We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viva Espana - Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miami Springs, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Viva Espana - Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here with a group of 39 fellow travelers. We were there to attend the Heineken Jazz festival. The accommodations were great. The room included a free breakfast which would meet anyone's standard. The bus stop to go to the old town is just across the street that runs about every 20 mins. If you like a good shower, they have a great fixture that has message jets with plenty of water pressure. The room did lack in way of a view, but who needs that when the beautiful city of San Sebastian awaits.

Room Tip: The layout in the corner rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bcostavasca, Gerente at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest

Thanks a lot for your great review that has been commented with all our staff. It is a pleasure for us to know that our facilities have reached your expectations.


Hope to see you back in our hotel for the next jazz festival.

Do not hesitate to ask for me next time in order to welcome you personally

Best regards

Montse Gil

Directora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    693
    238
    85
    26
See reviews for
283
796
24
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is very trendy, clean and nice. However it is expensive (like other hotels in San Sebastian) and it took about 30 minutes to walk to the downtown area. But walking by the shore was not bad at all, what a view! Furthermore, there are some restaurants and shops close to the hotel. The hotel room was very comfortable with a desk and a mini bar and also a balcony. There is a wellness center in the basement that I really recommend! What a relaxing place and great service.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have a balcony, I really recommend a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freydís Jóna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Grove, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My family and I stayed here in early July (3 rooms) for 3 nights. The hotel was perfect for our needs--yes, it is not right in town, but that was a good thing because the week we were there the city was very crowded with a lot of young people (which was fine unless you were staying on one of the noisy streets in the old city).

Beds were comfortable, rooms were a nice size and the shower was amazing! Rain showerhead and good water pressure. Bathroom as well as the bedroom were spotless. Air conditioner was not as cool as we are used to but luckily the weather was not terribly hot when we were there.

We were able to take advantage of the pool one afternoon, and it was a great break from sightseeing. Enjoyed delicious mojitos on our loungers and just relaxed for a few hours. We were there during the World Cup and joined a lot of other Americans (including a few youth soccer teams from the U.S. who were there for a local soccer tournament) in the lobby bar to watch the game one evening--that was fun despite the cable going out several times during the game!

Our breakfast was included in our room rate and we were very happy with the variety of food available and thought it was a good value--freshly made omelettes and eggs, cheeses and ham platters, lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, pastries and breads. Of course, if not included in your room rate, you would save by just stopping at a local cafe for a coffee and croissant.

We walked to the old city several times along the water and on the beach, and it was a lovely walk--not that far at all.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone spending a few days in San Sebastian. Comparable to a Holiday Inn or Hilton Garden Inn in the US.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies; ours overlooked the parking lot; not sure if any overlook the beach. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel is a little lacking in character and a good 30 minute walk to the old town. That said it is handy for Miramar Palace & Gardens and a 10 min walk to Ondarreta Beach. The hotel is clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The beds are a good size, the showers good but not much storage space. There is a No.16 bus that stops opposite the hotel and will take you close to the old town. Don't expect much by way of views from your room!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Choose this because it had a pool which were really happy with but it's a bit of a trek to the main town (shops + bars etc). You are 5 mins walk to one end of la concha beach, it will take you about 30 mins to walk from one end to the other. Note the other end has the port, shops, bars etc. The main hotel was really nice and if you have a car or don't mind paying for taxi's then this is definitely the hotel because it has the pool that most hotels in donostia don't have.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddodds78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms are small, but the furniture chosen makes use of the space so you feel as though you have a lot of room. It was clean and comfortable. Fresh eggs can be ordered at breakfast, but the coffee was not very good. The hotel is out of the way, but we walked into town and enjoyed walkibng along the promenade of a weekend and seeing what the locals were up to. You can also catch a bus quite easily if you are not up to the walk,

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KLS2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Sebastian
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Good modern hotel situated at far end of San Sebastian.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Restaurant is priced as high end but food far from satisfactory. Monk fish had to be returned as too tough to eat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,259 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,529 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,667 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
426 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Monte Igueldo
Mercure Monte Igueldo
#21 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Costa Vasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Costa Vasca

Property: Barcelo Costa Vasca
Address: 15 Avenida Pio Baroja, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#4 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#10 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Costa Vasca 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Costa Vasca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Costa Vasca Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Barcelo San Sebastián Donostia
Barcelo Hotel Costa Vasca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing