We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel for Quiet and Peaceful stay in San Sebastian” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avenida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avenida
St Pierre D'Eyraud
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel for Quiet and Peaceful stay in San Sebastian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

This was a great choice of hotel for us on our recent stay in San Sebastian. It is located on a steep slope overlooking the town and from some rooms (one of which was ours) it overlooks the beautiful bay. It is about 10 minutes walk to the beach down the hill and as there is a local bus (number 16) that runs along the seafront and right past the front door of the hotel perfect for the trip back up from the beach! That bus runs twice every hour and runs the whole way down to the "old town".(fixed fare Euro1.45)
The rooms were adequate though small but spotless with good en-suite facilities. The lobby,pool and general areas were clean, bright and attractive and there was a good sized carpark which is free for residents (pay parking in the town near other hotels could cost up to Euro24 per day).
The staff deserve a special mention for their helpfulness as I managed to leave the headlights of my car on overnight, resulting in a flat battery but the staff managed to get jump-leads and the maintenance guy brought his own car around to give me a jump start!! Thanks again and very much appreciated.
The only downside was that there was no restaurant or bar on the premises although for a few hours in the early evening they did have a waitress to serve a drink or tea/coffee in the lobby. Having said that the town itself is brilliant with hundreds of bars and restaurants and a fantastic vibrant but safe atmosphere and a good "party" feeling. We will definitely be back again to San Sebastian and to Hotel Avenida.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over town and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquitainefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    108
    71
    20
    11
See reviews for
40
134
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Avenida was the perfect choice for us. Located about 20 minutes walking from lively old town, the hotel is midway up a surrounding hill in Donostia. The view is gorgeous. The bathroom, with nice amenities, is separated from the main living area by a hallway that leads to a spacious bedroom. The lobby is pretty but not too active -- seems a bit under utilized by guests for as pretty as it is. However, after an bustling evening in old town the peacefulness was appreciated. You can use Wi-Fi on your own device for free or, if necessary, you can use one of the hotel's PCs for a small fee per hour. We did not take the full breakfast -- only coffee for 1.20 Euro per cup -- but the offering looked pretty good and the room was comfortable for chatting. The hotel is really a gem as it is quiet, well priced and nicely kept. The pool is good size and tranquil. We will stay here again on our next trip to San Sebastian.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DizzyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

Nestled part way on a hillside this hotel is spotlessly clean and very very quiet. It has little in the way of a bar or any sign of a snack service but is very old fashioned in its style. Nothing against that for me. The town perimeter is about 10 min. Walk and the beach about 15 min. It has a well equipt small fitness room and a beautiful out side Poole with a grass surround, unfortunately the weather was not with me to venture for a swim. I was in a first floor room and it had a clean bedroom of good size along with a very nice bathroom. A safe is provided in the room no charge. I did not take breakfast. There is a restraint next door which has a good reputation also you can take a drink here without driving. All you could expect for the money paid....... Ps I have posted the key back even managed to walk off with it being the size. Of a football .....sorry

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank michael_ludwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

We had a most fabulous stay at this hotel in San Sebastian. It is located about a 10 minute walk to the beach (up / down a small slopey hill, so if you don't like walking, perhaps this may not be your place!). The hotel is very peaceful, perfect location to be just out of the tourist hustle and bustle of the town but close enough to walk to it. It is a 3 km walk into the central shopping area which was fine for us, but might like to be considered for those not as keen to go by foot. The staff were quite friendly and helpful, including providing the introductory map. Free parking was included in our deal, and breakfast also. We found the breakfast options to be quite limited, tricky to find healthy options and also non-bread options so I would hope they may improve on this, but still tasty none the less. The swimming pool is amazing - we spent two afternoons by the pool and there was no one else by it except us - similar to having your own swimming pool at home (which we don't have so this is really nice). The pool is surrounded by grass, and it is nice to ask for a pool view room. You can also see views of the bay and the hills from most of the rooms. There is a fitness centre, however only has cardio machines, a mat, and a multi purpose weights machine which is a bit broken / tricky to use so not really very useful. All in all we had a fabulous stay - and even extended our stay by an additional night as we loved it so much. HIghly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a swimming pool view - and this should get you views of the bay and the mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnikadeBruijne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

After a bad start in San Sebastian in an overpriced tiny room near the centre, we came out here for a 2 night stay. It's on the far side of the bay but the views are great and it's about a 20min walk into the old town (there's also a bus). The room was very spacious with a big bathroom and a comfortable bed. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. It has an outside pool, but unfortunately it was too cold outside to use it. Also has free parking which was a bonus and they serve breakfast till 11am. Next door is the excellent restaurant Rekondo. What's not to like?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We booked through travelocity and were pleasantly surprised when we went into the room. Big bathroom, windows w/ a view, lots of closet space, a mini fridge & a day bed/couch in the corner perfect for all our bags.

The hotel is on a hill above the main cove of San Sebastian and it was about a 8-10 minute walk down to the beach. A great location if you don't want to be in the thick of tourist traffic and like to get a little walking in (the hill is pretty minor but I should admit that I live in San Francisco).

The room was clean, had a great view, overlooked the pool and had WiFi and a couple TV channels in English - always a plus.

The only issue was that when we checked in the receptionist told us when breakfast was, but didn't tell us that it was a separate cost, so be sure to ask when you're up front. The buffet was pretty standard, lots of bread & pastries, but they also had some great fruit choices.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Not a great experience. We booked through an internet site( not the hotel's) and perhaps that explains why the room was cramped, facing the back and without any air conditioning.A tower fan was in the room which was fairly ineffectual.The lighting was pretty poor.The bathroom looked out into a dingy shaft.
No food was available only a vending machine on the floor below the reception .We paid in excess of 90 euros and I did not think it was worth it. It looks better in the picture.
The restaurant next door was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnexRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Monte Igueldo
Mercure Monte Igueldo
#18 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Codina
Hotel Codina
#9 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Aiete
Hotel Palacio de Aiete
#16 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Leku Eder
Hotel Leku Eder
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenida

Property: Avenida
Address: Paseo de Igueldo 55, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenida 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing