v Barca, (hopefully with a better result) and also enjoy the fantastic town that is San Sebastian and I will be staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: For fantastic city/sea views, ask for a room as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hello Gary T.,

I would like to start off thanking you for your nice words! We really like to take advantage of these opportunities to greet you once again and thank you for keeping counting on us!

Thanks!!!!

Luis Torrico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here last year for three nights. We loved it. We had never been to spain before and understand that san seb can be a bit expensive but we believe this hotel was worth it. It was a great location, not far from the beach and walking distance to old town where the best food/ tapas is to be found. We enjoyed staying here very much.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manns16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Hello Manns16,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel whilst visiting our city. I am grateful to you for your comments via Tripadvisor, as we wish very much to meet all of our customers’ expectations.
I would very much wish to see you once again in the hotel, and it would give me immense pleasure to welcome you personally.
Yours sincerely

Luis Torrico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel advertises as "climate controlled" yet with 80 F weather they won't turn on the air conditioning. I checked out after 1 night and they wouldn't refund me for the other 2 nights I'd already paid for.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank SFBayAreaIntrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Hello SFBayAreaIntrepid,

My name is Luis Torrico, I’m general manager at Tryp San Sebastián Orly.

Firstly, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel whilst visiting our city.

I am grateful to you for your comments via tripadvisor, as we wish very much to meet all of our customers’ expectations.

I bitterly regret the inconveniences we have caused. We wish to let you know that we will be doing everything we can to resolve these matters, but, as I explained during your stay, the weather during these two days were absolutely strange in San Sebastián. The air conditioning is off in San Sebastian since early October, and that average temperatures are low in northern Spain.
At this time it is normal to switch on the heating.

Finally, I trust that this incident will in no way dissuade you from visiting our hotel again in the future, at which time I give you my personal assurance that your stay will be totally satisfactory.

Yours sincerely

Luis Torrico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels

Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

San Sebastián is a grand and popular place and thus prices can be high. However, the Tryp Orly represents excellent value for money; it's a proper, four star hotel with three star prices and the location is fabulous, just a stone's throw from the seafront. The bedroom was well-appointed, though the walls were a bit scuffed in places, and had a lovely sea view. The bathroom, while small, was good quality. There were free afternoon soft drinks and coffee in the foyer - a very nice touch - and the breakfast was generous and stylishly presented. This is an excellent hotel for the price and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Hello Courtly,

My name is Luis Torrico. I'm general manager at Tryp San Sebastián Orly.

Thank you very much Courtly! There is no better way to start the day reading these comments.

We look forward to your next visit to San Sebastián. Don´t forget to contact us in advance and we will try to give you one of our junior suites, at the top of the hotel so you can try them

Thanks!!!!

Luis Torrico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Spain
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

This hotel is really close to the beach, and therefore is located in an excellent place to discover the old part of San Sebastian or simply walk by the seaside. Although it has been refurbished, there are still some elements which remind you that the hotel is not new (elevators); even facing the beach and by a road, rooms are quiet...except for the noise coming from other rooms, I could hear my neighbour's shower really close.
The personnel was really friendly, there is free wifi and the breakfast buffet was very excellent, one of the best I have recently seen. All this at a reasonable cost, which is always important.
On the con's side: the hotel doesn't have any kind fitness facility (just in case you can't enjoy a run by the beach because of weather) and the parking was really expensive

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high as possible, and facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy_iq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Hello Andy_iq:

Another pleasant comment!!!!!.

It is very important to us this gift to our daily effort.

Thank you again! You are our dream come true.

Luis Torrico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Picked this hotel due to location, reviews and availability. We were very happy with our stay from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. When we arrived the check in desk was a little overwhelmed with a number of demanding groups, but the young man at the desk was never phased and very helpful. Our room was a superior suite at the front of the hotel with great views over the beach and the old town. Room was clean and quiet. Never had a problem with anything. Had the breakfast buffet, great selection and lovely, attentive staff. Finally a big thank-you to the young man on the front desk who would always find us a glass of milk for tea in our room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first level are smoking , all other levels are non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamslowee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Hello Iamslowee,

I would like to introduce myself. My name is Luis Torrico. I'm am General Manager at Tryp San Sebastián Orly.

What a lovely message!!!!!

We love you so much that there are no words to describe it, just actions to prove it. We look forward to see you again.

Thanks!!!!!!

Luis Torrico
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,552 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#14 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel

Property: Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
Address: Plaza de Zaragoza 4, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Melia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Orly Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Tryp San Sebastián Donostia
Tryp Hotel Orly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing