We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, near beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, near beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed in Barcelo Costa Vasca for almost a week in early June. It is a very nice hotel, about 5 to 7 mins walk from the beachfront in San Sebastian. Room was of a very high standard. Staff very helpful. It's about 25 mins to centre of town alright but it's a lovely walk all along the seafront which we enjoyed every day. We ate in the town every day so cannot comment on the food. Pool was not open as the weather was not really suitable, but I think it opens at the end of June each year.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Corkman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    645
    229
    83
    25
See reviews for
265
744
23
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

I was driving from the UK to Spain and stopped over in san Sebastian overnight.
Perhaps I was very tired after a long drive through france but the hotel was fantastic.
The beds were very comfy and rooms were spacious and clean. All sanitory fasicilities were also good. The only draw back it was a bit out of way, which can be a little problematic if you're not driving. Other than that all good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo-Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We were happy enough with this hotel, the few niggles we had we probably down to it being an incredibly wet weekend & the fact that we were travelling with a toddler.

Rooms are functional - clean, comfortable & relatively sound proofed but not toddler friendly due to the sharp edges of the metal desk, the furniture on wheels & sliding doors (our boy, needlessly to say loved slamming the doors) and the aforementioned AC not going any lower than 23.5C. If we'd been by ourselves, it'd have been fine though.

We didn't bother with either the cafe or the restaurant (hey, this is San Sebastian) & didn't use the spa facilities or the pool, which was outdoor & closed while we were there.

We chose this primarily because of the price-point (which I think is spot on) & because it looked close to the both the beaches & the bus station. Location-wise, be warned...we usually walk everywhere on holiday, even with the buggy, & it is a beautiful stroll home from the old town along La Concha in the sun but the weather in SS is generally unreliable due to it's Atlantic coast & the walk home (& the hill at the end) in the pouring rain (trudging past all the other hotels along the front we had considered) was pretty miserable.

All in all it's a fine choice at the price-point, as above - the weather did for the location & the room niggles were personal to us & the stage our toddler was at. San Sebastian itself is an absolutely fab choice for a weekend break if you are a foodie or with kids - it's everything Barcelona seeks to re-position itself as. Go before the crowds of Brits get there!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Funky_travel_junky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

This hotel looks a little utilitarian from the outside but inside is modern and clean. The family rooms are excellent, super clean, roomy, massive shower and two separate rooms almost suite-like.

The breakfast is great, very comprehensive but the bar snacks are average although the proper restaurant serves Basque cusinine.

The staff were nice, service is local style, dont expect to be fawned over in Spain.

The location is good and close to Ondaretta beach. The suburb where the hotel is located Antiguo is upmarket and has a good cafe just down the hill from the hotel which is attached to a playpark and indoor ball area to occupy the kids while you take a coffee or beer.

You will need a 30 minute walk or 10 minute taxi ride along la concha into the town centre for shopping and pintxos in the old town bars and if you are there for the surf you are on the wrong side of town, however the local beach is in my opinion the best for kids, with small park on the beach and a plinth to swim out to, withf beautiful views reminiscent of a mini Rio

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelina8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

This was our second San Sebastian hotel--the first was a very unacceptable Silken Amara that Expedia bailed us out of. The Barcelo Costa Vasca was the next stop. It was a comfortable room, decorated in a modern style with a mural of the Wind Comb on the closet doors.

The issues with this room would prevent me from booking it again. First, the room was warmer than I am comfortable with and the air conditioner didn't ever cool the room below 23.5C on its own. Because of this, we opened the windows at night. That was when the mosquitoes invaded. We felt eaten alive. The location was also away from the main part of Donostia, so it was either a cab ride of considerable walk. It was very quiet, though and had a comfortable bed.

Room Tip: If you want to stay her, make sure you get a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaniceWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel on June 2012 and were very satisfied with the overall experience.
The location is a bit of a problem as you are far from where the action is(8 Euro's for a taxi to the center of town). However the staff is very friendly, the restaurant is very good and the breakfast is incredible.The rooms are very spacious and nicely done with everything you need available.
The only problem we had, is that the water temperature of the shower kept changing.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank argonfroes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intsik
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

nice modern hotel. the rooms were a good size, new and super clean. beds comfortable. enough storage and workspace. great bathroom and excellent shower. service was hit or miss. some people were borderline rude, others super nice.

main issue was that the hotel was a bit out of the way. the beach was probably a 10 minute walk, which was fine, but getting to old town and the commercial area was maybe a 30 minute walk. there are buses, but they maybe every half hour, so there was a lot of waiting around.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intsik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,618 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
#8 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Costa Vasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Costa Vasca

Property: Barcelo Costa Vasca
Address: 15 Avenida Pio Baroja, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#4 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#10 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Costa Vasca 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Barcelo, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Costa Vasca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Costa Vasca Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Barcelo San Sebastián Donostia
Barcelo Hotel Costa Vasca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing