We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonder view from San Sebastian”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My family stayed here for 6 nights in July. We are 2 adults and 2 boys, 6 and 13 years old.
We got the family room which is basically 2 rooms with sliding doors between them, a king bed on one side and a pull out sofa on the other. The room was very nice with a fantastic view of the bay. The room had 2 basically unusable balconies and 1 nice modern bathroom. We did not eat in the hotel, so cannot comment on the food. The bar area was very nice and busy most of the time. There are great restaurants within walking distance in the old part of town.
The beach was lovely, especially at low tide, when the water went out about 1/4 mile and it was easy for my older child to swim out to a raft. The only problem was that at both low tide and high tide there was a lot of trash on the beach that washed in from the ocean. There was also a fair amount of trash in the water that you had to dodge when swimming. The city did try and clean up the beach every morning, but there is so much trash this is very difficult

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor overlooking the ocean. These are newly done. The Wifi was very margina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,913)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

909 - 915 of 2,914 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Visited it for second time in 26-30 July. Right on the beach front ( conca beach), a few minutes walk from the old city where all the pintsos bars and restaurants are, excellent sea view, well furnished and functional, very good breakfast and professional personel. strongly recommend it.
Due to high demand prices go really high during the heart of high season !!!
The only draw back was Wi-Fi, stayed in room 307, really poor, almost inaccessible

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ioannis_karkanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Londres y de Inglaterra is a wonderfully classic hotel and is so strategically located - it sits big and tall right in front of the centre of La Concha beach. Only Plaza Zubiri stands between it and the Paseo de la Concha beach walk. It's really an imposing edifice. On the opposite side, it sits next to Calle San Marcial, which is the beginning of the pedestrianised commercial streets with its oh-so-may shops. Clearly, the location is unbeatable.

The British theme is used consistently throughout the hotel, from the small lobby to the bedrooms. There's a large bar on the way to breakfast which would be reassuring for everyone looking for a pub-like atmosphere. The guest lounge area is full of armchairs and deep cushion sofas plus replicas of sailing ships, against theme-consistent. All the cabinets, doors, and chair are in Edwardian oak style with extensive brass trimmings. My wife especially appreciated the eight-foot wide clothes cabinet - half of it was shelves while the other half was devoted to hanging clothes. There's an antechamber between the front door and the inner door where you find the T&B - it's reassuring to have two doors between you and the outside world. The toilets have two washbasins, a plus for couples. The expensively-monogrammed towels are plush.

Breakfast was very good, with eggs cooked regularly and wider range of fruits than usual. It's an elegant affair with floor to ceiling windows and attentive waiters.

One major compliant is the noise dampening. We could hear noises from the corridors and from the adjoining bedrooms. I suspect the walls aren't thick enough. The other complaint is that the housekeeping staff tend to park their carts and vacuum cleaners in front of the rooms for a great deal of time - during the day we were there, they were lined up across the corridor from morning till afternoon. That is simply not being discreet, especially for a "British" hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JGR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Nice hotel in a great location. The lady at the concierge desk was extremely friendly and helpful. It's like she knew us all her life. She even went to the trouble of calling a restaurant friend of hers to see if he could cook us paella because no restaurants did proper paella in San Sebastian (the best is in Barcelona she tells me). She couldn't get hold of him but the gesture was nice. She also helped us sort out trouble with our hire car who over charged our credit card.

Room Tip: ask for a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cinlou76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in an ocean view room overlooking La Concha. The view was fantastic.
Bed was super comfy and the room was a good size.
Loved having our pre dinner drinks in the bar downstairs overlooking the beach- staff in the bar and at reception were excellent. Would definitely recommend and stay again. Good value.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book a ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a great hotel. The sea view from our attic room with terrace was spectacular and worth the extra money. The room has a large terrace with a table, chairs and lounge chairs great for watching the sunset. The bathroom is luxurious. The shower cabin is very large, the water pressure is
strong and I also appreciated the handle bar.
The beautiful La Concha beach is right outside the hotel so you don't have to drive and worry about parking as with other beaches in the area. The hotel provides plush beach towels free of charge. The service was outstanding and I would like to thank the staff for truly remarkable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ganki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here for one night with my wife and son recently. Got a great room overlooking the beach (#214). The sofa turned into a bed for my son and we still had lots of space. Very friendly and helpful staff all through the hotel. Hotel has a Victorian feel without seeming too dated. Didn't eat here, but did have a reasonably priced, industrial sized gin and tonic at the patio bar. We all agreed that we will stay here on our next visit to the city.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank malibuirishmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,792 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,396 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,844 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
853 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Monte Igueldo
Mercure Monte Igueldo
#19 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra

Address: Calle de Zubieta, 2, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Abba Hotels - Londres y de Inglaterra)
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £84 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Londres y de Ingleterra is a luxury 4 star boutique hotel located right in front of the beach of the La Concha bay of San Sebastian - Donostia. Our beautiful location on the Basque Country coast and comfortable hotel rooms with stunning sea view makes the hotel perfect for a romantic weekend escape or relaxing summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing