We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Staff”
Review of Hotel Codina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Codina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here and really liked it. We couldn't decide between the area this hotel was in and the old downtown but we were really glad we picked this as it was only a few blocks from the beach.

The staff was great and really made the experience a lot better. They may seem very reserved but if you ask them anything they will go out of their way to accommodate. We used public transportation the whole time and they were very knowledgeable about bus routes and how to get places. Pedro in the bar/cafe area was excellent and was patient in showing us regional cuisine and drinks that we didn't know about.

I would add that at first this area of Spain seemed very reserved and not very outgoing so it took a little while to adjust to after coming from Barcelona. After understanding that this was just a regional difference and nothing personal we had a great time!

I would highly recommend a side trip to Bilbao and/or Biarritz, France since they are so close. The Amara bus station is about 7-8 euros by taxi or 2 euros by bus and easy to get to.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed to have about the same view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MateoVerito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Codina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel when we visited San Sebastian for a wedding. It was great value (we booked it through Discount Hotel Reservations (DHR) and perfect for the 3 night stay we had planned. The rooms were clean and very modern and the bathroom was stocked with lots of toiletries if you needed them. One of the added extras was FREE Wi-fi which I found useful. It's a relatively small hotel with a small cafe/bar on one side and the reception on the other. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had hired a car so used the hotel's garage which cost 15 Euros plus tax per day. This was well worth it because parking is at a premium in the area. A buffet breakfast is available for 10 euros and it was perfectly adequate - cereals, pastries, meats, yogurts, cooked ham & eggs etc. The area the hotel is situated in was lovely - lots of shops, cafe's and bars within a short distance. A large supermarket was literally just along the road. We had pinchos at a local bar/restaurant just a few doors up from the hotel and also at a bar called Pepe's which was just along the road the opposite way. San Sebastian centre was approximately a mile from the hotel and is a very pleasant walk along the promenade just by the beach. It's good to join the locals as they stroll along! The Onderetta beach is practically opposite - a 5/10 minute walk. We would defintely stay here again. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rhili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in Hotel Codina for a total of 5 nights over the course of a two week stay in Northern Spain.

Upon our arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist whom was more than willing to deal with our many initial queries. We made our way to our room which had everything you'd need and was immaculately clean. We were located on the top floor, Room 701, which has a spacious balcony with a lovely view of the sea and the surrounding area. Great spot to sit out in the evening with a cold beer. The bathroom had no bath but a good shower, bidet and plenty of towels which were promptly changed every morning. The room had a flat screen t.v and a fridge, which is handy for keeping your own water etc. The double bed was in fact a double bed and not two singles imaginatively tied together, which made for a comfortable nights sleep. The air conditioning also worked perfectly, which is a nice change. The wi-fi was fast and consistent.

Overall it was an excellent experience. There are no leisure facilities but the hotel is excellently positioned in San Sebastian. The buffet breakfast was fresh and for its size had good variety for those who might enjoy a greasy spoon or the healthy option.

Hotel Codina have got the simple things very right and their staff, at all levels, are professional and friendly!

Room Tip: Great balcony in room 701 with a lovely view of the sea
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wally2340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Location- slightly out of town (20-30 min walk) but there are frequent buses. Service- quite friendly but lacking basic things (like an iron in each room- there is only one iron in the whole hotel so you need to get it before someone else does!!). Rooms- clean, average size. Value for money- fairly priced- probably what you'd expect for the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you're a non smoker ask not to be on the smoker's floor. Also if you are a couple, specif...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanburger999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

While the room felt like a dorm room, the hotel was perfect. With being only a few blocks from the beach, the location was great. The room was white with no art, but was very clean. The bathroom was large and modern. The bar served wine for $1.10 Euro a glass, which was great after a day on the beach.

I really liked the staff of the hotel. They did a great job helping me with directions and suggestions

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

No surprises at this hotel; it's described well in other comments. We appreciated the space in front to load and unload our luggage in this car-unfriendly city and were happy we reserved a parking space. The staff willingly explained in detail how to take the bus, which stops right in front of the hotel and ends in the old town. The only room for improvement was those little plastic bottles of soap, lotion, etc. that you can shake and cannot squeeze, making getting the contents out next to impossible. Who invented those things??

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kehoedds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

It was a good hotel with a friendly staff. But the rooms are small and the bed a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazu247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,754 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
NH San Sebastian Donosti
NH San Sebastian Donosti
#9 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
512 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,835 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Codina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Codina

Address: Avenida Zumalacarregui 21, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £57 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Codina 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Codina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Codina Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing