We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean modern friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Codina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Codina
Certificate of Excellence
thomovicky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean modern friendly hotel”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here do 3 nights last week.

Hotel is about a 20 min walk from main center but walk is along the beach which is nice. Bus stop right outside hotel. €1.60 per person single journey drops right off in town or at main bus station.

Staff in hotel extremely helpful and friendly.

We stayed in room 605 & had a sea view which was nice. Room was exceptionally clean comfortable.

Only faults we could find were WIFI was a bit hit & miss & dependant on where u stood in the room. Bed had a bell ringing noise everytime you moved which was a little strange.

Would def recommend the hotel - location is in a nice part of town with a supermarket just around the corner & lots of bars nearby & bakeries which serve good coffee & pastries very cheap if not wanting to pay for breakfast at hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomovicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    256
    72
    14
    4
See reviews for
78
243
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
877 reviews
276 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 520 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I had room 610 at the hotel and though it was fairly close to the elevator, it was not noisy. The room has been shoehorned into a corner of the building. It was a comfortable, modern room with anything you could want. The bathroom was excellent and had a small shower, no tub. Bathroom amenities were nice. The flat-screen TV had cable with news channels in Spanish, French and English. The English channels are at the high numbers.
This room didn’t seem to get wi-fi, but it had a working ethernet connection. Friends in other rooms reported good wi-fi connections.

The lobby is small and there are two public computers. There is a coffee shop just off the lobby. There is a full buffet breakfast (11 euro) on the lower level.

Bus nos. 5 and 25 stop in front of the hotel and will drop you off at the old city. On the return, bus #25 is better as it stops just across the street, while #5 travels a few streets over. You do not need exact change, but it is helpful to have small bills.

Staff was friendly and helpful and the location was excellent. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed on the sixth floor which had a view towards the sea front. The room was well furnished and very clean. The ensuite bathroom was well fitted and had a good shower. The hotel was just a short walk from the beach and the old town was some 20 minutes away walking along the beach front. A bus service outside of the hotel took you to the old tone for 3 euros. Around the hotel are some super bread /cake shops serving excellent coffee where we had breakfast each morning.
San Sebastián is a lovely place to visit but parking is expensive 23 euros a night. Street parking is a nightmare, confusing, time limited to 5 hrs and not at all geared for tourists. I found a public carpark , close to the university, and the meters had been taken out of service, so besides being free I did not need to make frequent visits to feed the meter. Around the university there are some unrestricted roads but these are quiet of a night.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b93reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

we had a top floor room with a balcony (I think it is a superior room) which was clean and quite spacious for a European hotel. The receptionist was helpful, arranging taxis and advising on bus routes. The hotel is a 30 minute (slow) walk on the front or a 10 minute bus ride on the number 5 or 25 from the old town.
This is a good place to stay and not pay for inflated hotel prices for those adjacent to the old town.

Room Tip: Bus 5 or 25 to old town, stops right outside door of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian&Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
229 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We booked this hotel because it was the best price we could find in August but it was still over €100 per night. The hotel is quite well placed fairly near Ondarreta Beach and not far from Concha beach. Outside the hotels front door is a bus stop to the old town or to the bus station. Our room was quite small but had a comfortable bed and a nice modern bathroom. One of the best things about the hotel was the café where we got breakfast a couple of times. All the staff in the hotel we found to be very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Take buses 5 or 25 from the hotel to the old town. Take the 24 from the bus station. The stop is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank universal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salies-de-Bearn, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

5 minutes from the beach, with a 15 minute stroll along the beach to the old town, this is a great hotel to stay in if you like a stroll after your meal at night. There is underground parking (you need to book). The rooms are clean, and some on the 7th floor have balconies overlooking the sea.

Great value for money with friendly staff.

Room Tip: 704 is the best for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruce b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is a great hotel! Walking distance to great beach! Our family of 4 (2 teenagers) had perfect accommodations here - 2 adjoining rooms with 2 bathrooms! The room was clean and gave of plenty of space. Wood floors is nice in a hotel! Blinds on windows was great to keep out light too. Bus stops right in front of hotel for easy trip to Old Town. Be sure to eat lots of pintxos!

Room Tip: Get a view of mountains and beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
#9 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Codina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Codina

Property: Hotel Codina
Address: Avenida Zumalacarregui 21, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Codina 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Codina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Codina Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing