We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension San Ignacio Centro
Toronto
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed in this pension in September. Location is incredibly good. Pension staff is friendly and helpful. Room was nice but small though enough for us, good beds with comfortable mattresses, very clean. Parking is just 2 minutes from this pension. Cafe is just next door. Pension have some breakfast arrangements with them (4 EURO complete breakfast) though we ordered continental breakfast, which is not part of the deal. Also I like that they have coffee/tea machine in reception area.
The only problem we have is absence of air conditioning. There is a fan in a room. However, if you turn fan off during the night or day, bad smell appears in a half an hour in the room. Also there is some smell in bathroom though everything is clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexLop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    34
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This Pension was a good location, about 8 minute walk to the beach and old town. We were greeted by a lovely gentlemen who showed us to our room and gave us a map to tell us where exactly we were. He was very helpful with everything. We got room 101, the room which allowed for a disable person which was good for the space. Room was basic and had a small balocny which opened out facing the Cathedral Buen Pastor which was lovely. We could hear the bells chime in the morning.

We had breakfast next door at the 2 cafes next door which did hot breakfasts of bacon and eggs or pinxtos which were both good.

This is not a place for romance or luxury, just a basic stay. The only complaint is that the bathroom smelt like sewage a bit. The scented oil sticks helped a little. So I think it was too pricey for what it was. We left it a bit late to get better accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BL_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had a great experience at this pension. It is in a great location and the reception staff speak English and were helpful in giving suggestions of what to do in the area, local wine to try and information about the local customs which made our stay in San Sebastian more interesting. The room and bathroom were modern and exceptionally clean. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We only stayed one night but will definitely go back. Room a bit small but it was such a great value...super clean and a perfect location. Most of all the staff are super. We overslept due to jet lag and they were perfectly courteous and understanding. They also gave us great recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sistereurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Booked this pension following recomendations on Trip Advisor and we were not not dissapointed. The service was friendly and informative, and the room was clean and a reasonable size. Litterally 10 minutes from the old town and close to the main Concha beach, and within strolling distance of the other one. The area around Buen Pastor square also has some good cafe's and places to eat, Its a lovely quite location.I would definatley stay here again when visiting San Sebastian.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Cathedral are quieter than the ones overlooking the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJWimpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

I had a very enjoyable stay at Pension San Ignacio Centro. The staff I spoke with could not have been nicer or more helpful. The room was very clean and the bathroom was spotless. I thought the room was good size for two people, with plenty of space, and although we had the room next to the reception area I did not hear any additional noise. We had a great sleep. It is also in a cute square with very nice local restaurants and cafe, with the one around the corner with the loveliest lady running it! Great location, we walked from the bus station and then it was another easy 10min stroll to the beach. The Old Town is only about 15mins walking away. The Pension is on the 1st floor but there is a lift if you need it. I would recommend the pension and I would absolutely stay there again when I return to San Sebastian.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnBoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We have stayed at this pension twice now, and can heartily recommend it to other travellers. Juan and the team are fantastic hosts who always make you feel most welcome. The location is great being very central in the historic cathedral plaza. The rooms have a modern decor and are always clean and tidy. Reasonable room rates. We'll definitely be back !!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pintxo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#14 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Fany
Pension Fany
#30 of 76 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
A Room In The City
A Room In The City
#1 of 88 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pension Garate
Pension Garate
#19 of 76 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Loaldia
Loaldia
#12 of 88 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pension Casa Nicolasa
Pension Casa Nicolasa
#1 of 76 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension San Ignacio Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension San Ignacio Centro

Property: Pension San Ignacio Centro
Address: Plaza del Buen Pastor, 18, 20005 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension San Ignacio Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Pension San Ignacio Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing