We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

If you see the hotel only from outside you would never take a room in this hotel. BUT sometimes it is good to look a bit deeper; location is great, room (at least 406) was better than ok, view was fantastic, and the breakfast was smallish but good and sufficient. Parking underground was a plus in that location.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello Kary A.,

My name is Luis Torrico and I am the hotel manager. It was a pleasure to hear from you.Thank you for your kind comments which I shall share with my colleagues.

It would be a pleasure to see you on your next visit.
Your sincerely

Luis Torrico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    310
    201
    73
    45
See reviews for
131
425
23
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey U.K.
Level Contributor
221 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We arrived in San Sebastian without any hotel booking as we were on a road trip through France and Spain. Looked online at a few hotels when arrived and 1st choice was fully booked. Asking the Tryp if they had any rooms with a nice view, he smiled and said we certainly have. The view from the room was absolutely amazing, my pictures do not do it justice. We had two balconies and such an amazing view. The room wasn't 5* but the view definitely was. Breakfast was good and there was also parking underground, although you had to pay for this which isn't unusual in a city. The Tryp was in a perfect position for walking to all the fantastic Pintxos restaurants which were amazing.

Room Tip: If you can afford to get the suite right on the corner at the top, its well worth the extra money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello Lynda&Gary,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel whilst visiting our city. I am grateful to you for your comments via Tripadvisor, as we wish very much to meet all of our customers’ expectations

I would very much wish to see you once again in the hotel, and it would give me immense pleasure to welcome you personally.
Yours sincerely

Luis Torrico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I booked a 4 night stay through expedia at the Tryp Orly hotel recently for my honeymoon for my wife and I. Unfortunatly my mother whom was supposed to take care of our 11month old son during this time fell ill so we had to bring him along. Due to this our next set of plans had to change.I let the lady at the front desk know this and asked if it was possible to cancel the last night of my booking as we had to leave earlier to catch an early flight to different location. She assured me this would not be a problem and just to let her know. I checked flights and hotels for the next location and i was able to obtain some last min. I saw her again before booking the flights as I wanted to ensure it was still possible to cancel the last night. She assured me again that this wasn't a problem. So i booked the next set of flights and hotel.

I went the day before i was supposed to check out to make sure again (THIRD TIME NOW) that everything was processed. She wasnt there but her co-workers were at the desk, a bald man with glasses. I mentioned the room and he abruptly shook his head and said no cancellation, i explained that he was mistaken and that i had spoken to his co worker and to give her a call. I told him that i had booked my flights and hotel based on the infomation i had gotten from her. He refused to call her and said "too bad" no cancellation in an extremely rude manner with absolutley no customer service what so ever. He wouldnt even have a conversation about it. I of course became mad as I had just booked my flights and couldnt not cancel them now, a verbal argument followed at which point another co worker - the bellhop - tries to fight me while I am holding my 11 month son in my arms (SERIOUSLY!!!) I tell them to call the police but they do not.

I left anyways but I can tell you that I will never stay at a TRYP hotel chain again and i will tell every famliy member, friend or aquitance the same. Hands down the worst hotel i have ever stayed at. I am sure the GM Luis will follow this review with his generic copy and paste reply as he has done for all previous reviews. Besides the location (which is good) , the hotel rooms are extremely small, the hotel is need of extreme renos (paint flaking off, baseboards and railings missing etc)...... Avoid if you can!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Mr. Frank T.

I am Luis Torrico, the General Manager of the Tryp Hotel in San Sebastian.

Firstly I would like to express our regret not being able to satisfy your expectations and that your stay in our hotel was not pleasant. Every employee in this hotel is working daily with the solely aim of making an enjoyable stay for all our clients.

Concerning your reservation problems, as stated in the hotel, you confirmed and booked this in Expedia, prepaid and with no refund conditions. We are not in the position to cancel it or refund it. It should be Expedia your first contact for these issues.

With regard to the other comments I would like to point out that we all need to follow basic behaviour rules, which as you might remember, wasn't the case. Independently of our efforts to offer a good service, we can not accept certain conducts.

We regret again the inconveniences and I am at your disposal for further clarification.

Best regards,

Luis Torrico

Director (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Great hotel, great location, clean. The lobby was very nice. The rooms were of decent size and very clean and updated. The location is just across the street from the beach and a short, short walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hello Lindsey G,

Thank you for your excellent rating!!!

We hope you visit us again soon, and this time instead of working you could be able to live the city to the fullest with your family and/or friends

Regards,

Luis Torrico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Location is the best part apart of this hotel but the street noise was quite loud late at night. The hotel lacks life but has nothing really wrong with it. It felt like we were checking into a public library.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohfenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hello Rohfenton,

Every comment we receive is invaluable for us and I would like to tell you that all the reviews are considered and studyed by our Guest Experience and Operations department.

These comments encourage us to continue carrying out our daily work and provide our passionate travelers visiting the city, unforgettable experience

Thanks!!!

Luis Torrico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on a mini-tour of Northern Spain. The hotel is less than 100m from the promenade and beach and approx 10 mins walk to the old town. We paid extra for a sea view - which means a higher floor - but it was well worth it to open the curtains on the morning and admire the view. We found it a bit strange that a hotel of this quality did not have a bar or a restaurant and the breakfast - while good - was a bit like a Holiday Inn Express! On arrival we were given a list of tapas bars which they recommended and the ones we tried were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hello Dbyu,

These comments encourage us to continue carrying out our daily work and provide our passionate travelers visiting the city, unforgettable experiences.

Our bar is being renovated at the moment and will be ready soon.

Thanks!!!!

Luis Torrico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Well located, close to beach and old town. Hotel does not deserve 4 stars, not even 3. Reception staff were friendly and helpful but hotel was so disappointing. First of all it only has hotel rooms on a few floors of a building much in need of refurbishment, concrete and characterless. The elevator was tiny, there was no bar, no room service except a pizza take-away card. The breakfast area made for a crowding around food area. Breakfast items were dried-up by heat from a toaster which stayed heated all of breakfast duration. All in all very poor value, would not recommend under any circumstance.

Room Tip: Just don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hello Greenbid,

We are sorry that your perception has been negative this time and we would like to tell you that we work every day to maintain a spirit of teamwork and always give a close traetment to our passionate travelers.

Thanks for your comments.

Luis Torrico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#15 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,701 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,508 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Husa Europa
Hotel Husa Europa
#27 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel

Property: Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
Address: Plaza de Zaragoza 4, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Melia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Orly Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Tryp San Sebastián Donostia
Tryp Hotel Orly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing