We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despite the hotel being grand, modern and immaculate, I found it a bit soulless!”
Review of Hotel Villa Soro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Soro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We chose this hotel primarily because it has parking and we were coming in a van (most of San sebastians car parks are height restricted) but it was also a luxury treat as it was my 40th birthday. The parking aspect was brilliant and we didn't mind the 5-10 minute walk into town as it helped work off the food! The rooms were immaculate and spacious, the bed was huge and comfy. At 6 pm every night a maid knocked on the door to deliver a little sweet delicacy, a biscuity thing one day and a little cake the next... Nice touch! But in my opinion, the overall feel of the hotel was almost too immaculate and to me it felt a bit soulless, like a grand travel lodge! That's just my opinion... I do like a little quirkiness and character. Top tip for eating, La Fabrica is a must....3 course meal including wine and coffee was 24 euros and the food was fantastic and the setting characterful!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KirstyHosking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

Every so often a hotel or restaurant comes along, that is just brilliant. We have found just four in our travels and this is one of them. Firstly located a 15 minute walk from the premium restaurant Arzak is a bonus for foodies. Or 5 minutes from a hoard of pinxtos options in Gros. To the old city is about 15 minutes walk, or a short cab ride.
Second, the service is brilliant, beyond just good. Nothing was too much for all the staff - tea and coffee brought to our room each morning, with a smile and no extra cost. Non-alcoholic drinks in the fridge are free - nice touch. Plus good wifi, papers in various languages, breakfast included, great lounge room with fire..... Etc.
On some other comments, you could stay nearer to the old city but not for the price - it's just great value for money. Thank you for a great restfull time, we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vikingolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Fabulous location. Large rooms and bathroom. Supper responsive service. Best of all it's a short walk to all the sights.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheryleMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

After coming from the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at (Hotel Marques de Riscal in Rioja), I was hoping that this hotel lived up to my expectations. It certainly did. Although a little off the beaten path from the heart of San Sebastian, it was nice after the large meals that we had to be able to walk home afterwards. We arrived at 3:00 (check-in time) and since our room was not ready we were offered a complimentary glass of wine. The wine was barely poured when the room became available, so I think it was a nice touch that they acknowledged even the slighted inconvienence. Our room was spacious and well presented (we were in the basement of the main building), with a nice outdoor area that my husband enjoyed smoking his cigar on.

The front desk was helpful in setting up a dinner reservation for us, and we used the complimentary bikes to cruise to the other side of town (I was suprised how active the people of San Sebastain are, it was tough to find a bike parking spot most of the time).

Breakfast was fabulous, while the breakfast servers weren't great at english, we always got what we wanted and with a smile.

Thank you Villa Soro for a fabulous couple of days!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kcdeyonker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

A wonderful place to spend a week or more,its about a 10 minute walk to the main beach but for those who enjoy walking this is an added bonus.
Clean,classy,quiet, well managed with a very helpful can do attitude of staff.Even when silly guests leave mobile phones in a taxi,Maria on duty rang around all the taxi operators and found it,excellent.
Would we return,absolutely, in a flash.

Room Tip: Main Villa preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrybBunbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We wonder if there is another hotel of the same name and appearance that is actually on a quiet street and another 600m closer to Arzak. The road out the front is actually a busy thoroughfare and if you're walking to the restaurant and the day is warm (which was our situation), it's more than annoying that it's twice as far as the website says.
We were in the annex. We liked having the outside area but the room was stuffy as only one small window could be kept open securely at night and there was no cross ventilation although the building design appeared to have enabled this if it had been thought about. More thought about landscaping between the road and rooms would do much to muffle the sound of traffic.
Still, if your reason for being in Donostia is Arzak, then it's a good choice.
It's tricky by car: they really should say more on the website about getting to the hotel if you're coming from the city centre as you can't turn into the driveway from the other side of the road and it's a frustrating effort to work out how to get around to head the other direction.
In fact, several of my issues could be addressed by better information on the website (plus fixing airflow and planting more sound barriers).
Otherwise, it is as one should expect for a hotel of this standing (my mostly average ratings = within this class). Service was v. good at times and a bit annoying at others.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MymAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

The staff are very friendly and the rooms were well-appointed and very quiet... and non-smoking! Maybe it was by luck, but I believe we had one of the best rooms in the villa. It was large, especially by European standards, and included a walk-out...maybe it is not close to the beach with a sea view but apart from this a place you regret to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnk050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,790 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,908 reviews
2.3 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,605 reviews
1.8 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,837 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure Monte Igueldo
Mercure Monte Igueldo
#20 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Soro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Soro

Address: Avda de Ategorrieta 61, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#3 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: £123 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Soro 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Soro ocupa 2 edificios de estilo clasico, uno de los cuales fue construido en 1898 y ha sido declarado Patrimonio Historico de San Sebastian. Se proporciona conexion Wi-Fi gratuita.Todas las habitaciones disponen de minibar con bebidas sin alcohol, reproductor de DVD y ducha y banera independientes. Presentan un diseno individual de lujo, y algunas estan decoradas con obras de arte de Jorge Oteiza. Se ofrece un servicio de habitaciones con platos locales.El Villa Soro tiene aparcamiento privado gratuito y esta rodeado de arboles y de casas senoriales.El hotel cuenta con gimnasio y ofrece bicicletas y toallas de playa gratuitas. Ademas, dispone de salones amplios y una chimenea.La playa de la Zurriola, el palacio de congresos y auditorio Kursaal y el casco antiguo se encuentran a pocos pasos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Soro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Soro Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Soro Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing