We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An affordable 3-star hotel on the sea front”
Review of Hotel Niza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Niza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel was exactly as promoted on their web site. The young multi-lingual team at the reception desk was always helpful and polite. The whole place had recently been re-decorated and to a high standard, too. It is right on the sea front and has reserved parking places in the underground car park a few metres away.

What was remarkable was the fact that, if you are on a tight budget like I was, you can still afford a room. Mine cost 55 euros a night (taxes not included) for a single bed. Obviously you do not get a sea view at this price. In fact there was no window, and the room was small (about 2.5 x 2.5 metres). However it was fully equipped with TV, air conditioning and built-in storage space for bags and clothes. The shower room was a normal, comfortable size. The room was very well designed indeed.

When you have the beach on your doorstep and you can look at it while having the hotel breakfast, I do not see that it is that important to have a sea view room. By the way, breakfast was OK i.e. a typical hotel buffet. My brother and I enjoyed crossing the road to the restaurant right on the edge of the beach to have breakfast on the sun deck (we were there during fabulous, sunny December weather).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtelierdeLaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a very small, family run hotel that is located bang on the beach of La Concha San Sebastian. We went with our three older teenage children. Everything was just perfect and we are remiss in not reviewing this hotel earlier. We had booked several months in advance and requested ocean views. The hotel doesn't guarantee the rooms (it seems to be first come first served), but we did score three rooms across the front all together right on the ocean. It was sublime! The rooms aren't huge but they're not small. They're spotlessly clean and the oceanfront rooms have lovely french doors onto the ocean. Two of the three rooms had balconies. The breakfast is beautiful but the tapas in the evening, on the boardwalk, is not to be missed! Book this hotel, you will not be disappointed. The location is far, far superior to the bigger star alternatives including Hotel Maria Cristina (which is beautiful but about three to four times the cost).

Room Tip: Try to book in advance and get an oceanfront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShesaTravelDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
recepcion, Director de Recepción at Hotel Niza, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Customer,
We appreciate your comments.
We are really pleased to hear that the stay in our hotel has been satisfactory
We look forward to seeing you at another time.
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a great option for a homey, cozy hotellocated on the promenade of the playa de la concha. You can watch people go by, exercise, while you enjoy your breakfast, I highly recommend the croissant a la plancha, or brioche a la plancha - it was recommended to me and it is a must-try. The restaurant Narru is also very good, and they have an excellent wine selection. The rooms are very cozy and clean, with a more vintage feel. The hotel is in an old building so the wooden floors are creaky and the elevator is old school, it's all part of the charm and the experience. The only hitch we had was the air-conditioning was facing the bed, and we weren't able to ask the hotel to face the vents another way. All in all a great stay, and a great place to experience San Sebastian.

Room Tip: The corner room we got had a day bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chicho S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The hotel is located directly on the promenade of PLAYA DE LA CONCHA. We had a balcony and sea view which is a MUST! San Sebastian is so beautiful. The rooms are clean and just enough space to spread out. We had lunch at the cafe downstairs which was delicious! The staff was all very nice and helpful. The location is spot on, its walkable to everything in the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

at the hearth of PLAYA DE LA CONCHA, the best views of San Sebastian, we have stayed 4 days
Sleeping with the voice of waves and watching the tides. The breakfast is very good. The restaurant NORR is 2 forks MICHELIN .

Room Tip: The Sea Side Rooms has a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goksel_Birol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed 5 nights in September. Unreal and I mean Unreal view. Nice comfy room and bed. Well done property. Walkable to restaurants and bars and beaches.

Save time seeking out dinner - the best place is on-site. Have dinner downstairs and have the Pork. Even better, have dinner in the BAR - they serve at 7:30 early and start with the Goat Cheese Salad - incredible. Sit by the huge windows and watch the people walking by. Also, have the potatoe pie looking tapa - it's good and a Basque specialty.

Enjoy the crazy elevator. Fine service - nice job on Laundry I needed.

Careful on the wine by the glass - it will take you a few tries to figure out the Rioja that's good. There are three levels of Rioja and the least expensive is made via carbonic masceration and it's nasty. If the bottle has a date on it then its not the nasty stuff, and, its probably better; so look for a date on the bottle.

Now the secret. Stay in room 62. I won't tell you why - it will be a surprise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scoobyscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were there from 29th Sept - 3rd Oct. Arrived to San Sebastian from Biarritz via Bus. Everywhere in SS is within reasonable walking distance, just depends on how much luggage you have so we hopped on a short bus up to the hotel. when checking in, we were told there were no more rooms with a view available. We were slightly dissappointed but not to worry. Boy were we glad! The rooms with a view don't have Air Con and it was 'warm' when we were there for Sept/Oct, 25+ in the evening and so we were glad of the Air Con!!! It was great to be able to walk out of the hotel straight on to the beach in front. The rooms were nice, we were on the 6th floor and had a balcony, was just missing some seats and a table so we could sit out on it. Staff were helpful with anything we asked about. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel so can't give any feedback on that. We did eat in the restaurant on one evening and while the food was nice and decent value, they served each tapa as an individual and so my other half ended up waiting about 40-45 mins for his 'mains'. The food was all lovely but took way too long, we think a little too much time was being put in to the presentation as the food did look amazing, just wasn't a whole lot of it. Oh, the old lift is pretty cool but can leave you waiting a while to get downstairs as it doesn't stop if someone is already in it coming down from a higher level :) Would def recommend the hotel.

One thing to note though about San Sebastian and most places in the region, the 1st October counts as the start of winter, a lot of things close up or only open on a Sat/Sun instead of all week. There were no tours running until the weekend cause of this, which was crazy, there were still more than enough tourists around! There's a nice restaurant across the road from the hotel, Lamadame, does a good deal on a Monday night on a set menu, otherwise can be a bit expensive but is nice, great chef. We really loved SS, it's so relaxed, a decent amount of things to see and do to keep you busy for a few days too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrowneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,913 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,608 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
#22 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niza

Address: Zubieta, 56, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#11 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £64 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Niza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An everlasting style, remaining throughout time. Its privileged location, right at the La Concha bay, turns the Hotel into an incomparable site. Its decoration creates a warm and cozy atmosphere. Lamps, furniture, pictures. Everything is designed to supply comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Niza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niza Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing