We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Friendly Hotel”
Review of Hotel Codina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Codina
Certificate of Excellence
Dorridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed on the sixth floor which had a view towards the sea front. The room was well furnished and very clean. The ensuite bathroom was well fitted and had a good shower. The hotel was just a short walk from the beach and the old town was some 20 minutes away walking along the beach front. A bus service outside of the hotel took you to the old tone for 3 euros. Around the hotel are some super bread /cake shops serving excellent coffee where we had breakfast each morning.
San Sebastián is a lovely place to visit but parking is expensive 23 euros a night. Street parking is a nightmare, confusing, time limited to 5 hrs and not at all geared for tourists. I found a public carpark , close to the university, and the meters had been taken out of service, so besides being free I did not need to make frequent visits to feed the meter. Around the university there are some unrestricted roads but these are quiet of a night.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b93reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    261
    72
    14
    4
See reviews for
79
247
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

we had a top floor room with a balcony (I think it is a superior room) which was clean and quite spacious for a European hotel. The receptionist was helpful, arranging taxis and advising on bus routes. The hotel is a 30 minute (slow) walk on the front or a 10 minute bus ride on the number 5 or 25 from the old town.
This is a good place to stay and not pay for inflated hotel prices for those adjacent to the old town.

Room Tip: Bus 5 or 25 to old town, stops right outside door of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian&Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
229 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We booked this hotel because it was the best price we could find in August but it was still over €100 per night. The hotel is quite well placed fairly near Ondarreta Beach and not far from Concha beach. Outside the hotels front door is a bus stop to the old town or to the bus station. Our room was quite small but had a comfortable bed and a nice modern bathroom. One of the best things about the hotel was the café where we got breakfast a couple of times. All the staff in the hotel we found to be very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Take buses 5 or 25 from the hotel to the old town. Take the 24 from the bus station. The stop is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank universal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salies-de-Bearn, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

5 minutes from the beach, with a 15 minute stroll along the beach to the old town, this is a great hotel to stay in if you like a stroll after your meal at night. There is underground parking (you need to book). The rooms are clean, and some on the 7th floor have balconies overlooking the sea.

Great value for money with friendly staff.

Room Tip: 704 is the best for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruce b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is a great hotel! Walking distance to great beach! Our family of 4 (2 teenagers) had perfect accommodations here - 2 adjoining rooms with 2 bathrooms! The room was clean and gave of plenty of space. Wood floors is nice in a hotel! Blinds on windows was great to keep out light too. Bus stops right in front of hotel for easy trip to Old Town. Be sure to eat lots of pintxos!

Room Tip: Get a view of mountains and beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights with our youngest child and the 3 star hotel was very nice, within 5 mins walking to the beach, clean and nice room size for the 3 of us. It's not in the old part of the city but there is a great boardwalk or bus that brings you there in less than 10 minutes.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
91 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Hotel Codina is located on the other side of the bay and offers guests a wonderful opportunity to take a walking tour along the Beach or the promanade into town. It takes 25 minutes to walk to San Sebastian, but there are 2 buses in front of the hotel right into the center.

The hotel is mid-range quality, the area close to the hotel is only for seniors with few restaurants and cafes. There is parking facilities 500 meters from the hotel and a large supermarket.

The hotel is located a few hundred meters from a very good beach. There is some traffic noise at rooms that faces the street. The hotel offers very good and fast WiFi.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoltan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,613 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,701 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
#9 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
913 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Codina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Codina

Property: Hotel Codina
Address: Avenida Zumalacarregui 21, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Codina 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Codina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Codina Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing