We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Leku Eder

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Leku Eder
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Management very friendly and helpful,advising on buses and pinxo bars and printing our boarding passes. Nice sea view room with bath and shower. Breakfast continental with juice, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit , cheese, ham, toast and a giant croissant. Buses are every 20 mins in high season, 15 mins to centre, short walk to old town.Free hot drinks on self service basis during day/ evening in dining room/ lounge. Quaint decor, spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mcg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    181
    26
    3
    2
See reviews for
93
278
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night and while we normally enjoy staying in the city centers, we chose Leku Eder because the price was right. And, in the end, we found the hotel location to be wonderful. We ended up taking a 20 minute walk down to 'la Concha' and enjoyed the hike and scenery along the way. We realized that we wouldn't have experienced it had we stayed in the city. The rooms are clean and employees very cordial. We most certainly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: If available, ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ivega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in April and had a very nice visit. The ocean side rooms are great and we felt like it was a great value. We booked two rooms for early July, in person and 3 months in advance being very explicit about the rooms we needed as we would have our 3 adult children with us. One room is fine and as we reserved bit the other is on the front of the hotel. The road noise is too loud to keep the window open and with no ac the room is very uncomfortable. This coupled with the high season rates adds up to a lousy value.
We have been staying in VRBO apartments all over Europe since April with great success and should have done so again here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Leku Eder is up on a hill overlooking the bay and San Sebastian, but really quite close via car. We actually parked our car and then took a short walk from the property onto the grounds of a very nearby amusement park from which there is a funicular (very short) that takes you down to the bay, by a tennis club and adjacent to a very pretty park. From there it is a 20 minute walk into town. This suited us as we like to walk and explore.

The hotel itself is small, but the staff is very helpful and speaks excellent English. We were happy with our room, which had nice beds, shower, bathroom, and cooling, as well as a room that could be nicely darkened from the morning sun. There is a good continental style breakfast in a spacious area overlooking the bay.

I would recommend this for anybody who does not insist on an in town, big lobby, elevators and restaurant-type hotel. If you want to get a great look at the area and good value, this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and it proved to be an ideal base for visiting San Sebastian and the surrounding areas. We decided against staying in the centre of San Sebastian, as parking can be difficult and expensive. The Leku Eder has ample free parking and a bus stops outside the door, taking you into town in about 15 minutes. Rooms were comfortable, if not exactly luxurious, but good value for the price. A decent buffet breakfast is served between 8 and 11 each morning. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Although our room had a balcony and a nice sea view, it missed the sun when we would have liked it most - at the end of a hard day's sightseeing, with a glass of wine in hand! I suspect all the balconies are much the same. Not much the hotel can do about that, but there's really no general area around the hotel where a little relaxation in the sun is possible. Pity. Nevertheless, well worth a stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phantomfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I booked this hotel during a motorcycle trip this summer and I was very pleasantly surprised by it. Yes, it is a bit out of town, but I personally like that. And if you have your own transport (and they have private parking), you'll be in town in 5 minutes.
The location is very peaceful and the views beautiful. You can't quite see San Sebastian, but you do have stunning views over the sea (if you have a sea view room of course). The hotel must have been recently renovated and the rooms were very tastefully done and neat and tidy. Staff was very friendly and helpful. On the advice of the hotel staff I had dinner at a little cafe up the road while watching a stunning sunset, which was well worth it!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Voelser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

What a nice place, run by very pleasant and accommodating people. Stayed here with my family for three nights. I would call it quaint, but I do not mean run down or too small. The rooms were a good size. A "living room" is open around the clock with tea and instant coffee. A nice place to sit and relax. A very fair price, less than 100 euros per room per night, including a continental breakfast. The cheerful staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Highly recommended. Would stay there again.

On a hill overlooking a small cove on the Atlantic Ocean. Beautiful view. A bus ride to the beach, downtown, or old town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leku Eder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leku Eder

Property: Hotel Leku Eder
Address: C/ Balenziaga 2 (Igeldo), 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Leku Eder 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leku Eder Hotel is a family style hotel overlooking the Ocean from the top of Igeldo hill. The hotel is situated less than 4 km. from the City Center of Donostia/San Sebastián and has a good bus connection to the Center and a free parking area for our guests.All the rooms are equiped with bathroom, telephone, tv, and free wifi connection. We have a sunny terrace where our guests can relax or read placidly.The breakfast room is panoramic and our customers can enjoy at any time, from the collection of teas and infusions available to them and make use of the dining room, which features one microwave, crockery and cutlery, if they bring their own food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Leku Eder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing