We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great photos on the web disappointing in reality”
Review of Gudamendi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gudamendi Hotel
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great photos on the web disappointing in reality”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

After having spend a day in San Sebastian we decided to spend the last night at Hotel Gudamendi which is really outside San Sebastián on one of the hills. Have a real close look on your GPS to reach the hotel safely, it’s tucked away between the trees. Views are amazing from the hotels terrace. Rooms are a bit old fashioned but ok. We were surprised by the basic breakfast for a 4 star hotel like Hotel Gudamendi and decided to enjoy this outside the hotel. For a quiet night outside relatively close to San Sebastian, this is a good choice, though nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frans C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    69
    48
    27
    5
See reviews for
47
82
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Minus
Old rooms
Badly maintained
Unfriendly staff
No minibar
No room services
Slow to no wifi internet
Room safe with old fashion key

Plus
Clean badroom

In my personal opnion a waste of money

Grt aart

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aartgigengack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels

Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Positive:
Nice hotel on the top of Mount Iguelda. Good-sized rooms, very clean, well
equiped bathrooms. Nice breakfast. Lovely pool, did not at all have the bad
experience other tripadvisors describe. Found the hotel to be better in
real life than on the pictures, especially the pool-area (though
dressingrooms and public toilet didn’t have the same standard as the rest
of the hotel). Beautiful surroundings, very peaceful.

Negative:
A bit far away from the town. We had a car though, and didn’t feel that the
distance was a problem.
Terrible food in the lunchcafeteria, like to send out a warning for it!
They don’t have a restaurant in the hotel, and the food is pre-cooked and
microwaved by the bartender. Don’t spend your money on it.

All and all:
I’d easily give my recommendations to stay at Gudamendi (but buy your food
elsewhere...)!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

There is no way this place can be classified as 4 star. Initial room request was ignored. It was admitted there are only 3 double beds in the hotel. Internet connection was fleeting and when operational, was poor. When we queried this, we were told by staff that the hotel's internet connection was poor. Stayed here as we booked late. Will not make the same mistake if returning to San Seb.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
All over the place
Level Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed on a Friday and were lucky that there was no wedding or party. The hotel does not warn you beforehand but there is a card in the room to say there are frequently problems with noise and parking at the weekends as it is a popular destination for weddings.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The hotel has a great location (albeit not of easiest access), with a view over the La Concha beach. We visited in April, and the 20 eur we payed per night for the sea view was for nothing as the fog covered the entire panorama (as we understand is typical in spring).

The beds were lumpy and the toilet had 2* features (sandpaper toilet paper and no shampoo for ex.). The hotel is quiet, though if you are a light sleeper, beware of the furniture scraping noises so typical of Spanish accommodation.

Too bad, as with a bit of love and attention, the hotel could be so much more.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slickricspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Having read the reviews, we booked the hotel with trepidation. The entry garden does appear a little neglected, but we were pleased with the room (book sea view for breath taking), the service and the location. If you want to be part of the human soup on La Concha beach, then this rural feel isn't for you. It was a great place to escape to at the end of the day. We'd recommend your own transport but you can catch a bus if you are prepared to walk 750 m to the main road. With 35 degrees (C), this is a hot option!
If you park at the amusement park to catch the funicular to the beach, be aware that the last one is 8pm. We had quite a hike up Mount Igeldo on unfriendly pedestrian roads.
We thought this was a little gem for half the price we paid for a hotel of similar quality in Nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julieandsandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.6 mi away
Avenida
Avenida
#22 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Monte Igueldo
Mercure Monte Igueldo
#20 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nicol's
Hotel Nicol's
#33 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Aiete
Hotel Palacio de Aiete
#18 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Codina
Hotel Codina
#8 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gudamendi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gudamendi Hotel

Property: Gudamendi Hotel
Address: Paseo de Gudamendi 26, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gudamendi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gudamendi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing