We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT hotel in San Sebastien”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GREAT hotel in San Sebastien”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had an ocean-view room for 4 nights in early Oct 2013. WONDERFUL view, quiet room, very clean, comfy bed. This is a very nice hotel with extraordinary access to the beach, the old city and downtown. My only complaint is the Wi-Fi ... very slow, had to log in with username and PW every time I logged in. At the prices this hotel charges, I would expect really great WiFi throughout. Would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CP2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,529
    989
    188
    48
    32
See reviews for
461
1,598
78
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We chose the right week - between the film festival ending the the weather turning cooler and showery. Treated ourselves to one of the new attic rooms with a big terrace overlooking the bay. Expensive ( especially for the Saturday night !) but worth every cent. Views were amazing - the real wow factor ! Room very comfortable with very big and comfortable bed.
Great location on the beach with a boardwalk in front of the hotel so great for people watching and no traffic - except for cyclists and runners in the well maintained cycle lanes that run right along the front. Room spotless and hotel team very friendly and doing a great job. Will definitely return !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed in room 711 for two nights which has a huge deck with the most incredible views of La Concha de Playa. Service was very good and the breakfast in La Brasserie is fantastic. We absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomnormp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel is all about the position and the views. If you have a sea view room you have a wonderful view across the beach at San Sebastian. The hotel is expensive and the rooms are small for the price. The reception service was amateuerish on arrival at 14.30 we were told that the concierge was away until 5pm. This meant car-parking(off-site) not available and help with luggage had to be requested from trainee reception staff. restuarant is good value and staff very pleasant.

Room Tip: Sea view room is essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

When looking for a hotel in San Sebastian, we found a lot of hotels in our normal price range with very mixed reviews. We then decided to treat ourselves to the Hotel de Londres at €154/night as this had some great reviews on TripAdvisor.

The hotel itself is in a good location, close to both the old town and the main beach of the city. The room itself was pretty standard, though did have a nice bathroom and a big balcony overlooking the square in front of the hotel. It also has a lovely big bar overlooking the seafront.

Initial feelings were that the hotel was quite nice, though probably not worth what we paid, but without being able to compare with other hotels in the area, I gave it the benefit of the doubt.

Even though our room was above the reception area, I found the Wifi connection quite flaky, and when it was working it could be quite slow. This was slightly annoying, but not a big issue on a leisure trip where I was just checking Facebook, Twitter and the like. This would have been a much greater issue if staying for business.

Later in the evening when in bed, we discovered that when the people in the room above had a shower or used the toilet, we could hear the plumbing as clearly as if we were in our own bathroom.

On the final night of our stay, we noticed a pool of brown liquid on the floor of our bathroom. (hopefully containing rust rather than anything nastier) This had come from the ceiling and presumably a consequence of the noises heard from the bathroom above.

I happened to mention this when checking out, but the receptionist didn't seem too bothered about it. Maybe a translation issue.

I fully appreciate that I may have had a completely different experience of the hotel in a different room, but for a hotel of this price, I was expecting much better.

If you get a good deal on the hotel, it is probably worth checking it out, however if paying premium prices, there are possibly better options in the city.

Room Tip: Avoid room 117.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Service was excellent thanks to Anabelle and Christina at the front desk, who took special care of us and helped us with a day trip to Pamplona and other activities. We had a great corner room and lots of privacy. The hotel makes you feel that you have stepped 100 years into the past with its charm and marvelous location. Will return soon, hopefully

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jdfbu96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Ok, perhaps an exaggeration. I haven't been everywhere, but I'm fairly well travelled and San Sebastion is one of the best places I've been. Our sixth floor seaside room was so nice I didn't want to leave. The hotel is in the heart of the city close to everything. The staff is helpful, hell, just plain adorable. And I don't mean just the beautiful lead desk clerk or her young and equally fetching trainee, even the guy who parked our car was adorable. The room was clean, large and well appointed. We splurged on the oceanfront room at 194 euros just after the film festival. Given the location and the amenities this was a steal. Trying staying in New York or San Francisco in a similar quality room for this amount. We were treated very very by the staff here and we did not look like glitterati. English is spoken if need be and we were made to feel welcome. I would gladly stay a week at the Londres if finances allowed. Forget Hawaii, San Sebastion is the place and the Londres is the hotel. Really.

Room Tip: We had an ocean front room (607) and it was well worth it. Yes, it was a splurge even in almost low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,704 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,552 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,702 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
811 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
#23 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra

Property: Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Address: Calle de Zubieta, 2, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Abba Hotels - Londres y de Inglaterra)
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Londres y de Ingleterra is a luxury 4 star boutique hotel located right in front of the beach of the La Concha bay of San Sebastian - Donostia. Our beautiful location on the Basque Country coast and comfortable hotel rooms with stunning sea view makes the hotel perfect for a romantic weekend escape or relaxing summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing