We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay in San Sebastian”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension San Ignacio Centro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was our first time staying in a pension and we learned quite quickly that a pension is not staffed 24 hours a day. This meant we had to plan somethings in advance, such as indicate the time we would arrive and leave. The staff are nevertheless very helpful and accommodating to have someone around when needed. The pension does not serve breakfast, but this was not a problem as the pension has a deal with the cafe next door.

The pension is in a great location, right next to the cathedral. It's a short walk through the new town to the old town. On the way there are plenty of shops, restaurants and cafes.

The rooms are clean and efficient. The beds were comfortable and we slept well each night. We had two rooms, one was on the street side and the other was on the cathedral side. The cathedral side is much more quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms on the cathedral side are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lars J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

This pension is centrally located, right next to the cathedral. It's a short walk to the old town, la Concha beach, and to Gros. The rooms are simple and clean. The beds were very comfortable and we slept well the 3 nights of our stay. Our room was on the street side and there was some noise from cars passing by, but this did not bother us. We wouldn't mind staying here again as it is good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lars J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Javier is worth his weight in gold. He made our 2 night stay just lovely. Our room (102) was spotless and very comfortable, balcony door overlooked cathedral, just perfect. Very close to everything, 2 restaurants four doors away. The weather was our only complaint, everything else was fine. We will return on our way back from Barcelona and Madrid.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank nolypoly45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This place is difficult to find as it does not front on a street but on an interior courtyard facing the church. We circled the block many times and finally had to ask directions. When we finally arrived, the place was locked with no way to get in. After waiting quite puzzled, the owner finally showed up to check us in. The entrance lobby is unlit, dark and foreboding. The stairs to the second floor room are dark and rickety. There's a small elevator only big enough for one person and their bag - a couple requires two trips. We saw no fire exit except the narrow stairs. In case of a fire you would be trapped on the upper floor. Our room was dark and the only window opened onto a dark, damp interior well. No air conditioning and no circulation from the window. A cheap electric fan provided the only air circulation. The room was small and cramped. The "desk" was an 18" x 12" piece of plywood attached to the wall in the corner. The room was not clean and we found long black hairs everywhere (my wife is a blond) indicating that the room had not been vacuumed recently. The bed sheet did not fit the bed and the corner pulled away during the night and left me sleeping directly on the 2-year old mattress. No mattress pad. Draw your own conclusions! The pictures of this hotel on the internet border on gross misrepresentation. Needless to say, we would never return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timmy232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed in this pension in September. Location is incredibly good. Pension staff is friendly and helpful. Room was nice but small though enough for us, good beds with comfortable mattresses, very clean. Parking is just 2 minutes from this pension. Cafe is just next door. Pension have some breakfast arrangements with them (4 EURO complete breakfast) though we ordered continental breakfast, which is not part of the deal. Also I like that they have coffee/tea machine in reception area.
The only problem we have is absence of air conditioning. There is a fan in a room. However, if you turn fan off during the night or day, bad smell appears in a half an hour in the room. Also there is some smell in bathroom though everything is clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexLop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This Pension was a good location, about 8 minute walk to the beach and old town. We were greeted by a lovely gentlemen who showed us to our room and gave us a map to tell us where exactly we were. He was very helpful with everything. We got room 101, the room which allowed for a disable person which was good for the space. Room was basic and had a small balocny which opened out facing the Cathedral Buen Pastor which was lovely. We could hear the bells chime in the morning.

We had breakfast next door at the 2 cafes next door which did hot breakfasts of bacon and eggs or pinxtos which were both good.

This is not a place for romance or luxury, just a basic stay. The only complaint is that the bathroom smelt like sewage a bit. The scented oil sticks helped a little. So I think it was too pricey for what it was. We left it a bit late to get better accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BL_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had a great experience at this pension. It is in a great location and the reception staff speak English and were helpful in giving suggestions of what to do in the area, local wine to try and information about the local customs which made our stay in San Sebastian more interesting. The room and bathroom were modern and exceptionally clean. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
1.3 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,469 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pension San Ignacio
Pension San Ignacio
#54 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3,059 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,846 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension San Ignacio Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension San Ignacio Centro

Address: Plaza del Buen Pastor, 18, 20005 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £36 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension San Ignacio Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pension San Ignacio Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing