We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice for Those Traveling by Car”
Review of Hotel Terminus

Hotel Terminus
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Terminus
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Although San Sebastián has a slew of "pensiones" in the old town that would no doubt have been cheaper to stay at, all of the streets there are pedestrian only, and parking in San Sebastian as a whole is a nightmare. The Terminus is located right next to the train station and I got a space practically right across the street in a little off street lot. You have to keep a paid receipt, purchased from a nearby machine, on your dash. It's free from 8PM to 9AM also for the two hour lunch break. If you want to leave it there, you have to keep your receipt current. That means dropping by every three hours to pay and get another. My room is very large with two twin beds, a writing desk and chair, a vinyl covered bench/luggage rack. Although there are no passenger trains arriving or departing after bedtime, I figured that freight trains or trains speeding by headed for other destinations might bother me, I didn't hear any at all until morning. My bed was comfortable and I slept well. The bathroom is fine and the shower was great. The bracket was located quite high on the end wall and it swiveled up and down for easy adjustment. The desk clerks were very friendly. Room cost was 43 euros, tax included.

Room Tip: My room was 104.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELHS220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

Inexpensive, clean, and convenient. Yes, linoleum floors. Yes, tiny rooms. Yes, right next to train station, and plenty of road noise, too. Yes, thin walls. But also perfectly clean, with friendly staff, and convenient to Parte Vieja (Old Town), Kursaal center, bus "station," etc., etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We knew we could not expect too much, as this is only two-star, but were still somewhat startled by the spartan and old-fashioned nature of the hotel. There's no problem with having no carpet - we're used to that, especially in Spain where they often prefer stone floor tiles - but something looking suspiciously like 70s style beige linoleum, and cracked and nicotine-stained (?) at that, seemed to have been bulk-bought and laid throughout. It reminded me of our travels in the Soviet Union Communist era - huge high ceilings, dark and cavernous, large squeaky and stained radiators. That said, we can't accuse it of being dirty, and it was certainly spacious, especially the bathroom (which had an incongruous modern fitted chipboard wardrobe in!) The main problem was the noise. We love trains (we'd travelled to San Sebastian from London by train), so would have been happy to be right by the station except for the noise. The road noise was dreadful and went on all night, and perhaps was worse in many ways than the thundering (and vibrating) of passenger and goods trains. I did love the pictures around the hotel, though - historic images of the railway (sweet!!) and some nice abstract and retro ones in the room too.

Room Tip: Whichever side you are, you will get noise - sorry!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Threeberthcarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Aside from train noise (which I love, by the way) this little place is best value to stay cheap in San Sebastian. You can get an oversize room for about 60eur with a great view of the train tracks. Given that you come to San Sebastian to taste and see, spending much time in the hotel, other than sleeping, is not needed, so overall, it is a great choice. Hotel is clean, old fashioned and good for families. Also, it is super close to everything with paid parking nearby.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank World_Xplorer_v1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This place is good value not like the other over priced places in San Sebastian. Walking distance to all the tapas bar & the beach. At night the area where the hotel is located is quiet even though its next to the train tracks. Literally located next to the train station. We never needed to take a taxis and yet were able to tour most of San Sebastián from the Hotel Terminus. The rooms are clean but the decor was non-impressive however for the low rate it didn't really matter to us.

Nancita

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancitaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed here in June on our way back to France from Spain by bus the easiest (and cheap) form of transport in Northern Spain. There was a connecting bus to Bayonne where we were to catch our train back to Paris. Trying to coordinate train systems between the two countries was just too difficult.
Hotel accommodation costs varied from cheap (Terminus) to rediculous (almost everywhere else), so we opted for the Terminus as most reviews were fairly kind, bearing in mind that it is at the cheap end. Rooms are basic, but very clean, rooms overlook the train platform, but double glazing and the fact that most trains stopped around 11.00pm meant noise was not an issue. The staff were beautiful. Nothing too much trouble and lots of helpful advise. Hotel bar faced the train platform and catered for travellers so getting something to eat and drink at anytime of day was easy.
Across the road was a park facing the river and across the bridge was the pedestrian mall (and underground supermarket, just look for the signs). La Conche was within easy walking distance, and if you only have a couple of days like we had, the On/off bus is a great option for seeing all the 'must see' spots. It was also a 24 hour pass so we did the first circuit in the afternoon and then worked out where you wanted to spend time the next morning and used the bus to get there.

Room Tip: Ask for the lower floor. Theres no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnwalked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed four nights at this good value for money hotel. It is only ten minutes walk from the old town and twenty minutes from the bus and train Station so no need for a Taxi or public transport It is a easy Hotel to get to when you arrive in San Sebastian by train or Coach. The staff are friendly and helpful. The Hotel does do food or has a bar but the Cafe bar next door which is part of the hotel does not do breakfast either,only coffee and cakes ,but i would not mind that as there is cafe about ten minutes away.This Hotel is a old building and is clean and part of the train station.
The only problem we had was the noise from the trains as the tracks were just outside our window and for that reason i would not go back unless you are a heavy sleeper but is excellent value for money if you do not mind the noise.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front may be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clohanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#18 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
345 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Arrizul Urumea
Hotel Arrizul Urumea
#25 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arrizul Center
Hotel Arrizul Center
#37 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Irune Lodging & Guesthouse
Irune Lodging & Guesthouse
#39 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Alemana
Hostal Alemana
#26 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pension Edorta
Pension Edorta
#20 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terminus

Address: Avenida de Francia, 21, 20012 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 52 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £31 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Terminus 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing