We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding staff and great value for a two star hotel”
Review of Parma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parma Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding staff and great value for a two star hotel”
Reviewed 21 May 2011

I had forgotten that the hotel was just a 2 star when I booked it. As we entered the city, and I saw the hotel sign with 2 stars next to it, I thought, Oh, my, I haven't stayed in a 2 star for many years. What was I thinking when I booked it!! We got there and got to our room, and it was very comfortable and very clean. The view from our window of the ocean was just wonderful. We could watch the surfers from our window and the beautiful beach there. But the main reason that we liked the hotel was the staff. They were so friendly and very accommodating. They refrigerated our cava and and when we went down to get it, they furnished us with cava glasses! And they gave us as much ice as we wanted.
The morning after we got there, I discovered that I had left my jewelry case at the last hotel!!!! My husband went down to the desk, and the lady there immediately called that hotel. She arranged to have it couriered from San Sebastian to the Hotel Parma. And it arrived the same day! We thought that we would have to drive back to get it. The fee was well worth not having to do that.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone! However, if you want luxury, look else where. But, if you want a hotel located in a perfect spot on the ocean and in the Old Town plus walking distance to almost any spot in town, this is the place.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcclureliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    154
    54
    18
    6
See reviews for
37
198
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

The Hotel Parma is a in a great location, overlooking the canal between the San Sebastian beaches, 2mins walk to the restaurants and bars of the old town. The hotel rooms were a bit dated in terms of decor and had a musky odour. Some airing on return to the room was enough to clear up. Out room was located on the first floor, but with no lift, we had to lug out suit cases up the flight of stairs. The rooms were of decent size and the beds were ok. The hotel offered a a parking spot in a garage for 15 euro per day. While a bit steep, the parking inspectors in SS were prevalent, so this was the best option. The Parma also offered a continental breakfast for 6 euro which filled th spot.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzzyMuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

This comfortable hotel is along one of the promanads next to the sea in the old, charming part of town. The room was extremely comfortable and clean - bed, closet space, shower, etc. View was fantastic looking at the sea from our window. Staff speaks English - a huge plus- and always friendly and helpful. There is internet service in the lobby - another huge plus.

The only down side is that it occupies the bottom 2 floors in a residential building. It is across the street from an entryway to the promonade and can be noisy with pedestrians and traffic. But with the windows shut, the noise is considerably reduced. Would have been preferable to be able to sleep with the sound of the sea and the breeze but totally worth the trade off.

Would go right back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldiept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights on our two week belated honeymoon. The staff is fantastic. Hands down the friendliest staff we had on our trip. It is a no-frills place, but it is still very comfortable. There is free wifi, and you can have breakfast in the morning if you wish (additional charge). You are close to the old part of the town, and everything is within walking distance (minus the bus station).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c2otto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Arrived by car for a 3 night stay and was very impressed by the directions and pictures they'd produced for the parking facility. Was in own car so it was great to be able to "lock it and leave it" somewhere secure while we explored the town on foot. Reception staff were friendly and helpful, location is superb for all parts of central San Sebastian (old town, beaches, shopping).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaleBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

My husband and I spent a night at the Parma Hotel while we toured the Basque country. It's an excellent bargain located adjacent to both the water and the old quarter where you can indulge in lots of tapas tasting, shopping, etc. The staff were very helpful. Ordinarily I'd say their parking garage could be a little challenging to find except that they provide such excellent directions (including a photo of the garage entrance so you don't mistakenly enter the public garage), that it was no problem getting to it. They also had free wi-fi which is a must for us. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdahoCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iazurza, Manager at Parma Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2010
In response to your comments we wanted to thank you and all the people who wrote reviews, for taking the time writing such a possitive critics. We really appreciate that our efforts for constant improvement don´t go unnoticed. We will keep working hard to give our best to every client. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Frankly I would skip this hotel and San Seb. all together! Firstly , the parking garage was totally confusing to get to, and even harder to leave the city from there. The Hotel reception staff was not friendly, all business plus you had to leave your key with them evey time you left the room.The beds were horrible, I couldn;t sleep as the coils were digging into my back, the room was very old fashion, especailly for the price, however very clean. Not a warm and friendly atmosphere at all, no lift and they charge 3 or 4euros to use the internet for an hour, ridiculous for the price to stay at this hotel.Not worth the money and also 15euros a day to park the car is absurd !Do not loose your parking card or they charge 20euros replacement, another thing to worry about losing. If you have a car, good luck getting out of this city!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogsrock50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iazurza, Manager at Parma Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
In response to yor comments, we would firstly like to mention that we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed critic to our Hotel.

With reference to the garage, we wanted to say that we have been congratulated by our regular clients on this service, not just because we have an exclusive entrance without having to queue to enter, but also because it is 10 Euros cheaper than the public parking, the spaces allocated to us are very spacious, easy to park and well located in the parking lot, and because the map and written instructions given to reach the entrance are clear and useful. Buying the 19 parking spaces has been the largest investment the Hotel has ever done. We started with this new service past April, and we are very happy with it. We understand that parking below the Hotel would be more appropiate, but that is simply imposible. That was the best we could do, believe me.

About the sprung in your bed, perhaps if you told us the room number you were in we could double check and change the mattress if necessary. However, we are very surprised to hear about this as most mattresses were changed not two years ago and we carry regular revisions throught the Hotel.

Finally, you mentioned that you were charged 3-4 Euros for using the internet and it is true that we do charge to use the computer located at the Internet Corner (3 Euros for an hour or 1 Euro for 15 minutes). But you were probably also informed that we do have free wi-fi all through the Hotel for those clientes using their own laptop or I-phone. If we charge at the Internet Corner it is because we do only have one computer and we thought that by having a small fee we would give more of a chance to everyboy needing to use it. Othersiwe one client could sit down at it endlessly and stop others from using it.

Hopefully, you will find correct these explanations and accept our aplogies for your “not so happy” experience at our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parma Hotel

Property: Parma Hotel
Address: Paseo de Salamanca, 10, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Parma Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Mirai, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Parma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parma Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing