We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By the Sea - Friendly - next to the old town”
Review of Pension Itxasoa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Itxasoa
Germany
Level Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“By the Sea - Friendly - next to the old town”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We loved it here due to the location, views & hospitality. Firstly the staff were very welcoming, eager to help with phone calls & laundry where needed. Top marks. We stayed 6 nights broken up into two stays. Room 2 was good apart from the faulty shower screen that drenched the bathroom floor and it would have been nice to have two small chairs for the balcony. We also rented to beautiful Suite which is well worth the cost. Again, not perfect, there was a broken shutter in the bathroom that didn't give you privacy at night, the bed slats were falling away underneath. If these things had been working, it would have deserved an 'excellent'. Not all rooms have ocean views so ask, and the suite is definitely worth considering although there is no balcony, there is a very large window that can open up to the sea breeze!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadicAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    24
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
32
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vedbæk, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This pension has the best location and is in walking distance to the beaches in San Sebastián and it is very close to the old part of town with its numerous pinxtos bars and restaurants. The rooms are a bit small - there is no air condition instead you can use a fan in the ceiling. Our room faced the sea with a nice view and sometimes a fresh breeze through the open door - this also means that there will be some noise from the street just below as it is used by cars going to/ from the parking spaces and also by local people walking and jogging and talking. It was not a problem to me - but family in the next room found it difficult to sleep.
The rooms are very simple but nice and clean. As we had a room overlooking the sea it would have been great to have a couple of chairs on the balcony. This will improve the use of the room - also a refrigerator would be appreciated. If not in each room then to share - when the days and nights are hot you need something cold to drink. For breakfast you have to go to some of the several cafes in the area.
The staff is very friendly and helpful speaking a bit of English - they will help you with restaurant recommendations. For parking you either have to find a spot in the street (pay by the hour) or you can park at the nearby parking house at 12 Euros a day - the reception will help you with parking ticket.

Room Tip: If you get a room overlooking the sea you may get annoyed by the traffic from the street below - or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I chose this little pension because of recommendations (which are right on) and as one reviewer said, 'location'. In this case, location means on the very tip of the blocks leading out to the sea wall. That is my idea of ideal.
The price is pitched perfectly for what one receives... a tiny pension up and away from the street noise, small, clean and convenient.
Don't be alarmed (as I was) at the fact that the pension is on the third floor. There are two elevators and keys are made available so that at the end of bar hopping in the tapas district there is no issue getting in.
Parking is a factor and we had a car. But is not to sweat. Luggage is unloaded and the car is stashed a couple blocks away in public underground parking.
The view off our balcony could not have been better. I got a real sense of the sea as the waves rolled in, the spray blowing off their tops.
Everywhere one would want to walk is right there in this small city. And we felt completely comfortable and delighted.
Pension Itxasoa should have its own website. I was uneasy with the site Lander and Mila use.
Totally cool little place.

Room Tip: We got a room with a view. Try for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newfolkways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This is an awesome little pension. People were friendly, the room was really clean and comfortable and the location/view awesome. It was very convenient as well being on the edge of the old city.

Room Tip: The sea view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is a fantastic little spot located steps from the old city (and some of the best pintxos), but apart enough not to have the noise of the small streets.

We had a lovely view of the water and a nice balcony facing it. The rooms are small but extremely clean. It was a surprise to even have a bathtub! It is a very small pension, and there isn't really anything in the way of amenities; to me that's just fine. It was like having a little apartment in the town. The staff were extremely nice, and will lend things like hairdryers.

The booking process was a bit confusing - paying the 'deposit' online, which actually was the full amount, and then having to email back-and-forth a bit to confirm it was pre-paid. That said, English isn't (nor should it be) their forte, so I can't fault them for that. My Spanish got me through just fine, and they also tried their best at English.

I would highly recommend this pension, and would absolutely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cybershaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The sea view is marvellous for a very good price. The staff is really friendly and the room was clean and had good beds. The location is perfect, in the old town, just off the very touristic streets.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marijns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Hotel is very well located in a quiet part of the Parte Vieja. Many of the rooms, including hours, had views of the sea. This is definately not a luxury hotel but it is basic and clean. There aren't many places in San Sebastian where you can have a sea view room for 82 euros a night!

Sara at reception was very friendly as was the young gentleman (the owner's son who was working for his mother while she was on vacation this week). I ended up developing a bad sinus infection during my stay and unfortunately on the second day it was a little chilly. The heat in the building isn't turned on until later in the year but Sara found a portable heater to use while we were in the room.

This hotel is in the same group as the Pension Aida and Pension Kursaal. I've stayed twice before at the Pension Aida. It's comparable in comfort but the location of the Itxasoa is better in my opinion. With so few rooms it's necessary to reserve way in advance. I've already booked for my trip this year!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CathyDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,638 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parma Hotel
Parma Hotel
#16 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
334 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,509 reviews
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Itxasoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Itxasoa

Property: Pension Itxasoa
Address: San Juan, 14 - 20, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 86 Speciality Lodging in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension Itxasoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Itxasoa Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing