We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful team”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, wonderful team”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

The beach at the doorstep, the Old Town a 5min stroll to the right, and the shopping scene around the corner, makes the Hotel de Londres easily the best location in town. A classically designed hotel with modern amenities, we loved our time there (especially with 7 days of sun). A special thank-you to concierge Leire, who was a fabulous host and guide, with tremendous enthusiasm and passion for her town, always given with a smile !

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElenaEstomba, General Manager at Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Lou H,

Thank you for taking time to write feedback about your good experience in our hotel. Great to read you were accompanied with the sun during your 7-days stay.

I just forwarded your thanks to our concierge Leire. This made him even smile more. Thank you!

We hope to welcome you again near in the future.

Best regards,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,457
    956
    176
    43
    26
See reviews for
427
1,533
72
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in San Sebastian after reading about what a wonderful city it was! We arrived on a wet and miserable day so our visions of the beautiful city were somewhat shattered, that is until the sun came out and you can then see what all the fuss is about but without the sunshine it is a bit dreary.

The service in the hotel was very good and it is in a good location, very central, on the very busy La Concha bay and everything is within walking distance. But it's worth noting that the city is small so if you stayed near some of the other beaches or old town you can get around the city quite easily.

The room was nice, very clean and spacious enough but I didn't feel this hotel justified it's price which was roughly 280/290 Euro per night plus 20 Euro per night for parking and we didn't have a sea view or breakfast. The bathroom was a good size with a bath and 2 sinks but it is dated. The bed was massive and very comfortable. They didn't have any tea or coffee making facilities in the room which was a shame, although they do have a fridge with a small selection of drinks and snacks at an additional cost.

The foyer and bar area are quite dated. They have a balcony area on the 7th floor (city side) which is very modern with nice seating but they don't have a bar so you have to bring drinks up from the ground floor. Part of the balcony is uncovered but it doesn't have sun beds or seats and would be the perfect place to chill out in the sun if they did. The 7th floor seems to be where the suites are and I would guess they would be amazing as this floor looks like it has been modernised compared to to the rest of the hotel.

We ate in the restaurant one lunch time as we wanted a change from pinxos (although the pinxos is amazing!) We had a Croque Monsieurs, hamburger and chips which were delicious!

The city itself is beautiful when the sun shines, there is something here for everyone, the old town is beautiful, the food is fantastic, the harbour and beach areas are stunning. I would recommend getting the funicular as the views are breathtaking at the top of the hill and on a sunny day go to the island in the centre of the bay, the sea is beautiful and although it's still swarming with people it's no where near as busy as La Concha where you can hardly see the sand with bodies!

Overall,If the rate had been 70/80 Euro less which it may be at other times of the year, then it would be a reasonable price but if I was to return I wouldn't stay here again based on price, I think you are paying for the location, which is good but as I said the city is small so it's easy to walk to La Concha from most places. Also, 5 nights here is probably too long unless you like sunbathing. You can get a good feel of the city in 2 - 3 days.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAReKh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElenaEstomba, General Manager at Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear MAReKh80,
Thank you for your positive and detailed feedback.
Let me comment one aspect.
In my opinion our bar and hall cannot be defined “dated”, I’d rather say it is classic. We have reformed that area last January. Our Hotel aim to provide our guests with the most modern facilities and services without losing the classical fashion of our over one century building.

Should you change your mind do not hesitate to contact with us directly and we will make sure the best available room is reserved for you.

Best Regards,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Nightmare trying to get into San Sebastian - eventually succeeded after several attempts over at least half an hour. No help with bags on arrival, but they did park the car for us.
Very nice double room on 5th floor with balcony, but unfortunately not big enough to have chairs on it. Amazing views over the lovely bay and beaches.
The hotel is relatively expensive, and is not top class in my opinion, but you get what you pay for -> fantastic location overlooking the beautiful bay in a stylish resort in peak holiday time.
We dined in the hotel restaurant on 2 of our 3 nights - quite pleasant, and good value set menu.
Breakfast was good, but could get a bit crowded and noisy.
San Sebastian is a really great place for a few days stay - very lively, but also with 19th century charm.

Room Tip: Do get a sea view room if your budget can stretch to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Papa_Polo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElenaEstomba, General Manager at Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Papa_Polo,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your feedback. I agree that the location is unbeatable in San Sebastian.

We hope to welcome you back to Hotel de Londres again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a room with city view, which was nice and clean. The hotel has a top terrace, unfortunately also with city view. No bar upstairs, so might as well be in our own room or go out. Distance to everything (old town, center, mountains) is very close.
The concierge (Leire) was very helpful, probably the most friendly concierge we have ever met. They also helped us book a table at one of the 3-star Michelin-restaurant in advance (btw; don't bother going there, the pintxos in town are much better!) The staff in the bar was also very friendly.

Would absolutely recommend this hotel, although it is a bit on the expensive side.

Room Tip: I am sure sea view is better than city view, but since we stayed 5 nights, we saved the whole evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaB479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElenaEstomba, General Manager at Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear LindaB479,
“Great location and standard” can I hope a better title? Thank you very much!

We look forward to welcome you back to Hotel de Londres again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borough London
Level Contributor
202 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stayed at this property for two nights with my wife and daughter and the highlight was the location of the property overlooking the beach and only 5 minutes walk from all the amazing pintxos places in the old town.
The property could be made amazing if it was thoroughly modernised. Simple issues like very poor WIFI in the rooms and rather old fashioned decor detracted from the experience.
The concierge at the hotel was extremely helpful and knowledgeable when it came to recommending the best pintxos places in town even advising of the best dishes to order in each place. In addition she offered a pintxos tour for €90 per person.
In summary this is a good hotel but could made much better if it was updated and modernised.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElenaEstomba, General Manager at Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Bill R,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I’m sorry to read that our hotel is not 100% of your taste. We have just reformed our facilities but (on purpose) we have kept the classic style of our hotel. It is a over a century building and we believe we have keep the style. I’m sorry if you had issues with the wifi. Possibly the extremely high occupancy of this époque of the year overcharged the system. We constantly work on improving the wifi serviceas we understand it to be a main requirement from our guest.

Look forward to welcome you in San Sebastian.

Best regards,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We recently spent 5 nights here and certainly feel we made an excellent choice. The location is amazing and we had the bonus of a wonderful view from our room. No proper balcony but a 'balconette' just big enough to stand on. Bigger balconies are available and if we win the lottery we'd go for one of the new penthouse rooms. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our one niggle was sometimes a long wait and slow service at the cafe area outside - more staff would have avoided this happening I think. Also the restaurant is quite small considering the number of rooms. Breakfast is over 3 hours but even so we did once have to go and wait until a table was free. The food was worth the wait, however - a huge choice and really good coffee too. I would certainly recommend the hotel and we would love to go back.

Room Tip: A sea view room is a must and I would go for at least the second floor. We had a second-floor room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElenaEstomba, General Manager at Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Marienne C,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Really appreciated your closing sentence: “I would certainly recommend the hotel and we would love to go back.”

Look forward to welcome you back then!

Best regards,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tocumwal, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

From the time we arrived it was just bliss! The hotel is just a board walk from the beach & in the middle of everything. a short stroll from the old city where the Tapas bars where amazing...my sort of eating! The rooms not over large but very comfortable, we weren't on the beach side but had a large balcony. Not that you spend much time there as there's so much to do from the beach to sightseeing, shopping & of course eating! The lounge area though not huge was plenty big enough & very comfortable & I think stylish and had great views overlooking the bay to watch magnificent sunsets and even better if you were lucking enough to get a window seat & watch the passing parade of peoples. It also had an open area just off the hotel on the board walk which was great. The restaurant looked lovely & menu delicious though we didn't eat there as the Tapas or as they say Pintox bars where amazing! Staff were friendly though bit slow bringing the next drink but they could be the aussie in me! I only wish the hotel & San Sebastian were much closer to Australia....I loved it!!

Room Tip: First floor on the street side has large balconies but no beach views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marzy2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElenaEstomba, General Manager at Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Marzy2610,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback.

Should you come back to San Seabstian we would be delighted to have you with us.

Best regards,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra

Property: Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Address: Calle de Zubieta, 2, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Abba Hotels - Londres y de Inglaterra)
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Londres y de Ingleterra is a luxury 4 star boutique hotel located right in front of the beach of the La Concha bay of San Sebastian - Donostia. Our beautiful location on the Basque Country coast and comfortable hotel rooms with stunning sea view makes the hotel perfect for a romantic weekend escape or relaxing summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing