We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good small poor breakfast”
Review of Pension Grosen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Grosen
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stopped at Pension Grosen for one nights on a touring holiday of Northern Spain. Is was difficult to find as the building looks like an office block and parking is virtually non exist ant to allow us to stop and look. I dropped off the ladies in our party with the cases and I then spent the next 30mins finding somewhere to park. Eventually found somewhere about half a mile away.
Eventually got back and the my wife had booked us into one of the 3 rooms. We tried to phone ahead to warn them when we would be arriving but did not get an answer. The lady booked us in told us it's the owner and he never answers his phone and he should put her number on the booking.

The room seemed to have been recently fully refurbished and was ver well done with good quality fittings. The room was small with not much space to get round the bed. Everything was very clean and we slept well.

The Pension was about 10 to 15 mins walk from the old centre which included part along the beach front.

We were provided vouchers for a local cafe to get breakfast the following morning. The cafe was around 200m away and was due to open at 8.30. We wanted to get on the road early to get our next location so got there just before in case they opened up early. We had to wait until 8.40 before it opened and then he had to set up. There was no fresh bread delivered so we were offered toast, jam, orange juice and coffee. It all took an age and we wish had never bothered as even with this limited choice we did not get served until after 9.00.

The pension was reasonable value and San Sebastián was fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stu3kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Pension Grosen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lau S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank CapMalain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DonFede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank LuIta25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mochilinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Trillita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Record
Hotel Record
#13 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Enjoy Comfort
Enjoy Comfort
#38 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surfing Etxea
Surfing Etxea
#15 of 88 in San Sebastian - Donostia
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pension Penaflorida
Pension Penaflorida
#13 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pension Joakina
Pension Joakina
#1 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Pension Del Mar
#33 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Grosen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Grosen

Address: 30 Nafarroa Hiribidea, San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £43 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pensión Grosen is a small, welcoming guesthouse that opened in may 2013 and is located in Gros, very close to the heart and historical area of San Sebastian. It is distinguished by its special emphasis on environmental concern and cleanliness. The flooring throughout is made from natural, unpolished oak that has been oil-treated and brought in from the Netherlands.The Gros neighbourhood of San Sebastian, just a five-minute walk from the guesthouse, is a great place to relax on La Zurriola beach, take a dip in the sea, sunbathe or surf. It is perfect for hiring a bike to get around the city. If you have a congress or event to attend at the Kursaal Convention Centre, you are just eight minutes away. The guesthouse is a 12-minute walk from the railway station.The old part of the city, crossing Kursaal Bridge and 10 minutes from the guesthouse, boasts a wide range of local gastronomy and customs, where you can enjoy pintxos, a fine meal or the best cocktails in town…Have a coffee at the guesthouse before you set off, or allow us to suggest places where you can enjoy a leisurely breakfast. La Concha bay is just a 15-minute walk away, cutting through the loveliest parts of the city along Paseo de La Zurriola and the Boulevard.Naturally we will provide you with recommendations and all the amenities you require (we have great deals with local surf schools, bike hire firms and restaurants…)At Pensión Grosen we know what you want and we strive every day to make our guesthouse the ideal place for your work requirements or holiday base.5 rooms with fully equipped bathrooms.Greater convenience.Mini Bar (2 complementary bottles of mineral water) + Hairdryer+ amenities + safe + Heating.in all the rooms to make your stay more pleasant..Free Wi-FiWe adapt to your requirements: travellers from abroad, students and businesspeople can log onto the Internet at their leisure for everything they need.26" LED flatscreen TVTerrestrial Digital TV in all rooms.Car parksThe Txofre car park is 150 metres from the guesthouse at Plaza Nafarroa. We have a limited number of places at this car park which you can book when you reserve your room. The long-stay park-and-ride Manteo car park is 100 metres away.Gallery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Grosen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing