We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel shower ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Kursaal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension Kursaal
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best hotel shower ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed here last minute, walked up and they had an internal room available, only one left for the 2 nights, busy despite being well off-peak.

50 euro rate was better than expected in a popular tourist city. Could get parking across the road in secure complex for 12 euro per day (done through the people at front desk), which worked out well compared to finding our own.

Had WiFi that was fast and no problems with it over our stay (and free!).

Beds were very comfy as others have said, slept well both nights.

Room was clean on arrival, no problems there. Room was made up between first and second night, wasn't really sure we would get that.

Breakfast available (continental) at 4 euros per person delivered to your room. We decided not to partake and did our own thing.

Location is good, easy walk into the main eating area, just across the bridge, but relatively quiet spot. Check out our reviews for the 4 places we ate in Donostia for suggestions, all are within 10 minutes walk.

Highlight though was the shower........outstanding! Small bathroom but set out in a way that the shower is long with good space, better than most at this price in Europe. Shower head was fantastic as was the water pressure. For those that travel in Europe much, especially at mid to lower range of cost, they will know how rare this can be.

We could hear the guy in next room snoring! Wasn't enough coming through to bother us much though. Walls were obviously not super thick but decent, could hear people in the hall a little but overall fairly quiet rooms.

Didn't experience any bad smells as person below did, we had window open at times for some fresh air so would have noticed I think.

Overall, really good stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzCoupleBandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    170
    27
    8
    2
See reviews for
46
229
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Well situated pension near everything there's to see...
Youre at walking distance of everything, but youre not in the crowd of
the old city. ;^)

The staff was very kind and helpful -- we will be back !
--
Claude y Louise

P.S. The comfort of the bed was outstanding...

Room Tip: Take a room in the inside part of the pension... ;^)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClyLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barwon Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Given an appalling room with our son's bed not made up.
Poorly ventilated room got smells from drainage
Most overpriced accommodation of our trip in Europe

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel is located in a great spot in the old town. Fairly quiet. Very clean

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

The Kursaal is on the right bank of the river a minute from the Kursaal cultural centre and a minute from Zurriola beach, you are in the centre of the city in the Gros barrio only 5 minutes from the old town and another 5 from La Concha beach. The room was of a high standard with a small balcony overlooking the street and Cafe Aznigar across the street from where you'll get the smell of freshly ground coffee in the morning. The staff were helpful and friendly...a great location from where to enjoy Donostia!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliffey71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

The location very close to the old town was very good. Parking was convenient at the Kursaal carpark just across the road. The room was very stark, functional and impersonal, we did not spend much time there. It was good value for money compared to prices of hotels available in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senjay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We had such an enjoyable stay at this lovely hotel and have already booked to stay again. Great location between the old town and the surf beach. Car parking across the road with a good rate ( 12 euros per day) The staff were so enthusiastic and helpful and called and suggested and helped us book restaurants. Breakfast can be ordered the night before and delivered to your room, we did not do this . The bathroom was modern and the best shower we have had travelling in the last 8 weeks ! The room was bright and modern and had great storage, and nicely decorated. We stayed for 6 nights, and loved every second !

Room Tip: There are some newly furbished rooms and some with a small balcony and view to the street with a rol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prosecco09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Kursaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Kursaal

Property: Pension Kursaal
Address: Pena y Goni, 2-1, 20002 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Kursaal 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension Kursaal lies in front of Zurriola Beach, ideal for surfing, and Kursaal Convention Centre, home of the San Sebastian Film Festival and Jazz Festival. Next to the Old Town you will be delighted with all the pintxo bars and very close to the magnificent Concha Beach. Just in the heart of town at walking distance from Tabacalera Contemporary Center, theatres and train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pension Kursaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Kursaal Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing