We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Niza, San Sebastian, Spain”
Review of Hotel Niza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Niza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Disappointed. We booked especially as it was on the beach. We got a back room overlooking a noisy street. There was little or no apology. It was more or less a case of first come, first served but we should have been told this. The room was large and clean but it had no tea/coffee making facilities, no safe, no mini bar and air conditioning was quite noisy. Staff at front desk were not particularly friendly and had little or no English; for a hotel that is.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a straight answer if you want a room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tillydog7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

I booked this hotel on my booking.com. At the time I requested a front sea view room and a quiet room. When I checked in the lady at the front desk did not want to know about my request and in fact put me in a room on the 4th floor overlooking the main street.
I complained to the lady at the front desk but she said all the rooms were noisy. As far as I am concerned this hotel is a rip off. They just want to take your money. I would have checked out but I had no other choice but to stay the two nights.
I am a tour guide and as far as I am concerned I will not recommend this hotel to anyone.
Even the Wifi doesn't work in my bedroom I had to come down to reception to get Wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were so pleased with our stay in this hotel. We stayed for 3 nights, with our room located on the 6th floor (top) which had doors that opened onto a small balcony with the most amazing view of the beach and surrounding areas. The room itself was clean, although was fairly small, but the room was bright and modern and the fantastic sea view made up for the size of the room! The rest of the hotel was equally clean and the lift was an old style with double doors you have to manually open and close which was quite a novelty for us. The only downside I would say is that some of the staff weren't that friendly or helpful (not all, but some). The rooms are sound proofed, so nice and quiet, but there wasn't any air conditioning so it did get quite warm at night, and was a little noisy with the windows open, so air conditioning would have been nice although it wasn't too much of a problem for us. The location of the hotel is perfect being located right on La Concha Beach. It's in easy walking distance of both Ondaretta Beach and also the port and Old Town. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Situated on the main La Concha bay, this hotel offered modern airy rooms at a good price for San Sebastián in August. The hotel had a real friendly feel to it, helped by the very pleasant staff. The reception area decorated to a modern and elegant style, and the lift with three manual doors had the feel of Doctor Who's tardis! a real experience of travelling in a bygone era.

Our room was very clean, well equipped bathroom, and had a balcony. and whilst we faced the road, the double glazing helped reduce the traffic noise to almost zero.

The breakfast buffet was adequate with simple choices, but had the usual suspects of fresh fruit, cheese, meats, bread, croissants and jam.

Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoutemasterCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Good location.
No parking available.
The room looked upon first view quite nice but it was only divided from the next room by paper thin walls - you could hear next door draw the curtains!! The lift was old and beautiful but so noises and situated next to our room.
Air conditioning was said to be included via booking.com. This facility was not available. The heating was on which made the room incredibly hot with no way of turning it off. We needed to open the window which made the room even noisier than it was previously due to drunk people walking along the promenade.
There was also a hideous, gut wrenching smell in the bathroom each evening which was coming from a false window which housed a load of pipes.
We asked to move rooms but were only offered one across the road for the same price and was not nice either. It was a shame as San Sebastián is lovely but if we retuned we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galavanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Great location, right on the beach. Walking to town was easy. Several restaurants nearby. The room although small were well laid out, clean, and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The hotel itself is in a great location right on the beach and a ten minute walk to the old town, where there are great Pintxos. The hotel itself does not open out onto the promenade by the beach and you do have to walk around the corner to get to the beach, although this is a very short walk. Our room was adequate, basic and clean and, although not sea-facing, opened out onto a cute little balcony. It was clearly a smoking room, but we had forgotten to request a non-smoking room, and the smoke smell was tolerable. There was a stain on our sheets on the first night, however our room was made up every day and the sheets were changed. The service was average at best and it was difficult (and very expensive) to get clothes ironed for dinner. The hotel is very noisy, as a result of a very old lift that requires manual opening and closing of two sets of very loud doors and also creaky floors above our room and we found we needed earplugs to sleep. The hotel is very expensive for the facilities and service you get, however, you are paying for the location, which is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3,005 reviews
1 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,920 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,829 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niza

Address: Zubieta, 56, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#11 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £60 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Niza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An everlasting style, remaining throughout time. Its privileged location, right at the La Concha bay, turns the Hotel into an incomparable site. Its decoration creates a warm and cozy atmosphere. Lamps, furniture, pictures. Everything is designed to supply comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Niza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niza Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing