We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would definitely stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Perfect location. Such helpful staff. Very comfortable beds and spotlessly clean everywhere. And the seaview....stunning! Car parking service provided. Our third visit to San Sebastián and the third hotel we have stayed in. If there are further visits in the future this will definitely be our choice of hotel.

Room Tip: A seaview is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,143 - 1,149 of 3,063 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

A good friend and me travel to a new city/location every year, these trips are normally revolved around great food, wine and some culture.

This year it was San Sebastian. We arrived on the Easyjet flight into Bilbao, from there we tool the bus for €16.50 to San Sebastian Donostia, this journey was extremely safe, relaxing and only took just over an hour, the scenery was stunning and greener and more mountainous that we thought it would be.

On arrival at Donostia bus stop we took a 20 minute walk toward the Bay, this was a pleasant and easy walk (GPS).

On arrival at the hotel our check in was fast, stress free, this was to be mantra for the weekend!

We stayed in room 406 which was clean, a good size and had a fantastically beautiful view of Concha beach, the old town, the island and the surrounding natural beauty- this is a great way to start your weekend.

One top tip is that on your return journey to Bilbao from San Sebastian, you need to buy your ticket from the Pesa ticket office 200m from the bus departure point. However if like us you assumed you could buy on board like on the outbound bus, you would think that this would cause them to leave without us, NO as with all the people we met in San Seb, the bus driver waited and even came to the shop to check we were ok in getting out ticket- this made him leave 10 minutes later. We thought would this ever happen in London- NO is the obviously answer!

The rest of our time in San Sebastian was spent eating, drinking and soaking up this wonderful, hidden gem of a city.

I plan to individually review each restaurant as they desire that recognition.


We didn't spend much time in the hotel but the room was great, the breakfast was delicious and the bar was friendly. Oh and the location was incredible! 10/10 for that!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RTWFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Great location by the boardwalk and sea, big nice rooms, huge bed, nice friendly service - I recommend the hotel and will be back. Next time with at seaview. And San Sebastian is perfect for a weekend-stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StineLolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This hotel is the only place to stay in San Sebastian. It is right on the beach and walking distance to everything. The tapas bars nearby are great. As far as the hotel, I have stayed in nicer hotels with better service but you can't beat this location. Also, the hotel gives a visitor that you are staying in a very upper class hotel. We only had one dinner in the dining room and is was very good.

One negative: If you are paying over $400, why must you pay for towel rental for the beach. It seems to me that someone who can afford a hotel this expensive is not going to steal a beach towel. It is very tacky to ask a guest to pay a towel rental fee when you are paying 11 euro for a drink.

Would stay again for sure but bring my own beach towel.

Room Tip: Must have a water view and bring your own beach towel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momlookingforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We decided to pay the extra money and booked a room overlooking the beach - it was an excellent decision. While the hotel itself is very nice old style building with pleasant rooms, the view to the bay is what makes a stay here a standout. The views during the day and as the sun sets are spectacular. The room itself is comfortable and appeared to be recently upgraded. Twin beds are pushed together for a more comfortable sleep but they are actually made up with separate sheets and quilts. There is a lot of activity along the promenade during the day and at night but with the doors closed we couldn't hear anything. Otherwise, it is very pleasant to leave the doors open and listen to the buskers along the seafront. We stayed for five nights so the staff left a card for us to indicate whether we wanted our sheets changed on a daily basis. We did not think this necessary. However, we found that the sheets were sprayed with a very strong smelling scent which we found a bit overpowering. Easily sorted out by asking at reception for the sheets not to be sprayed. The reception staff were very helpful - we were running a little late for a restaurant reservation and they did not hesitate to call ahead and let the restaurant know.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for a room with a beach view if you can - we stayed in room 508 which is lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I was unlucky that my room did smell of tobaco. After a call to the reception, I was given an even larger room within no time! Excellent problem-handling.
Quality and selection of the breakfast buffet is excellent.
Very good car parking service.
I'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Only a short stay, but I enjoyed it. Perfect room, with a perfect bathroom. We have only spend the night, no time for breakfast. I am sure that would have been excellent to. If I return to San Sebastián I for sure will book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marijke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,850 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,472 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,956 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Niza
Hotel Niza
#10 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
688 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra

Address: Calle de Zubieta, 2, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Abba Hotels - Londres y de Inglaterra)
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £80 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Londres y de Ingleterra is a luxury 4 star boutique hotel located right in front of the beach of the La Concha bay of San Sebastian - Donostia. Our beautiful location on the Basque Country coast and comfortable hotel rooms with stunning sea view makes the hotel perfect for a romantic weekend escape or relaxing summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing