We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
103
184
97
22
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
184
97
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightthe busminute walk downhillold townoutdoor poolclose to the hoteltakes minutesbeautiful bayon site parkingnearest beachnice hotelcold meatsbreakfast roomnice staystay there againper nighttwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Location difficult to find, travel to end of most westerly beach to find signpost to hotel which is at the top of a very steep hill for walking. No bars/restaurants nearby except 20 minutes walk/5 minutes car. Immaculate reception, terrace, breakfast room, cannot understand there is no bar or restaurant with its views over city. Book a front room for the views. Free on site parking, recommended with car

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDURNEVARGA, Director de Recepción at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Alan T,
Thank you for your time and for sharing your opinion with us.
We do not have a bar at the Hotel but we offer Buffet breakfts from 7.30 to 11am in the Breakfast Room and we also have a "bar service" with drinks and sandwiches from 18.30 to 21.30 at the lobby or in the garden.
The closest restaurant is just in fron of our Hotel (Rekondo). Going down the hill (10 minutes walk) you can find some bars and restaurants.
if you visit us again, do not hesitate to ask for our "Restaurants lis"t that we recomend to try to help you to find the best options for you.
Thank you again and all our best wishes,
Miren Aristi - Head Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Although an older property, and not upscale, I loved this hotel! The rooms facing the city are super bright with big windows, and the view from the oddly decorated lobby lounge area and breakfast room below are fab. I wish I'd gone in the pool; those who did were clearly enjoying it. Walk into the city was good exercise- 10 minutes down the hill. Breakfast acceptable. Desk help very accommodating. I would definitely stay here again. Loved the city!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank dd212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDURNEVARGA, Director General at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Good morning dd212!
I would like to thank you for your time spending in sharing your experience in the hotel Avenida. We love that our guests enjoy the stay in our hotel. We hope to see you soon in your next visit to San Sebastián. Thank you very much again, best regars,
Edurne Varga
Avenida Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is not very close to the old town..it's more than 3km away....but in a cute and well served area (monte igeldo).
At the beginning this put me off since the double room was 190euro.
The size of the room is quite small and the look old fashioned.
Besides this, I suppose is quite good for the super expensive San Sebastián!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elisabetta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We may have just been unlucky as our room was located at the top of the stairs from the reception but apart from the noise of other guests passing the plumbing seemed very noisy and noise from other rooms seemed to travel, chairs being moved etc. That said staff were super friendly and efficient, good breakfast, wifi and minibar prices very reasonable.

Stayed: July 2017
2  Thank 1BK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

I Booked for 1 night with the non refundable condition. With more than a month notice I had To Cancel it But The hotel indicated that They could Not even refund a part of it. As much as I was aware that it was Not refundable I would At least expect a partial reinbursement. The customer Service was extremely bad And They showed greediness.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank maiopelosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDURNEVARGA, Director de Recepción at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,
Non-refundable rates do not accept returns. It is the risk that these types of tariffs, more economic but restrictive. Therefore, there is a choice between two rates, the ones that can be canceled free of cost and non-refundable rates.
Forgiveness of penalties would render the concept of non-refundable and would be unfair to customers who paid more for the right to cancel without cost.
Sincerely,
Miren Aristi - Head Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews