We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice get-away place”
Review of Hotel Nicol's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Nicol's
Reviewed 12 January 2009

The room is nice – clean, spacious, quiet, comfy + our room’s balcony faces the sea; shower is nice too; they have a built-in restaurant and the set menu for dinner of three course costs about 13Euro (not incl. tax, incl. drinks though); parking – free; in the lobby there’s free internet; I also like the family-friendly environment on its premises.
I just want to highlight the location.
We were driving around in Spain and read from the reviews here that it’s very difficult to find parking in the city centre and if you do it would involve car parking that is not cheap, so we wanted to book somewhere a bit outta the centre and with free parking.
Hotel Nicol’s some 3km west of the Ondarreta Beach up on Mount Igueldo in a very quiet area. We initially wanted to leave the car at the hotel and take the bus – there’s a #16 bus and B7 connecting this area with the centre, but found the bus stop was 10 min walk away from the hotel, so we took the car down towards the centre and parked in a residential area off the Ondarreta Beach for free, and from there we walked to the Parte Vieja (old quarter). This worked on both days during our stay in San Sebastian, but of course this is the winter time and the low season may allow this and it can easily be a different picture in high season.
In general, if you have a car, Hotel Nicol’s is a good choice. If you’re not sure about driving down to the centre and trying your luck with parking in the centre, you can always leave the car at the hotel and take the bus (sorry not sure about the frequency – better check with the hotel directly).

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Shuang Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2008

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Nicol's as part of a tour of North West Spain, scouting for future holiday destinations. We stayed at two other hotels later in the week in different destinations but they did not live up to the value and service of Nicol's but were twice as expensive. The hotel is a 10 minute car or bus ride from the sophisticated city of San Sebastian and on high cliffs in peaceful rural surroundings, so an excellent place to unwind if on a business trip or a value for money holiday stay. Free parking (very important in this part of Spain) and well tended grounds with outside seating were a pleasure. The very warm welcome from all the staff made this hotel a cut above the others we stayed at. We were made to feel treasured guests and a good advert for the friendliness of the Spanish, staff spoke English but made me feel so at home I was soon trying my Spanish (and learning Basque). The room was comfortable and had the all important fridge for the milk (bring your own kettle, cups etc - but that is true of all mainland Europe hotels in this price range) . Internet access available in the lobby. The food is excellent with a wide choice, the cooking worthy of a top restaurant and locals came to use the restaurant and bar which helped the ambiance. A good introduction to North West Spain and a good base to explore the region.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kay178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

for a 2 star hotel this ia an excellent hotel ,it is a bit outside the city centre (13 euro taxi ride) but it is set on its own grounds with great views over the bay .The staff were great and with good english. One of our party had an accident which required a hospital visit ,the hotel organised the whole situation and the concern showed by all the staff when he returned was a credit to the hotel.
The rooms are a little small but very clean and with powerful showers. the food in the restaurant is very good and with a very friendly chef. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

p.s. it has a pool.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2008

We stayed for 3 nights in a triple room with our 12yr old son. We arrived late (around midnight) - the hotel knew from our web booking, and were expecting us.

All of the reception staff spoke English and were very helpful. The hotel is approx 10 mins drive out of San Sebastian town centre - it is close to a bus route, which runs every 30 mins until late night. We had a car and there is plenty of car parking (free of charge). Parking down in the town centre is expensive and can add about €20 per night, if staying in a downtown hotel.

Recommend Hotel Nicol's for a quite stay - you can hear the grass growing!! The hotel does have a function room, which could make it noisier, if they have an event on, but for us it was really quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PicnMix_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2006

we have stayed there recently and i dont recommend you to go there at all. it was really bad! The bed was old and very uncomftoble and smell so bad that we couldnt sleep..dont do it to yourself!

Stayed: August 2006
6  Thank bebeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: vérifiez la literie!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivier l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.2 mi away
Gudamendi Hotel
Gudamendi Hotel
#33 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
197 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pension Edorta
Pension Edorta
#20 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#18 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Leku Eder
Hotel Leku Eder
#3 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
529 reviews
2.2 mi away
Irune Lodging & Guesthouse
Irune Lodging & Guesthouse
#39 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
57 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Record
Hotel Record
#13 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nicol's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nicol's

Address: Gudamendi, 21, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £48 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nicol's 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nicol's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing