We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach for 69€ a night”
Review of Hotel Niza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Niza
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Right on the beach for 69€ a night”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights the beginning of August. I walked to the hotel from the train station with a 50lb wheelie bag- so it is definitely doable. Hotel is right in the beach- so in my opinion for 69€ for a single room- it was worth it. My room was 54- tiny, with having to angle my suitcase into the doom and then into the closet - as there was no room in bedroom. Bottom line- it was clean and it was for sleeping- the other rooms look much bigger with balconies etc but this was in my budget. The elevator is antique but works! I would stay again and recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank rella118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    290
    82
    25
    21
See reviews for
75
335
43
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I had read mixed reviews about hotel Niza and was a little tentative however on arrival (and we were late due to a train strike in France!) I was pleasantly surprised and can say without hesitation that I would recommend this hotel to family and friends.
The location was excellent right on the seafront with access via the street and through the restaurant/breakfast room directly to the esplanade - so easy.
The foyer had a luxurious feel and the reception staff were efficient and welcoming on our arrival and attentive and helpful during the entire stay.
I was really pleased to be allocated a seafront room as I had requested on booking. The lift was welcome and unique (just have to be sure to close the doors) our room was on the fifth floor and had two windows to the water front with the most incredible views of the bay.
The room was spotlessly clean, the bed and pillows were really comfortable the furnishing were simple but tasteful. I enjoyed the artwork in the corridors.
The windows where double glazed and when closed blocked out any outside noise. These front rooms are not air conditioned so there is a temptation to have the window open I would not recommend doing this on a Thursday night as the party on the waterfront (maybe something to do with the world cup soccer but more likely just party goers) will keep you awake.
Cafe La Concha on the esplanade right outside the hotel does a great breakfast.
We arrived by train from Bordeaux via Hendaye into San Sebastain Amara station and had no trouble walking with bags to the hotel there were signs along the way. We departed early to take the train to Madrid and again walked to the main train station from the hotel with no problem.
We had a lot of fun in San Sebastian and at hotel Niza and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Europe2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great hotel. Clean bright rooms. Lovely restaurant with delicious food especially the fish. Breakfast very high quality. Exceptional value for the money. The bathrooms were well laid out and very clean. Friendly staff at the front desk.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the water although we did not have one and loved our room facing the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheersAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Cuenca, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel apparently belongs to basque modern sculptor Eduardo Chillida's children. The walls are decorated with his engravings. But other than that and my nosiness, one would not know who the owners were. They have nicely-- but not lavishly-- remodeled this turn of the nineteen-twentieth century hotel. For instance, they have a lovely old style elevator that functions with modern efficiency as long as the guests remember to close the doors! The attentive staff remind you to do so. We had no problem and appreciated this quaint touch. The rooms curiously have a rather modern feel and decorative touch but the turn of the century ceiling molding was carefully painted in a discrete blue and green. The bathroom was decently spacious and well set up. And you are right on the famous Concha beach, so you couldn't ask for a lot more at a relatively decent price. Definitely you should have a meal (or more) at their restaurant, Narru.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the Concha, they are also quieter since there is no traffic. Some drun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiii-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Lovely hotel combining Victorian style with modern amenities. Hotel staff were great. Rooms very clean, comfortable bed, beachy feel, modern bathroom. The location is the best part - right on the promenade overlooking Concha Beach. A nice 10 minute walk down the promenade to Old Town - just enough to walk off the delicious tapas.

Room Tip: We were concerned about air conditioning....the scoop is this: rooms overlooking the water DO NOT ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, U.S.A.
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

After reading various reviews online we decided to book The Hotel Niza in San Sebastian. First of all it had a wonderful view of the sea and Concha Beach. Charming would be a good word to describe The Niza with its classic decor and its 103 year old elevator with a bronze plaque inside stating 1911! Bar prices were reasonable and the downstairs restaurant was said by other guests to be very good though we ourselves did not eat there. Staff was very helpful and added to our pleasant stay. We were in Room 23 which was like living in a virtual postcard. Were we to go back to S.S. we would definitely stay here again. We were there from July 30 until Aug. 3, 2014, cost was 165 Euros per night.

Room Tip: Book well in advance to get the rooms with a sea view, it's well worth it. You might also recon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank packersbacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Nicely appointed hotel right on the beach. Good value. Includes enclosed restaurant with promenade and beach views as well as seating on the promenade itself. Adjacent underground parking - it's tight so don't try if you have anything other than a compact car. Rooms fairly simple but pleasant. Ours did not have AirCon but we had the balcony door open the while time so had lovely sea breeze and soothing sound of the waves all day and night.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,782 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,700 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#14 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niza

Property: Hotel Niza
Address: Zubieta, 56, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#11 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Niza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An everlasting style, remaining throughout time. Its privileged location, right at the La Concha bay, turns the Hotel into an incomparable site. Its decoration creates a warm and cozy atmosphere. Lamps, furniture, pictures. Everything is designed to supply comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Niza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niza Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing