We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location”
Review of Hotel Niza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Niza
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome location”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel must be the best located in San Sebastian. It is right in the middle of the beach promenade, perfect for a walk to the old town or the shopping area. The bar overlooks the beach and is a great breakfast option or an air conditioned haven on that hot day. The staff were friendly and the hotel clean. The only reason it isn't a 5 star is that there are no ironing facilities (a t-shirt and jeans has to get sent away and costs $5 Euros) - which is a problem when you have traveled with 2 kids and have suitcases of crumpled clothes. The rooms are a bit small too. However, if you bring a travel iron and aren't spending lots of time in the rooms, then this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    291
    83
    26
    21
See reviews for
75
337
44
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London U.K.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just past the major Hotels on the Concha Beach this place exudes old fashioned charm
and modest rates. My room did not have a seaview. I did not want one. Quiet and well
furnished with an adequate breakfast and Bar. Prices are also modest and well down
on those places near the old part of town. Only 10 mins. walk to the buzzy part of
San Sebastian. Will come again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thekiwikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We booked Hotel Niza for our July family trip. The hotel is small and has a distinct charm, from the antiques in the lobby to the 100 year old elevator. The rooms are clean but small and not outstanding. The bed was a bit hard for my taste. The hotel has a bar which opens out to La Concha beach. It is a great place to have coffee in the morning or tapas in the afternoon. The breakfast buffet is okay but not really worth the price. There is underground parking available if you drive there. The old town area which is a blast for partying is an easy 15 minute walk and there is lots of shopping in the area as well. Just a great location!

Room Tip: Good luck getting a ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kansasbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We loved the two nights we spent here recently. The view from the room was spectacular and the beds oh so comfortable. We opted for the breakfast in the downstairs restaurant and were pleased with that as well. I think the breakfast was an additional 10 euros per person.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyASCCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Full of character, smells history, small, cosy, modest, very clean and cute rooms, luminous, breathtaking ocean view which you can see as soon as you open your eyes in the morning. Very good location just on the beach , also close to the shopping and bar district. Breakfast is also delicious.
Wishing to go back as soon as possible!

Room Tip: I recommend the rooms with sea view
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ayse k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and had a room with two big windows overlooking the famous La Concha beach. The hotel itself is a bit of an institution in San Sebastián and has been in the same family for a very long time.

The room was smallish but adequate and as it was right in the middle of the hotel facing the beach, it had wonderful 180 degree views over the whole of the beach. But, on the downside, it was very bright and very warm. With no air conditioning, and on hot days, the brightness and the warmth made the room very uncomfortable if you are a light sleeper like me. Note, the side facing rooms do have air conditioning. Also, as San Sebastián is a party town, opening the windows at night was very noisy.

The hotel itself is a bit rickety and could do with a refurbishment. But, then again, given the location and its popularity, this does not seem to be turning customers away! The restaurant at the bottom of the hotel is adequate and serves simple tapas, breakfasts and other meals.

I would recommend this hotel but would next time would probably request a side room with AC next time to avoid the glare, the heat and the noise.

Room Tip: Light sleepers who also like cool rooms on hot days, choose the side rooms. Those that do not mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonwaker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed here in March 2014 with my friends. The location of the hotel is perfect and it has a great view. We stayed in a triple room and it was big enough for three of us. The breakfast was perfect and everything was clean. Staff was kind. Highly recommended to enjoy the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontseL426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,786 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#14 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
613 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 51 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niza

Property: Hotel Niza
Address: Zubieta, 56, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#11 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Niza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An everlasting style, remaining throughout time. Its privileged location, right at the La Concha bay, turns the Hotel into an incomparable site. Its decoration creates a warm and cozy atmosphere. Lamps, furniture, pictures. Everything is designed to supply comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Niza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niza Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing