We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty more fish in the sea”
Review of Pension Koxka Bi

Pension Koxka Bi
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pension Koxka Bi
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The old town has a lot of 1 or 2 - star pensions and small hotels. This one is nothing in particular. Good location, as all the others. Paper-thin walls, so the habits of your neighbours will probably have an influence on how you rate the place.

Pricey, at least in July!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mijo1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my wife for two nights. I booked this hotel since we wanted to stay overnight in the old town in San Sebastian. As soon as we got to the hotel, the receptionist explained the hotel and the events in the town, and she was very friendly, which was a good impression for us to this hotel. However, the room was very small for two of us, and we were difficult to find the spaces even for a suitcase, wallets and accessories (normally put on the desk) etc. Since the hair drier was not in the room, I had to rent this from the receptionist after wearing the new clothes.
Also, the drain of the faucet was very bad, and we had to wait a few minutes for the water to be drained.
The location was very convenient for many bars or restaurants, which was very convenient. However, because the room was too inconvenient for us, I cannot recommend, especially, the ladies who want to enjoy the relaxation as well to stay in this hotel (or could be most of hotels in here old town).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank YacchanAmarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This pension is a lovely cosy place in the center of the old town. Very bright, freshly painted rooms, very clean, make your rest comfortable after extensive tours of the sites of San Sebastian. The pension is centrally located, close to the most appealing gourmet pintxo spots introducing savoury examples of the Basque cuisine. The warm welcome and the kind advice of Mirella, the manager, was very useful and set us straight on the right course. A place to return to. The double beds could be larger but still a wonderful accommodation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the internal side are quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Deki2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Met at Reception on arrival - excellent and attentive staff.
Location excellent in old town.
Breakfast in nearby restaurant was ok.
Room was clean and tidy and bed comfortable.
Shower cubicle was incredibly tiny but the shower worked well.
Booked this hotel for air conditioning option in case it was hot. Unfortunately, A/C sent black cloud of filter dust on operation so was useless and wasn't fixed during stay.
Walls were paper thin and everything in adjacent rooms could be overheard- at all hours of the night!

Room Tip: Back rooms are probably best away from street noise but internal noise is hard to work around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This small hotel in the old part of town is ideal to do San Sebastian. You are in the middle of the areas with tapas, shops and bars.
Our room was very small but ok and clean.
The staff was more than helpfull. Very personal and friendly. Feels like good friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms seem to have been recently updated and are a pleasant surprise upon entering. Our room was more like a studio apartment with a huge wardrobe and bathroom, which contains a double vanity and a full size bath!

The staff were incredibly friendly and really added to the pleasantness of our stay! Small extras like a refrigerator with complimentary bottles of water and a supersoft throw rug made our stay very comfortable (we were unwell and spent a fair amount of time in the room).

A small light in the room enables you to walk around in the dark (should you need to get up in the middle of the night!) but interestingly doesn't illuminate the room enough to annoy you. The rooms are nice and dark.

Being so close to all the fantastic bars and restaurants it can be a little noisy, but if you want to be close to all the action this is probably unavoidable.

With excellent value for money, great rooms and outstanding customer service, I highly recommend this accommodation!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MissDavina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Gran Bahia was in such a great location....we could walk around old town as much as we liked and barely see the same street more than once.
Bed was comfortable and nice dark rooms which helps for holiday sleep ins!
Price was more than reasonable as well for its location, we would happily stay here again. The hosts were great as well, we only knew a little Spanish but enough for it to work.
Parking can be included in your room charge at a nearby location, we were happy to leave the car there securely for the weekend after driving for a week.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite small but comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g_love11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.0 mi away
Pension La Marinera
Pension La Marinera
#28 of 88 in San Sebastian - Donostia
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koxka Pension Ostatua
Koxka Pension Ostatua
#42 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Alameda
Pension Alameda
#24 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Don Cecilio
Don Cecilio
#25 of 88 in San Sebastian - Donostia
23 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Old City House
#58 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Balerdi
Pension Balerdi
#9 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Koxka Bi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Koxka Bi

Address: C/Embeltran 16, 2, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Pension-Hostal Gran Bahia)
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 88 Speciality Lodging in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £49 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pension Koxka Bi 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pension Koxka Bi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing