We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonable 3 star hotel. Nothing more, nothing less.”
Review of Hotel Husa Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Husa Europa
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A reasonable 3 star hotel. Nothing more, nothing less.”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel during our short 3 night trip to San Sebastian and our travel agent recommended it based on the location - it was one of the few hotels that were available at short notice during the busy summer holiday period. The central location, close to the beach and a short walk away from the Old Town makes this hotel a good hub in between exploring the city and for a place to sleep. The free Wi-fi was a bonus but apart from that if you're looking for comfort and a hotel room you can spend time relaxing in, this is not the place for you. Choose a 4 or 5 star hotel and expect to pay a lot more for better standards in San Sebastian. That's what we'll be doing when we return for a longer stay in this incredible city.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank daniinwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    138
    130
    47
    23
See reviews for
58
165
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

While all the reviews were spot on, rooms were dark, furniture and carpeting were run down, I'd still go back there. You could not ask for a better location - a 2-minute walk from the beach, near the old town and main attractions and a bright and pleasant breakfast room. The front desk was very helpful and responsive, wifi worked well in the room and the price was right.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillyjerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I cannot believe some of the reviews on here about this hotel. We stayed here at the end of August 2012 and were VERY pleased with it. The rooms are SPOTLESSLY clean and the breakfast (which DOES have hot scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage as well as FULL continental meats, cheeses, breads, fruits, yogurts and a toast machine) is available until 11.30. It's a "quaint" hotel with a old-fashioned style (but in a good way). The bathrooms are modern and clean and we had flat screen televisions in both the rooms we stayed in (not that televisions are important to us). The staff were VERY helpful and friendly and even removed the pre-ordered breakfast from our bill for our last night's stay (as we had a very early departure) without any qualms. The breakfast room is bright, clean and airy and a great start to your day. The best thing though is the hotel's location which is just SUPERB. Literally one minute from the beach, in the centre of "La Concha" making it the perfect starting place for your stay in San Sebastian. Free wifi worked well with iPads, etc.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BobAltea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilroy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed only one night, and that was enough. The hotel does boast several positives: excellent location (five-minute walk from the beach; twenty-minute walk from the Old City. But the negatives were discouraging. The room was not ready when we arrived about noon. We had to leave our bags at the desk (the bags were not lonely; about half a dozen other people left bags because their rooms were not ready). The room turned out to be dark and stank of cigarette smoke. Hallway and elevator did also. I know, of course, not to expect the same non-smoking environment in Europe that we have gotten use to in the United States, and I know that all we can do is request a non-smoking room and nothing is guaranteed. However, the trend is obvious, and this hotel and others have to, I think, honor requests for non-smoking rooms. Of course, people in non-smoking room smoke anyway, but what can one do? But the smoky environs kind of cast a negative pall on the day in San Sebastian.

On the other hand, parking was OK--though we had to pay 18 euros to park overnight in a nearby garage. Walking to the old town and beach was easy, and doing a tapas crawl in the afternoon meant no need to seek dinner at the hotel or elsewhere. Many restaurants were near the hotel however. The breakfast was fine, but add the 12 euros for breakfast, 18 euros for parking, and the $196.00 for the room made the stay a poor value.

The staff was helpful and apologetic when we mentioned the cigarette smoke and odor, and did say they had only a limited number of non-smoking rooms, but I got the impression that they'd heard this song before.

If you don't mind the smoke and the extra fees, the hotel is located well and worth a stay, but I was disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tedbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

good location, beds felt like cardboard. They make you pay extra for the continental breakfast, but it's very good-tortilla de patatas and napolitanos! Hallways smell like smoke but the rooms were quiet and restful and stayed cool and air conditioned. They provide you with lots of toiletries which was cool but we ran out of handsoap and had to wait a few days before it got replaced. Also, the toilet broke.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The best thing about the hotel was the central location near the old town and beach.Our room was nice, but a little small and outdated, so comfort was not the best. The beds would definately need updating, since they were quite uncomfortable. We had a partial seaview from a sidestreet balcony, and the area was nice and lively.The staff was helpful and the stay was generally quite pleasant. The room was rather pricey for the quality though.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I love the location of the Husa Europa (a block from the beach!), and it was an easy walk from the train station and all the happenings in the city. However, the a/c wasn't working for both days even though I asked twice. There was definitely noise in the hallways and from the street. We did reserve two rooms but even though one of ours was adjoining, they put another family in that room....so we had to split apart and be down the hall and around the corner from each other. Small inconvenience, but I thought it was weird. The staff was very nice and the lobby was very pretty.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank julia_hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#14 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
596 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
#22 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
767 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,701 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Alemana
Hostal Alemana
#25 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Husa Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Husa Europa

Property: Hotel Husa Europa
Address: San Martin 52, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Husa Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Husa Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Europa Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Husa Europa San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing