We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location, helpful staff”
Review of Parma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parma Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good value, good location, helpful staff”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We originally booked for two nights but stayed a third which says something - maybe that is worth another half a star. The location on the edge of the old town and looking across the river entrance is very good if you don't want to be right on the beach; you can easily walk everywhere. Our room, which looked onto a side street, was a reasonable size and pleasant enough without being grand in anyway. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the hotel has dedicated parking spots in a parking station down the road. In a town known for its high prices, this hotel represents really good value.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AgingSlowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iazurza, Director General at Parma Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Madame:

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I´m very glad you liked our Hotel. The reviews allways help on the way to improvement.
Thanks again and best regards.


Iñaki Azurza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    155
    54
    18
    6
See reviews for
37
201
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, OR
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Great location on the edge of Old Town. Our room had a view of the sea if you stood up and looked out, no balcony or the like. Very basic, clean room. Nothing fancy, great WiFi. The reason I gave this hotel 4 stars rather than 3 was for the super-friendly staff. They made us feel so welcome, answered all our questions with a smile and went out of their way to help us and make our stay comfortable. This is a great place to stay if you don't have a car as it is an easy walk to all the restaurants, bars and attractions in Old Town and the beach. Parma is a good choice if you don't mind a basic room due to its great locale and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FIveIslandFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iazurza, Director General at Parma Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Sir:

Many thanks for your nice words about the staff. I always insist that hospitality is our business, and reading your words I see with pirde that we are on the correct way.
I would only add one thing to your review: that people with car can also come to our Hotel because we do have parking service.
Thanks again and best regards.

Iñaki Azurza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Well located at the edge of Old Town, easy to find, reserved and street paid parking available. There is no lift, staff helpful in lugging stuff to room. There is parking right in front of the hotel for unloading luggage. Free wifi works well. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel.
Our room is small but efficient, beds are comfortable, no idea about heat or ac as neither was needed during our stay. Our room which faced an interior courtyard, is quiet. The women manning the reception desk are very pleasant and helpful.
Hotels and B and Bs in old town San Sebastián may be hard to find and get to because the streets are mostly pedestrian only but not around Hotel Parma. Calle 31st Agosto, where some of the top pintxo bars are located is a few minutes walk away; same for the seaside promenade. The street blocks are not long so it's short walking distance to get to places. From the autoroute, the signage to find Old Town is not clear but they are clear for leaving Old Town. We based ourselves in SS and drove to Bilbao for the Guggenheim. I'd recommend this for those with cars as SS old town is more festive, compact, generally much nicer than its Bilbao counterpart. Parma is a good budget hotel choice for Old Town San Sebastián.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank poggibonzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iazurza, Director General at Parma Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Sir or Madame:

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your nice words about the hotel and specially about the staff. In my opinion your review describes very well the Hotel and its surroundings. I would only add one thing to it: since finiding a parking place on the street is quite diffficult, we offer 24 hour guarded parking service. We have 19 parking places located at the nearest public parking lot, which is three blocks away from the Hotel (three minutes walking distance).

Many thanks again and best regards.


Iñaki Azurza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at Hotel Parma for four nights in September 2013. The price was higher than normal because it was during the film festival but the location couldn't have been better. The woman at the front desk (whose name I can't remember) was so friendly and helpful when we were looking for the various theaters. We opted out of the breakfast as there were so many great places right around the corner which were cheaper than the hotel's buffet. The only negatives were that the hotel itself is older and there is a strange smell in the hallways. The walls are very thin and we were woken up early each morning from the noise, but I am a light sleeper. The wifi only worked at a certain spot in the room but it was OK, if a bit slow. And parking is 16€ per night in a garage that is about five minutes away, but they give detailed directions on how to get there. All of that being said, I would recommend Hotel Parma based on the fantastic location and helpful staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheapest room (117, I think) and it was very noisy early in the morning with noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elbrew24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iazurza, Director General at Parma Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Etem24:

Many thanks for the nice words about our location and the staff. Our Hotel was built in 1968, and my family has been runing it since 1979. Ever since we have tried to keep the Hotel well maintained and updated. In fact, we are now planning a new reform, but these things are slow. I really hope you get to see it someday.
Many thanks again and best regards.

Iñaki Azurza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I enjoyed this riverfront hotel, it had everything I needed. Walked to most attractions in just minutes. Maria Eugenia at the front desk was always wonderful and accommodating, as were all her associates. Paid parking only a block away.

Room Tip: I chose a quiet room overlooking the courtyard. I didn't need a view, although rooms with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savvyabbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iazurza, Director General at Parma Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Sir or Madame:

Many thanks for your nice words about our Hotel and the staff, as well as for taking the time to write a review. It really help us on our way.
It would be very nice to meet you in your next visit.
Best regards.

Iñaki Azurza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Москва
Level Contributor
248 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Perfect two-star hotel situated on the promenade Urumea Itsasadarra at the confluence of the ocean. Exterior rooms with views of the river or the ocean. Delicious breakfast. Very caring and friendly staff. Sightseeing places and beaches Zurriola and La Concha close. Within walking distance bars, including La Cuchara de San Telmo, Bar Zeruko. Great place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanislavsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iazurza, Director General at Parma Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Stanislavsky:

Many thanks for your nice words. They encourage us to keep on improving. It would be nice to meet you in the future.
Best regards.

Iñaki Azurza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of June. We were not disappointed. The reception staff are excellent, friendly and helpful. Our room was at the front facing the sea. A beautiful view, from our window, always something to watch, whether it be the surfers out on the bay or the locals parking their cars in very small spaces in front of the hotel - we were very impressed with their parallel parking skills! Our room was very clean and the bathroom was spacious. The hotel is situated in an excellent location, very easy to walk everywhere. We loved San Sebastian and if we return would not hesitate to return to Hotel Parma.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front with sea view are worth the extra price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busy_Girl_HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iazurza, Director General at Parma Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Busy_Girl_HB:

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and for the compliments, we reallly appreciate them. It would be grate to meet you in your next visit.

Best regards.

Iñaki Azurza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,701 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,507 reviews
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,634 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parma Hotel

Property: Parma Hotel
Address: Paseo de Salamanca, 10, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Parma Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mirai, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Parma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parma Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing