We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The location is the best thing about this hotel. The service was good, wifi functioned well. The hotel is also child-friendly. The views from the sea side rooms are great. I would recommend it to someone traveling to San Sebastián.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdrNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElenaEstomba, General Manager at Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear kdrNewYork

Thank you so much for recommending our hotel to the tripadvisor community!

Look forward to welcome you back in San Sebastian.

Kind regards,

Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

907 - 913 of 2,867 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hotel Londres etc etc is a really nice hotel in San Sebastian. It is probably one of the best and is certainly in the best position of any hotel round the bay.... hotels round the main bay are few and far between so unless you can find a unit/flat etc then there is none better than Hotel Londres if you want a 4 or 5 star hotel.

We booked for two days in a room with a view (203 but not sure). The room is great and the view is as good as it gets. Price was good at 203 euros for one night and 177 euros for the other. We booked directly through the hotel as (being former hotel owners) we hate having to pay 10% commission to the agents.

Unfortunately on the first day my wife had problems which ended up with hospitalisation for two days... Hotel Londres was excellent as they called the taxi which took my wife to the hospital so no problems there.

Obviously we had to extend our stay and as Hotel Londres is pretty damn good I asked if there were rooms for us. Yes they said but we will have to change rooms. Absolutely no problem there as this is a popular hotel and we were delighted they still had a room for us.

The room? Same floor, opposite side. I think it is room 2011. There is a huge balcony looking over the back which was really nice (beware incidentally of the morons who chuck cigarettes from higher levels which lands on your balcony.... they're probably French.... heh heh heh.

The room is a disabled room with electronic buttons everywhere.

Here you go: Open the front door and enter into the alcove. The door is closed. Notice that there are buttons. Press one and the door to the main bedroom opens. Go in... the door immediately closes behind you.... aaargh... notice there is another button and press it. Door opens and you go back into the alcove..... the door then immediately closes and you are stuck in a 3 metre square area with all doors closed. Press all buttons in sight. Toilet door then opens. In you go and sit down to work out what buttons do what. Press button and toilet door opens and bedroom door opens for a few seconds then closes.... too late you b..s..t....r...ds. Try again you diddies.

Over 24 hours we never did work out which buttons did what.... I think we are reasonably intelligent but neither of us ever worked out which button did what..... gods help what a disabled person would do.

I do accept that the hotel was full. The room iself was still of a high standard. It did after all include an iPad, free bottled water and various other extras including the balcony but....

The staff did know that my wife was in hospital with heart problems and I honestly cannot understand why they put us into this room rather than telling us that it may not be suitable for someone who had just returned from hospital and could be a tad stressed.

Mind you... it is highly possible that no one else has complained about the room and Hotel Londres just doesn't know about it.

Room Tip: The hotel is as close as you could get to the beachfront. Pay extra if you want a view but it doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClashBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is nice, but nothing special. The best is the location in the central parts of San Sebastian and the fantastic seaview if you got a room with that.

The breakfast is big with a lots to choose between, but not with any quality. It's expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EliMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had 4 nights in a beautiful new 7th floor room. The finish is of a very high standard. The room was spacious even with the sofa bed in use for our daughter. The private terrace and spa were well used luxuries. This hotel is in a great location on the beach and 5 minutes walk to old town. Concierge particularly Leira provided outstanding service and the Pintxos tour was a highlight. All staff were professional and extremely considerate of non-Spanish speakers. We would love to return

Room Tip: 7th floor has excellent large new rooms all with sea view and private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

thank goodness! This is what hotels used to be like - charming, courteous and attentive staff, just fun to be in the lobby. The location, with access to the old town and pintxo bars, is superb. Order a gin and tonic in the bar and see how a cocktail should be made.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alwayswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed again at the Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra for 2 nights. Reception staff are welcoming and friendly and the rooms were very clean and well presented. Location is excellent for both the beach and the town. Can't really say much more as it's just a great hotel and it's exceptionally clean!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaVictoria1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Super hotel in an even better position rooms spotless room facilities more than adequate .Staff at reception extremely helpful . The view from the bedroom was incredible if you stay at this hotel you must get a bedroom with a sea view.

Room Tip: Must have a sea view well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,760 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,587 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,784 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
#23 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra

Address: Calle de Zubieta, 2, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Abba Hotels - Londres y de Inglaterra)
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £93 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Londres y de Ingleterra is a luxury 4 star boutique hotel located right in front of the beach of the La Concha bay of San Sebastian - Donostia. Our beautiful location on the Basque Country coast and comfortable hotel rooms with stunning sea view makes the hotel perfect for a romantic weekend escape or relaxing summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing