We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension Donostiarra
Brisbane, Queensland.
Level Contributor
274 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I love the Pensions in Spain. This one in particular was fabulous service and impeccably clean rooms with attention to details Always had lollies on the pillows when the room was made up. The rooms were very fresh smelling and had good facilities. A nice cosy living room for anyone to relax or read in with a view out onto the streets. The Pension was in a very convenient location and I would recommend this one. Very good value for money in San Sebastian.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarinnaCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    36
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
3
38
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Very easy to find in the street running in front of the cathedral with friendly women on the desk who speak English. You ring a buzzer to get in, but note the front door is very heavy to push open.
The rooms are tight and stark and the bathrooms have good showers with oodles of hot water. The radiators go off during the night but come on again at dawn. The beds are comfy and warm.
The street outside is very noisy with traffic.
I think the price (61 euro) a bit high for the room.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OzGronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The hotel is located in a beautiful, old building in the centre of the city, it's near to all the local amenities. You can't fault the location but the noise of the rooms was disappointing. It's as if the walls were made of paper and you could hear everything in the neighbouring rooms including conversations, the TV and toilets flushing which affected us being able to sleep in and have a deep sleep. However, the price was very reasonable, I would have been annoyed if were paying a lot though. The rooms were plain but comfortable, we stayed in 2 different rooms as they had the wrong booking recorded so we had to swap (which they sorted out quickly and efficiently) and the second one was a little damp which was a bit irritating but we were only in it for 1 night. The rooms had a quirky feature where there was an internal music system which you can switch on and listen to continuous tracks and whoever picked the songs has great taste :)

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenstar1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2012

The location was fantastic, close to the train station. And within walking distance to about everything. It is not as noisy as the other reviews indicated, my sister and I had a room facing the street, it doesnt get noisy at least we didnt hear any. Although the walls are thin, the level of noise is okay, it is manageable. We did not get annoyed or bothered by it. The price for the place is really inexpensive.

But when you enter the place, it has a weird smell in the lobby. The room was very small, great if you are not staying long. The staff there is very friendly, speaks english, and great with suggesting and informing us about whatever we needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candor, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Pension is located in a charming 19th-century building that retains much character. The location could hardly be better, within easy walking distance of the beaches and the pedestrian center of town. The manager was friendly and helpful, graciously answering my questions about Basque language and history.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Great place to stay in San Sebastian! Near the Cathedral, minutes away from both the beaches and the railway station too! Rooms are small but cosy. Cafes and lots of shops in the vicinity. The owners are extremely helpful and will be ready to assist with a smile whenever you require. It is on the 1st floor and this place does not have an elevator. If that is not a problem, there is none that I can think of.
Just ask for the room details when you book. Best not to take the most basic category, as the rooms are really small with only the bed and night table. But, if you just go the medium tier, the rooms are cosy with an extended seating area/balcony which is just fine. Strongly recommend!We stayed in a street facing room and it was not noisy atall! We loved our stay! Thanks to our great hosts!

Room Tip: Room no. 6 is great with a cosy seating area and facing the street! We loved it! Try not to go for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bids2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chartres, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We spend almost a month at that pension and for 50E/day for double room it is good. It is incredible clean, with room cleaning every day and a set of clean towels every 2-3 days. We had a room at the corner of the "peatonal" street and main avenue and it was perfect, not very big but ok. The only disadvantage, the is no fridge in the room. The staff was very very helpful even though not all of them speak english.

Room Tip: The elevator is "hidden" behind an old wooden door
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DimEGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,639 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,510 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#15 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Donostiarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Donostiarra

Property: Pension Donostiarra
Address: San Martin, 6, 20005 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 86 Speciality Lodging in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Donostiarra 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Donostiarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing