We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience All Round”
Review of Pension Bikain

Pension Bikain
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Bikain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bad Experience All Round”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

There is too many bad things to say about this pension. I stayed in mid July 2012, and would advise anyone not to stay there. The room couldn't have been smaller, as well as the bathroom.
The women running the place started off being very nice, but any contact there after was she was rude and very unhelpful.
It is very noisy and so we had to have the windows closed, but the air conditioner didn't work.
The room is very over priced. There are pension close by that are much cheaper with much better rooms.
I left my enterence card in the room.She had to let me in.She abused me in Spainish and treated me like a little boy. I don't expect this kind of service in this price bracket,or at any price. Avoid !

Room Tip: Don't stay at Pension Bikain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pedallingpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    8
    8
    5
    12
See reviews for
2
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Looked at every accommodation in San Sebastian before booking this pension so was based on price and location. Quite pricey for what is offered but there is nothing cheap in san Sebastian so..... The location is good,just nicely placed between beach and river and everything well within walking distance. Room and bathroom cleaned every day (we stayed 4 nights) but lots of noise. Noise from traffic outside at night, rubbish collections done at 3 in the morning, could hear guests leaving early in morning , and fortunately for 1 night only, couple in next room sang each other to sleep (wont be buying the cd). Owner nice and friendly though,

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bellfield12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Came back from what was supposed to be a city break in San Sebastian and have to say that staying in this pension was the worst mistake we could have made. Room was tiny with no windows, the owner, Teresa, was not considerate of the guest's privacy, no breakfast included and a very expensive price tag for what it offered. Teresa does not speak a word of English, makes you sign the payment at the very beginning for the entirety of the stay thus giving us no opportunity to change place after the second night and was overall not nice at all.

I would say KEEP FAR from pension bikain because you can find much better value for money elsewhere.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Diane_K2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels

london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2006

I agree with the previous review. There are only 5 rooms in the pension and although they are clean and well maintained - they are also tiny. We may have just got the worst room. But even if you were in a bigger room the pension is above a busy Italian Restaurant so it's extremely noisy at night. Also whoever lives in the apartment upstairs likes to run around in heavy boots every morning.
We couldn't open the shutters as it is at street level so it's extremely claustrophobic. It's also not even that cheap. If you are looking for a budget option I'm sure you can find cheaper than this - it's 85 euro's for a weekend night. If you can afford to spend more try and get into the Niza Hotel if you can't try one of the many other pensions. Pension Perlas looked very nice from the outside and was in a quiet location.
I do however recommend eating in the Italian restaurant in the basement - no complaints there.

Helpful?
7 Thank comedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 October 2002

After reading caduggan's review 4 star facilities near the beach at a moderate price I eagerly anticipated a stay at Pension Bikain. The best I can say about the place is it's clean & near the beach. It's at the top end of moderate our room was little more than a converted cupboard & it was noisy despite the double glazing. A rather nice picture of a room is displayed on their website but this bears no resemblance to the room we were shoehorned into, I left feeling ripped off & wished I'd spent the very few extra euros on more luxurious accomodation.

Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal La Concha
Hostal La Concha
#41 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#14 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Alemana
Hostal Alemana
#25 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Artea
Hotel Artea
#67 of 76 in San Sebastian - Donostia
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Garate
Pension Garate
#17 of 76 in San Sebastian - Donostia
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Easo
Pension Easo
#9 of 87 in San Sebastian - Donostia
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Bikain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Bikain

Property: Pension Bikain
Address: Triunfo, 8 (entresuelo), 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 87 Speciality Lodging in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Bikain 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Pension Bikain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing